River Goose Camp Site

Situated on the banks of the Breede River and on the farm Eureka, campers will find River Goose Camp Site. It is ideal for those just wanting to relax and enjoy nature while still exploring the towns of the Breede River.

Guests have a choice of 18 campsites and all of them are on grass. Most have shade and are wheelchair accessible. All the sites share an ablution block with flush toilets, showers and hot water. Wood and braai facilities are available. No electricity at camp site. Situated on the banks of the river, campers can enjoy fishing, swimming and canoeing or some birdwatching.

Those looking for a bit more to do can visit the Marloth Nature Reserve near the small town of Swellendam, visit Soekershof in Robertson which has 10 hectares of mazes made out of plants, and the Robertson Golf Course has an 18-hole course surrounded by mountains.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "The beautiful campsite"

    10 December 2018

    "Loved the lush green grass and the easy access to the river."

    Caroline Dersley
  • "Fantastic place to camp"

    04 December 2018

    "What a wonderful place to camp. Would defnitely go back there, even the kids were happy there. I would recommend river goose campsite to anyone. Thank you for an awesome stay"

    Elske van der Sandt
  • "Relaxing atmosphere"

    30 April 2018

    "2nd visit here and can definitely recommend, campsites are nice and spacious. Very friendly owner and nice place to break away from busy city."

    Jean Rossouw
  • "Welcoming host"

    09 April 2018

    "The grounds were well kept, we were a large group and Kelvin booked two large campsites for us which was more than enough space. I took my little dog Luna with who had the best time Would definitely go back"

    Jacqui Scholfield
  • "Kayaking down the river"

    09 April 2018

    "The camp site is perfect - situated on the Breede river, grassy comfortable sites, shade, good ablutions and hot showers. We took our 12 year old grandson and a friend and it was heaven for them. Fishing, canoeing, swinging on a rope into the river, cycling around the site. No electricity made it a peaceful have."

    Elaine Atkins
  • "Easter camp weekend"

    02 April 2018

    "Absolutely lovely spot overlooking the river. Lovely green grass and Kelvin very hospitable. Kids had a ball running around and making new friends. We had a great weekend with friends.Only recommendation is for more showers, and more hot water."

    Samantha Boswell
  • "Easter Weekend Camp"

    02 April 2018

    "Weather and views both on camp and Bonnievale itself were beautiful, green and lush.Toilets and shower area were always clean. Kelvin the owner was extremely friendly and accommodating.Will definitely recommend this camp site"

    Radford Jacobs
  • "Gracious Host and quality grass sites"

    12 March 2018

    "Nice place. Kelvin is a great host."

    Maureen Whare
  • "The relaxing atmosphere"

    04 March 2018

    "The camp sites are well spaced. You have more than enough privacy"

    Cobus Dippenaar
  • "What a gorgeous setting!"

    20 February 2018

    "We had a wonderful weekend stay. The grounds were very well maintained and the manager was readily available for all our questions. Being first-time campers, we were really relieved to have such a beautiful and comfortable spot on the river for our mini-holiday!"

    Amanda Connors
  • "Boating on the river"

    08 January 2018

    "Great facilities and service, perfect location, loved it all! Would suggest a deep freeze for the camp site, would be a great addition"

    Anna Sarnowski
  • "Pleasant camping by the river"

    26 December 2017

    "I enjoyed our camping trip a lot, the campsite is spacious and the facilities are clean. Highly recommended!"

    Juha Manninen
  • "River wine tasting"

    25 December 2017

    "Firstly the owner Kelvin was super friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were perfectly clean, hot showers, always had soap and toilet paper. Camp itself is beautiful and clean. River was bit low but magic. Prepare for afternoon wind, does that last long but just make sure all is secure."

    Jason Wilsnach
  • "Plenty of space"

    04 December 2017

    "Beautiful location, plenty of space, kids had lots of fun, quiet, peaceful and relaxing weekend. Will definitely visit again. Very friendly host."

    Alison Deary
  • "A fantastic setting on the river"

    07 November 2017

    "Just an amazing place to kick your heels back and chilax. Clean and tidy sites andShower hot and very clean. All round excellence Ill be back!"

    Ross Kavanagh
  • "Great campsite on the Breede River."

    19 June 2017

    "We were right on the river and it was beautiful. Close to wine farms etc so great location."

    Sue Britz
  • "Canoeing with spectacular views!"

    01 May 2017

    "Peaceful. A pleasant stay. Thank you xx"

    Cindy Haupt
  • "Canoeing with spectacular views!"

    01 May 2017

    "Peaceful. A pleasant stay. Thank you xx"

    Cindy Haupt
  • "The absolute beautiful nature and quiet and clean site"

    24 April 2017

    "One thing that could be improve is an extra set of toilets/showers. Except for that, we could not swim because there were a greenish sludge on the water for about 2 meters from the side.... obviously because of the drought. Overall 5 stars!!!"

