Garden Route Game Lodge

Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa's world famous Garden Route coast.Only three and a half scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and bird life including the Big 5. Morning and evening game drives are led by experienced game rangers who share their knowledge of big game as well as the many other antelope species, bird life and local African folklore.Exclusive accommodation in luxury thatched chalets or spacious rooms all with en suite bathrooms, designed to offer guests complete comfort and relaxation in a beautiful setting. The thatched conference center with breakaway lapa overlooks a nearby waterhole and can accommodate up to 70 delegates.Garden Route Game Lodge is delighted to announce the latest addition to its accommodation portfolio, Sunset Ridge Luxury Rooms. Aptly named for its location, the five luxury free standing rooms are perched atop a small ridge and offer 180 degree views of the game reserve with magical sunsets. Sunset Ridge now joins the existing portfolio of rooms and chalets offered by the Big 5 game reserve.

booking enquiry no obligation!    OR    book now!

Reviews

  • "Warm and Welcoming"

    17 November 2016

    "From the minute we arrived to our departure , the service was excellent. our Tour guide was exceptional and informative. <br/>Highly recommended"

    Elaine Sackson, Israel
  • "GARDEN ROUTE"

    24 May 2016

    "We had a wonderful one night stay at the lodge. The game drive was spectacular with Ashley as our guide. We even saw the cheetah and the lions. The accommodation was really lovely and we slept well. Was a little disappointed in the food as there was a large tour group the same evening as us and some of the food choices were not available when we got there which was not <g class="gr_ gr_11 gr-alert gr_gramm gr_run_anim Punctuation multiReplace" id="11" data-gr-id="11">late.</g> I eventually opted for chicken which was dry and overcooked.<div><strong><br /></strong></div><div><em><strong>Establishment Response:</strong></em></div><div><em><br /></em></div><div><div><em><br /></em></div><div><em>Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Garden Route Game Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your game drives with Ashley.</em></div><div><em></em></div><div><em>With regards to your disappointment in the food, we have noticed the quality of the chicken breast was not up to standard and have changed the supplier to free range, grain fed chicken.</em></div><div><em></em></div><div><em>Regarding the fact that that there were menu items not available on the buffet, this is not a norm and has been raised with the kitchen team to replenish the buffet more frequently, especially when there are groups in the lodge at dinner.</em></div><div><em></em></div><div><em>Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and we would love to welcome you back at the Garden Route Game Lodge.</em></div><div><em></em></div><div><em>Kind Regards</em></div><div><em></em></div><div><em>Jacques van Eck</em></div><div><em>Head Chef</em></div></div>"

    PIET DU TOIT, South Africa
  • "Great place"

    27 March 2013

    "Great place with good food. Good break for a few days"

    Deon James, Philippines
  • "Christmas at the Garden Route Game Lodge"

    07 January 2011

    "We had two nights over Christmas at the Garden Route Game Lodge and had a most fantastic time. The accommodation and food were wonderful and the staff were both friendly, efficient and helpful. Especially our guide, Alex, who took us out on three of our four drives. He displayed and imparted on us a great knowledge of the animals we saw and the local geography. The kids described their experience as "awesome" and it was the highlight of our holiday to Cape Town."

    Angela Wall, South Africa
  • "Excellent short getaway"

    02 January 2011

    "We wanted to give the children an African bush experience, but had little time on our holiday. We had a perfect two day stay, great accommodation, lovely dining and, most importantly for us, cracking game drives with a very knowledgeable guide. The cheetah hunt we were fortunate to see was a highlight. We would go again."

    Anthony Bell, United Kingdom
  • "Garden Route Game Lodge"

    13 April 2010

    "We were greeted very warmly, given lined rain slickers for the game drive.Both the dinner and breakfast buffets were excellent.The glass of sherry as well as the roaring fire after the evening drive was much appreciated."

    Gail Bogdanow,Germany
  • "Fantastic"

    10 March 2010

    " - we learnt so much from Hannes, he was so knowledgeable and interesting.Food was excellent and accommodation very comfortable.Just wondering whether the Impala managed to escape from the lion's enclosure?"

    Julie Darch,United Kingdom
  • "Garden Route Game Lodge is Great!!"

    11 February 2010

    "Exciting game rides were an eye opener, fully enjoyable, Guide Patrick risked his life to attract cheetahs to the vehicle!!Superb food.Nice and comfortable accommodation in nicely furnished ''bush huts''.Seeing the thousands of stars from our hut at night was amazing. "

    John Wong,Singapore
  • "We had a wonderful time"

    04 February 2010

    " - the accommodation was excellent in the lodge, there was even a box of toys left in the room for our young son James to play with, this was so thoughtful.Our guide let James feed the elephants and hold a couple of snakes - for a 2 1/2 year old this was an amazing experience.We would recommend a stay to anyone but especially those with small children.The food was absolutely outstanding. Thank you for a wonderful time and we hope you go from strength to strength with your wildlife programs."