    Marieta du Toit
  • "Just chilling"

    20 April 2017

    "Lovely campsite on grass with river a few metres away. Not overcrowded with plenty of space between sites. Other campers were well behaved and a good time was had by all. Kelvin was very attentive and helpful. Ablutions were a bit limited in terms of number."

    Mark Delbridge
  • "Happy Campers :)"

    22 March 2017

    "We had an amazing weekend, the boat trip was fantastic."

    Birte Stamatiadis
  • "Love it!"

    15 January 2017

    "Peaceful place with great views. Loved my weekend away here!"

    Meredith Forbes, South Africa
  • "Wonderful"

    09 January 2017

    "Truly beautiful campsite on the banks of the Breede. Kelvin is hands-on, always available and nothing is too much trouble. We couldn't tear ourselves away so stayed an extra night. A very special place."

    Lisa Wannell, South Africa
  • "Wonderful summer relaxation"

    20 December 2016

    "My partner and I live in the rush, hustle and bustle of Cape Town. We booked a long weekend away at River Goose Camp Site in order to find some quiet, calm and stillness. We were blown away by the welcoming energy shared with us by the owner, Kelvin. The campsite was spacious, neat, clean and intimate. We will most definitely be making our way back to River Goose in the future for summertime swimming and rafting on the big, lazy, Breede River."

    Thola Antamu, South Africa
  • "Amazing Stay"

    07 November 2016

    "We stayed here first weekend of November 2016 and loved it. Grass was green and well kept. Facilities were clean and rowing on the Breede River with the canoes/dinghy's provided by the camp site kept us having fun in the sun for hours. Will definitely be back soon. Thank you Kelvin"

    Devin Droomer, South Africa
  • "Excellent"

    10 October 2016

    "Kelvin is an excellent Host, grounds are super clean and spacious. Grass is green and thick.<br/><br/>We shall see you at the end of October again.<br/><br/>Thanks again Kelvin"

    Graeme Hendrikse, South Africa
  • "Great weekend"

    26 September 2016

    "Apart from the slight difficulty finding the camp site, it was a lovely spot. Easily accessible and right on the river. Good shade for hot days and ablution blocks were well kept. Hot water for the showers and washing of dishes. Would recommend this site to anyone wishing to get away and relax in nature"

    Ryan Stroebel, South Africa
  • "Clean and neat"

    11 April 2016

    "We booked and paid online, arrived and phoned and were told to just enter and pick our own site as it was quiet. The campsite is&nbsp; very&nbsp; neat, well looked after, clean and tidy, every site had a half drum braai with a grill and the ablutions were adequate. Fishing, canoeing, and swimming are some of the activities on the river. Overall a terrific experience; I would recommend this to anyone who wants a quick camping getaway using only the basics.<br />"

    Karl Bassermann, South Africa
  • "Pragtige Kampterrein"

    22 March 2016

    "River Goose is 'n pragtig versorgde kampterrein. Kelvin is 'n goeie gasheer en altyd gewillig om najou behoeftesom te sien . Ek het 'n kampplek aan die binnekant gehad met 'n rivier uitsig. Ek het feitlik heeldag skadu gehad en dis net die laat middag son wat bietjie pla maar as jy die regte toerusting het is dit nie 'n probleem nie. Ek sou egter wou sien dat elke kampplek 'n waterkraan het. Ek beveel die plek sterk aan."

    Dirk Lombard, South Africa
  • "Great time had by all"

    01 February 2016

    "Despite some challenges getting there, the camp itself was very good, well laid out and the ablutions were "first class". We had hoped for a river front site, but in the end were very glad to have one of the sites "off" the water as in the morning we had lovely shade until after lunch, whilst the river front sites were in the full blazing sun. Of course, in the late afternoon the river front sites had the shade and we not! In time to come the new trees will solve this problem, and enough shade will abound. We really appreciated the personal "hands-on" approach the owner has there, any little issue he was right on it to get it sorted, no questions asked. As an absolute treat, a ride on the River Goose was just a delight, stopping at a nice spot so the guests could have a swim in the river. All in all, very well worth the visit, we shall go back in time to come for another relaxing break!"

    Colin Attwell, South Africa
  • "River Goose"

    21 January 2016

    "A beautiful and excellently maintained campsite, and the owner, Kelvin, is hands-on and very obliging. We loved it there and plan to go back. Nice as a base to explore the surrounding area."

    Jeanette Grey, South Africa
  • "Bathroom floors covered in water"

    18 January 2016

    "<p class="MsoNormal"><o:p></o:p></p><p class="MsoNormal">We enjoyed our stay nice green sites and peaceful.<o:p></o:p></p><p class="MsoNormal"><o:p></o:p>The bathrooms are kept tidy and cleaned daily but a showerdesign causes water to spill all over the floor and around the toilet.Management should please have a look at it and please dont hang a showercurtain.</p><p class="MsoNormal"><o:p></o:p></p><p class="MsoNormal"><o:p></o:p>Camp site is very small. If you like walking around dontexpect much space. Some of the sites can do with a bit of shade. Other thanthat we were happy.</p><p class="MsoNormal"><o:p></o:p></p>"

    Bernard de Wet, South Africa
  • "Great stay"

    11 January 2016

    "<div><br /></div><div>What an awesome camp site! The owner made us feel very welcome. If I could give it 10 star rating I would. We will most certainly be back.</div><div><br /></div><div>Thank you for a wonderful few days.</div><div><br /></div><div>Jason and Olivia.</div>"

    Jaso Van Stavel, South Africa
  • "A breath of fresh air!"

    12 October 2015

    "What a wonderful venue!<div>We had the most amazing time at River Goose, with beautiful scenery and a relaxing atmosphere.</div><div>Our only issue was that our stay was too short!</div><div>We will definitely be back!</div>"

    D'nika Voges, South Africa
  • "Excellent Stay"

    04 May 2015

    "We had a great stay at the River Goose camp site, from mid-week to Sunday morning. Arriving early allows you to pick a nice spot, and there are some really prime ones to pick from. <br /><br />The camp was spotlessly clean and well looked after and we will most certainly be back as soon as we can. This is a must for pet-lovers, you have ample room to let your dogs roam free and there is lots of shade and grass for them to play."

    Ewald Horn, South Africa
  • "Good times"

    17 March 2015

    "We enjoined the time at River Goose Camp Site very much. The ablutions have been very clean. <br />The camp is well maintained and the owner is doing a very good job to look after his guests..<br />Our furkid loved equally the time in the river and on the campsite. <br />"

    Miriam Tuschardt, South Africa
  • "Shhh!!"

    10 February 2015

    "What an awesome spot. You will not get a more friendly welcome from a proprietor. Most sites are big and right on the water, a perfect 'get away from it all' destination.<div>Take some bug spray, sit back and relax. ... but shhh don't tell anyone keep it to yourself</div>"

    Roy Godfrey, South Africa
  • "Best of the Breede"

    26 January 2015

    "A lovely stretch of river, and well maintained, grassy campsites. Good ablution facilities (although they might get a bit stretched if the camp site is busy?) Also, be warned that there are no powered sites. And our peaceful weekend was somewhat disturbed by a very rowdy crowd staying on the other side of the river on another farm's accommodation. However, an idyllic summer spot in and on the water!"

    James Turner, South Africa
  • "Great venue for camping"

    01 December 2014

    "The River Goose was a wonderful camp spot. On the river. Clean ablutions and neat grass campsites. not far from Bonnievale. Pity music was not allowed to be played. Would of improved our experience as a young group of couples."

    Justin Schonegevel, South Africa
  • "Scenic and neat but noisy"

    27 October 2014

    "Very charming and scenic. Facilities very well maintained. We stayed for two days, arriving Friday and departing Sunday. Regrettably there seems to be no rules on the property on the opposite side of the river bank. The guests were extremely noisy, playing very loud music from 22:30 Friday evening to 02:30 Saturday morning followed by shouts and screams from 05:30 am.It was significantly better the following night, but music and screaming could still be heard until midnight or so.There were a total of three groups at the camp and everyone was quite upset.In the hosts defense, it was outside his property and everyone within his property was very well behaved.For this reason I give it 2 stars, otherwise it should not have gotten more than one star. Remove the noise and you have a near 5 start facility but one of the main reasons why we go camping is to run away from the city chaos...it seems to have followed us!!!"

    Walter Campos, South Africa
  • "River Goose Camp site"

    04 May 2014

    "We had lovely weather for our Easter Weekend with friends.Just keep the following in mind should you choose to camp here as we weren't well informed:1. No wood at camp site, owner Kelvin told us to drive back to Bonnievale (oops- error on the website)2. Can't shower while someone else is doing dishes. (Oops, owner Kelvin said he never uses the shower and did not know).3. When you shower it wets the rest of the bathroom, like the toilet and the toilet paper. The drain can't take the water from the dishes and the showers.It overflows while you are rinsing your dishes.4. No electricity5. One basin for dishes for the whole camp site6. Owner agrees that he is very expensive (R100 per person), but said he has his reasons."

    Inette van Wyk, South Africa
  • "Feedback"

    22 April 2014

    "Very quiet and relaxing with not much to do in the area except boating and fishing. Campsites are spacious and the camp is well maintained. Hot water shower, great!"