    Martin Mogford,South Africa
  • "Definitely recommend"

    11 January 2010

    "My husband and I were with our friends while we stayed at the Lodge.It was a very pleasant experience and we would definitely recommend it to anyone who doesn't want too far to travel out of Cape Town and wants a taste of game life in South Africa.The activities the Lodge has planned are well timed, giving you a good part of the afternoon to relax by the pool."

    Anonymous,South Africa
  • "Our time at the Lodge..."

    19 June 2009

    "We had an absolutely wonderful time & will definitely be back. The game experience was great (we got to see a female cheetah chase a rhino bull away from her kill!), the food was delicious & the accommodation (chalet) was cosy & clean. The staff were also great - especially the guides & most notably Hannes. Nothing was too much trouble! Thanks for a GREAT stay!"

    Jeremy Walker,South Africa
  • "Alan Cooper and Guests visit."

    13 March 2009

    "The stay was great it was our first visit,recommended by our son Paul.We were celebrating the 70th Birthdays of my wife's Sister and her HusbandOur Guide Hannes and Dave made our stopover something we will always treasure.We have visited Fairy Glen and Aquilla, but you came out no1. Thanks."

    Alan Cooper,South Africa
  • "Highlight of our trip"

    01 March 2009

    "We had a wonderful time staying at The Garden Route Game Lodge.It was my friends 60th birthday and our stay was a highlight of our 3 week trip to SA.The staff really do go that extra mile to make it a very memorable experience.The food was fantastic.Hannes our ranger was superb."

    Janet Sullivan,United Kingdom
  • "Recommended"

    15 February 2009

    "We were very satisfied with our stay. Everything satisfactory and we felt well received."

    steen Andersen,Denmark
  • "Game Logde Reserve, Albertinia"

    30 January 2009

    "Our stay at the Game Lodge was 1 of the highlights of our holiday. It was fantastic and thoroughly enjoyable.I would certainly recommend it. The whole experience was 1st class. The accommodation was tasteful, the food excellent and our safari guide, Jonathan was a pleasure to be with. He was friendly, funny, patient and extremely knowledgeable. Well done !!"

    Maria Newton-Hornby,United Kingdom
  • "Just fantastic "

    28 August 2008

    "- amazing - wonderful. I cannot rate the staff highly enough, especially Kitty the waitress and David the barman.They were amazing; nothing was too much trouble, and after three days they knew what we wanted before we did! The game drives were awesome and so much fun. Our party of six had an absolute ball and would strongly recommend a visit to anyone."

    Sue Bell,New Zealand
  • "Great place to stay"

    10 April 2008

    "Nice little pool to cool off inStaff very knowledgeable about animals"

    Anonymous,South Africa
  • "Fantastic experience"

    31 March 2008

    "We had a wonderful time at the game lodge. The guides are very friendly and made you feel very welcome. My husband had never seen wild animals up close so to have to opportunity to see the big 5 (barring the leopard which is in the mountains!) up close and personal was a fantastic experience! The chalets were very comfortable and the food was divine! The warthog was my favourite! An overall fantastic part of our honeymoon! "

    Gretchen Loubser,United Kingdom
  • "Very good"

    01 March 2008

    "We enjoyed our stay and the game drives. "

    Anonymous,United Kingdom
  • "Unbelievable setting"

    18 February 2008

    "My wife and I had the most amazing honeymoon. The setting and views were unbelievable and the meals were superb. It was great to spend some time in what felt like the middle of the bush. It is also great to know that you will definitely see animals. Thank you!!!"

    Dino Montepara,South Africa
  • "The food was excellent."

    11 January 2008

    "We loved the game drives and found the safari guides to be very informative and with a good sense of humour which was much appreciated when we got stuck behind a gate in the lion enclosure!!The food was excellent.We've come home with the impression that South African hospitality is second to none."

    Susan Brannstrom,Belgium
  • "Very good"

    09 January 2008

    "I am commenting on behalf of my parents.They were very happy with their stay and thoroughly enjoyed the meals, service and game drives. Thanx so much for making my parents stay a highly enjoyable one."

    carmelita fortune,South Africa
  • "Amazing"

    08 January 2008

    "What a wonderful place to go on safari. The views from the huts were simply amazing, especially watching the sunset. The atmosphere is great and the safari guys were great and very knowledgable. "

    Charlotte Smith,United Kingdom
  • "Recommended"

    11 December 2007

    "We enjoyed our stay with you. Drives were interesting and your team very knowledgeable and friendly.Food was of a good standard and all staff very pleasant. Our lodge was to a very high standard, linen etc excellent.We will recommend your park to any friends visiting the area with confidence."