    Crystal Adams, South Africa
  • "Great campsite"

    10 March 2014

    "We had a great weekend camping at River Goose Camp Site. Our site had a lot of shade and was right next to the river. Canoes, a table and a braai were provided. The site was also very private, we could barely see our neighbouring campers. We will definitely be back!"

    Karin Zybrands, South Africa
  • "River Goose - What a treat"

    24 February 2014

    "My wife and I had a great weekend at River Goose. The river was awesome and the facilities very neat and clean. Great stay."

    Frikkie Jacobs, South Africa
  • "Relaxing year-end camp"

    11 January 2014

    "We had a great time at the campsite. Beautiful sites next to the river. Very nice canoeing destination. Take some Miggie cream with or buy "miggie jag" at the pharmacy in town. Fantastic host and hostess. Wonderful attention to detail. Individual braai facilities. Highly recommended. We will be back."

    Jesuan Williams, South Africa
  • "Wonderful"

    06 January 2014

    "We had a wonderful time and wish that we could stay longer. Definitely going back in the new year."

    Laurachelle Peda, South Africa
  • "Beauty and the bugs"

    02 January 2014

    "The site itself is gorgeous and cozy, with plenty of shade that we unfortunately missed out on at our particular spot. The peaceful river setting is quite alive with flying kamakazi bugs that we got the worst of, not having repellent and all. Owner and host, Kelvin was warm and present to assist where possible."

    Lance , South Africa
  • "Tranquility"

    27 December 2013

    "Neat and clean. Awesome showers. Take Mylol, Tabard with. Midges abound. Has canoes."

    Wallace du plessis, South Africa
  • "Fantastic"

    25 November 2013

    "Fantastic time at river goose - beautiful camp sites and clean ablutions. Kelvin was extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back!"

    Laura Hurd, South Africa
  • "Camping and fishing trip on the Breede River"

    28 October 2013

    "We had a great relaxing weekend on the Breede River. Everything was fantastic, and Kelvin the owner was so welcoming. Directions were definitely a problem, and should be urgently changed as I believe other travellers had the same problems. It would also be great if each campsite had their own tap. Fishing was brilliant."

    Tamara Withers, South Africa
  • "This was just super"

    11 October 2013

    "I've always enjoyed the Breede river, but in the past it always been near the mouth. This was a totally new experience of the river and my family and I loved it.For me the highlights were rowing down the river with my 3 year old daughter and the incredible diversity and beauty of the local birdlife. Saw a brownhooded kingfisher early on, at least 4 sightings of a locally nesting fish eagle and followed a pair of Coucals down the river for a few minutes. Loved lazing at the fire while my fishing line dangled in the water. next time I'll definitely get kitted out for bass fishing though because there were plenty of bass smashing up backstroking insects. Would love to come again. Thanks guys."

    Craig Copeland, South Africa
  • "Beautiful, clean campsite. Great location."

    10 June 2013

    "We had a lovely camping trip here over the Wacky Wine festival. Camp has pristine lawns, movable braai drums, tables and gas-heated hot water ablutions. Value is also good! Camp was secure, and we felt safe to leave our stuff for a whole day of wine tasting (region has excellent wines!)."

    Peter Henson, South Africa
  • "Relaxing four days"

    08 April 2013

    "One of the most relaxing camping experiences. The camp is well maintained and the ablution was very clean with hot water."

    Landolph Schutz, South Africa
  • "Clean and nice"

    07 January 2013

    "The campsite and the ablutions were very clean. Thouroughly enjoyed our stay there. Just a little too short, would have loved to stay longer."

    Grant Crighton, South Africa
  • "Will go back again"

    11 April 2012

    "Positives: Campsites are very clean and spacious. Ablutions spotless on arrival. Owner makes every effort to ensure that you are comfortable. River is awesome. Negatives: Ablutions not maintained over long weekend, more often than not there was no toilet paper. Same hand towel for four days. Floors in shower cubicle not mopped out daily. Garbage not collected daily. Nice to haves: Additional ablutions. Electricity."

    Marion O'Riordan, South Africa
  • "River Goose Camp Site"

    10 April 2012

    "We had a wonderful time and will be back. Hopefully next time we'll have more sunshine. This must have been the rainiest Easter in decades! Please amend your records to reflect the correct directions to River Goose. The directions you sent us were completely wrong! Thanks to Kelvin from River Goose for being available after hours to give us proper directions, or we would still be driving around."

    Mark Lowe, South Africa
  • "Great"

    27 February 2012

    "Great spot with lots of shade and green grass areas. Boat cruises or just paddle at leisure. Braai drums available and tables. Clean, well-maintained toilet /shower facilities."

    Mark van Heerden, South Africa
  • "Very nice and relaxing"

    19 December 2011

    "Relaxing space next to a peacefull stretch of the Breede river. Close to Bonnievale and ample shade for each camp site. Very spacious. A place to swim, camp and relax."

    Thinus Slabber, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!