    Eileen Neild,South Africa
  • "Excellent stay,"

    06 December 2007

    "Food and accommodation superb.Staff very knowledgeable going around the game reserve.Good value formoney."

    Anonymous,South Africa
  • "Pleasant stay"

    27 June 2007

    "We generally had a pleasant stay and found the staff to be curtious and helpful.The safari guide, Retief, was particularly knowledgeable and informative."

    Mark Van Wyk,South Africa
  • "1 Night in the Garden Route Game Lodge"

    06 June 2007

    "Our stay was very pleasurable. My wife was extremely surprised at the standard of accommodation and we all enjoyed the game drives. The food was some of the best we had during our stay in the area as it was genuine home cooking."

    Andrew Orme,United Kingdom
  • "A relatively small game reserve - a great experience"

    26 April 2007

    "Although the Garden Route Game Lodge is small compared to South African standards, it was a great experience for us. All big 5 animals are waiting for visitors, plus a more than interesting selection of others. Especially the elephant is a very funny guy. The very professional guides and the other members of the staff have made a tremendous contribution to our excitement. We will certainly suggest our European friends to visit the Garden Route Game Lodge."

    Casper Vroom,Netherlands
  • "Best food ever"

    23 April 2007

    "Game rangers are well informed. Tanya and Hannes to be specific. Rooms are big and the well set out. Hot water in room 15 not always working. Waiters are very friendly.. Will come again"

    Marius Hoffman,South Africa
  • "Excellent"

    06 April 2007

    "Had a fantastic 2 days. Accommodation, food & staff all of a high standard. We stayed in a lodge room had everthing we required.Saw big 5 It also has a good reptile centre & a cheetah enclosure that you are taken inside so you can get up close with thecheetahs !!! "

    andrew muir,United Kingdom
  • "Unexpectedly good!"

    19 March 2007

    "This place is like a little piece of heaven! Staff were really helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. We were totally amazed by how wonderful our stay here was, especially as it is so close to CapeTown. The food was amazing - the chef deserves additional praise as every dish was not only delicious, wholesome, and typically south african, but also abundant! Make sure you have some indigestion medication with you as you will eat FAR too much.We highly recommend a visit!"

    Helen Croston,United Kingdom
  • "Well worth a visit"

    12 February 2007

    "The Lodge and mini safari proved to be much better than we were expecting. Although nearer 5 hours drive from CT, the game Lodge is right next to the N2 main route. However, once you are inside you quickly forget that you are not further inland in Africa. We stayed in one of the thatched bungalows which was very cute and made you feel that you were on safari. All are as per the photos. They are very clean and well finished and a 2 - 3 minute stroll to the main lodge. Well worth a few extra Rand.We went on both the late pm and early am (7 am start) drives which were great fun. Our guide was very good, a mixture of facts and funny stories made them fly by. You get to see all the big 5 up close from the special open top jeeps.The dinner at night was very well laid out with the buffet food of a very high standard. Plenty of choice and up to 5 courses if you wanted.This is a good stop over from CT to George, Kynsina or Plettenburg.Recommended."

    Allan Ross,United Kingdom
  • "Awesome"

    29 January 2007

    "Stunning setting. The whole complex is very well thought out, and in excellent condition.The food is excellent and served in the thatched round house -a boma I think. Anyway very traditional and great fun. Our guides were very knowledgable and helpful in everyway. One gets the feeling that the animals in the park are treated with great respect and are as 'wild' as possible. Super place for kids. I will definitely think of bringing my grandson next time."

    kay kay,United Kingdom
  • "Fantastic Time"

    02 January 2007

    "Really good holiday, excellent facilities.Special mention to the staff.Tanya was excellent and was wonderful with the children.Our host, David, was always on hand to provide help when required.Retief was very knowledgable on the both the animals and the vegetation.Highly recommended for a stress free break."

    Jayne Cooper,South Africa
  • "lekker holiday!"

    12 July 2006

    "We enjoyed every minute of our stay.You will see us soon."

    Riana Delport,South Africa
  • "Garden Route Game Lodge Review April 2006"

    03 May 2006

    "My wife and I stayed overnight at the game lodge. We were warmly greeted and allowed time to settle in. It wasn't long until we went on the evening game drive. Our guide (Etienne) was very good. The two hour drive was about right. The evening meal had a good choice for the location we were at.We then retired to the bar where we stayed until last. It was then up early in the morning for the 7:15am game drive. After a couple of hours it was back to the camp for breakfast. The rest of the morning was spent with a talk and introduction to various snakes, spiders and crocodiles. Afterwards we went to the cheetah enclosure on the day that the vet was visiting. We experienced watching the health check examination that the cheetah went through. It was good to see the game wardens helping out and obviously putting their knowledge to a practical use. The wardens are obviously more involved in the animal welfare side than you would probably believe. The long term initiative for the game lodge sounded good ie eventually developing a large enough site & stock to enable the lions and cheetahs to roam free. Well worth the 3 hours plus drive out of Cape Town."

    Alan Holford,UK
  • "Not to be overlooked."

    11 April 2006

    "Having visited Kruger we were rather reticent about this lodge. However we had a wonderful not to be missed experience. It may be small in comparison but you are almost guaranteed sightings of all of their game and great photo opportunities. Accomodation was extremely comfortable, the staff very friendly, and the rangers so enthusiastic and knowledgable. It had a real game park atmosphere. Highly reccommended."

    Beth Wallace,United Kingdom
  • "A wonderful start to our visit to SA"

    22 March 2006

    "A beautiful setting, well organised safari tours, delicious food and excellent accommodation - the Garden Route Game Lodge was a great start to our South African holiday"

    Anonymous,United Kingdom
  • "Garden Route"

    13 March 2006

    "We had a simply greatcouple of days seeing the Big Five.The Game Reserve isn't huge but there are a good selection of game and the guides are very well informed.The food is fanastic and the accommodation very good.Thanks for a lovely day."

    Christopher Brickwood,United Kingdom
  • "Super"

    28 February 2006

    "Informative, friendly, a great entrance to South Africa´s animal kingdom"

    Tanja Trabold,Germany
  • "Beautiful Park and facilities"

    31 January 2006

    "I would like to highly recommend the Garden Route Game Lodge. The Safari Park, food, accomodation and atmosphere were fantastic and the rangers and staff were excellent in a very relaxing environment."

    Mary Barry,Ireland
  • "First Experience South Africa."

    30 January 2006

    "Our first experience of the Garden Route was very nicely set up by a stop at the Garden Route Game Lodge. The Game Drives were very informative and it was lovely to see the effort being made to develop the Reserve.The hospitality was quite superb and the whole experience most memorable."

    Ron Hatcher,United Kingdom
  • "Garden Route Game Lodge - an Appreciation"

    18 January 2006

    "I thought the experience at this admittedly smaller than average game reserve was first class. The staff are all outstanding - knowledgeable rangers, excellent chefs (and cuisine!), friendly reception staff and efficiency of a high order all round. The value for money is outstanding and in short, I found the whole place to be a most enjoyable experience. I would visit again.R B Walker "

    Bob Walker,United Kingdom
  • "Animals galore in this small reserve"

    12 January 2006

    "This is animal theme park Africa done in a very good way.It was our first visit to South Africa and we wanted to experience a game park.The location was ideal for us -en route to the garden and wine routes.The game drives were good fun, very informative and the animals obliged with good photo opportunities.The accommodation, food and entertainment was all excellent. Kruger it isn't and it doesn't claim to be.Good value, high standards, fun, educational and a great way to spend at least one night and day in South Africa."

    Thea Mills,United Kingdom
  • "Thank you for a wonderul experience"

    07 December 2005

    "From the warm personal welcome to the quiet and tranquil surrounds of the game reserve it has been a wonderful experience and this has already been shared with friends and highly recommended. Thank you for the tour guides with their patience and infinite knowledge they shared with us to the cooks who provided excellent meals - especially our traditional 'Thanksgiving Turkey' - that was immensly appreciated. "

    Anja Orthmann,United States of America
  • "The Kenny Family Experience."

    11 October 2005

    "From the moment we entered the Game Reserve to the time of our departure we recieved wonderful service from all the staff at the Lodge.The Game Drives were very informative and educational as well as great fun with Gareth our Game Ranger.The accommodation, food and general hospitality were superb!Our group of 10 adults had a fantastic time at the Game Lodge and would recommend this location to anybody wishing to visit this part of South Africa."

    Stephen Kenny,Ireland
  • "The Kenny Family Experience."

    11 October 2005

    "From the moment we entered the Game Reserve to the time of our departure we recieved wonderful service from all the staff at the Lodge.The Game Drives were very informative and educational as well as great fun with Gareth our Game Ranger.The accommodation, food and general hospitality were superb!Our group of 10 adults had a fantastic time at the Game Lodge and would recommend this location to anybody wishing to visit this part of South Africa."

    Stephen Kenny, Ireland
  • "Always Friendly"

    15 August 2005

    "People make a place !and so it is with the Garden Route Lodge as well, everyone is always friendly and helpfull and it's just a greate get away...When ever I plan to go that way I will always try to stay a night or two. Thanks again to all the staff."

    JohanFerreira,South Africa
  • "Always Friendly"

    15 August 2005

    "People make a place ! and so it is with the Garden Route Lodge as well, everyone is always friendly and helpfull and it's just a greate get away...When ever I plan to go that way I will always try to stay a night or two. Thanks again to all the staff."

    Johan Ferreira, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!