Santos Express

The Santos Express is a train lodge situated on Santos Beach in Mossel Bay. It is a genuine train with all cabins facing the sea. We offer you a unique stay in a double Compartment or single Coupe, which is similar to the Trans Karoo Express.

We are a five to 10-minute walk from the Dias Museum, the harbour and the town centre. Simply known as "The Train" by locals and situated in the heart of the famous Garden Route of South Africa, guests can enjoy the unique and romantic experience of staying on a real train only 30 m from the sea. With double, single and budget units, accommodation offers spectacular sea views and clean showers. A Compartment comprises four beds and a Coup comprises two beds. Each coach comprises two Coups, five Compartments, a communal shower and two toilets. For those celebrating that special day, we have a Caboose offering private bathroom facilities and a private balcony. For the more budget conscious, we have a Dormitory which comprises 16 beds. We also have a fabulous conference room which is ideal for weddings, birthday parties or business meetings.

Our happening restaurant and bar serves breakfast all day, as well as other delicious meals such as steaks, seafood and famous traditional meals. The restaurant is open from 7:30 am. Our staff can help with all travel and adventure arrangements such as shark cage diving, boat based whale watching, sky diving, game drives, quad biking, deep sea fishing, or pleasure boat trips to Seal Island.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "The very warm reception and friendly staff."

    01 August 2018

    "The view from our room, friendly and help full staff and the Bingo was great!!!"

    Suzette Hitge
  • "Fun and value"

    18 June 2018

    "Fun on staying in old railway carriage, hearing the sea at night, excellent restaurant facilities and value."

    Cynthia Privett
  • "Having a hot shower!"

    29 March 2018

    "Could give the handyman a can of Q20 to lubricate window and shutter slides."

    Patrick Leary
  • "Diaz Festival"

    04 February 2018

    "Loved the stay....So close to the beach. Excellent restaurant on the premises."

    Frederich de Jager
  • "Friendly staff"

    08 January 2018

    "17/12/2017.We had a wonderful time. Place was clean and the staff were wonderful. Pity the weather did not play along but we still had a wonderful time. Andy and Theresa"

    Theresa Muller
  • "Very dissapointed"

    10 October 2017

    "Even though the staff were overkill friendly, there was no initial attempt to rectify a booking error. Only after complaining to SAFARI did they attempt to accommodate, but at an additional charge. The facility refused to issue a refund, even though they were able to resell my rooms.The initial booking was for four people, three adults and one child, they only provided three smaller than single beds and recommended that the one bed normally gets shared...."

    Brenda Edwards
  • "Santos train lodge the best"

    18 September 2017

    "Was such a nice experience oh the view of the sea when waking up in the morning, sooo clean for the value you pay and take you for the breakfast"

    Siphokazi Dyasi
  • "Sleeping in a train coach next to the ocean."

    21 August 2017

    "We loved the view from our balcony and room. Maybe a small gas barbeque will add to this amazing experience."

    Thelma Steinmann
  • "The view - sunrise sunset!"

    07 July 2017

    "The only problem I had was that my full deposit, as paid to SafariNow, was not submitted to the Santos Express office and at first they expected me to pay in which would have meant that I had to pay and extra R122.50. Could you please explain that."

    Karen Ferreira
  • "Excellent stay"

    29 May 2017

    "Amazing location and a great atmosphere. Will definitely be returning again!"

    Hannah Wood
  • "Cocktails galore!!"

    02 May 2017

    "Having the Fork&Restaurant attached to the train - very convenient. The staff very helpful and friendly. Will definitely be visiting again"

    Elizabeth Tolken
  • "great stop over at the Santos Express"

    24 December 2016

    "It was a great experience for our daughter who has never stayed on a train. Situated in a great spot. Enjoyed our 2 night stay over on our way to Gordons bay. The staff was great and very helpful. Enjoyed the restaurant and had plenty of cold beers."

    Elden Clarke, South Africa
  • "Best value for money"

    16 October 2016

    "We stay there whenever we pass through Mosselbay and have no reason to change our minds. Upgraded security a great comfort.<br/>"

    Karen Ferreira, South Africa
  • "SANTOS EXPRESS REVIEW"

    12 October 2016

    "Well priced, very reasonable stay. Staff friendly and very accommodating. Stunning view for the price you pay. Well worth a visit."

    Nicky Bester, South Africa
  • "Delightful surprise"

    15 August 2016

    "What an amazing stay. First off, our bedroom had the most spectacular view of the ocean. The room was extremely clean and neat and the beds very comfy. I loved that it was a train- felt like being a kid again on a great adventure! We had a delicious dinner of calamari and hake at the pub, and a lovely light breakfast before we departed in the morning. Staff were friendly. All in all, we can highly recommend this lovely little place."

    Paige Potter, South Africa
  • "So quaint and cosy"

    01 August 2016

    "My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary weekend at the Santos Express. The Royal Suite facing the beach was such bliss ... beautiful views, tranquil sound of the waves ... most relaxing. The accommodation was comfortable and cosy. Loved having our own little patio to braai and watch the sun go down over the ocean. Friendly staff, great location and value for money. A lovely getaway - will definitely return :)"

    Nazeema Thebus, South Africa
  • "Wonderful time"

    26 May 2016

    "We had such a great stay. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the establishment is wonderful. The sound of the waves puts a person in a tranquil peace of mind. Thank you"

    Juanita Williams, South Africa
  • "WORST EVER EXPERIENCE"

    18 February 2016

    "<p>Worst ever experience. Wrong booking confirmation received. Booked for 2 nights. Only 1 coffee for 2 people no sugar, not extra coffee or sugar for 2nd night.Milk has already expired on04/02 and my booking was on 12/02.At 3h10 Friday night people came bursting into my room (Caboose) that was suppose to be a private room, nobody could explain how they managed to open my door. No security. Drunk people slamed on windows.No aircon or fans in the room. Will never go there again.</p>"

    Suzette Nel, South Africa
  • "Beautyful"

    15 January 2016

    "The Royel Suite is very,very nice"

    Ulrich Buxtrup, Germany
  • "Fanstastic"

    11 August 2015

    "Guys,<div><br /></div><div>I always like to do something different.</div><div>but this is unique.</div><div><br /></div><div>I was not expecting a train bogie when i book this place. when I saw the place I loved it.</div><div><br /></div><div>a<span style="font-size: 1em; line-height: 1.5;">unique place + on the beach + economical</span></div><div><span style="font-size: 1em; line-height: 1.5;"><br /></span></div><div><span style="font-size: 1em; line-height: 1.5;">all the best!!!</span></div><div><span style="font-size: 1em; line-height: 1.5;"><br /></span></div><div>Thanks and Regards,</div>"

    Nagesh Deshpande, South Africa
  • "Experience to remember..."

    11 July 2015

    "Well worth the visit. We enjoyed our stay. Will recommend Santos Express to others.<div><br /></div>"

    Chrisna Calitz, South Africa
  • "Hennie & Wendylle Groenewald, South Africa"

    27 May 2015

    "We stayed in the Royal Suite and it was fabulous. Had a terrific stay there and loved the old world charm of the Royal Suite. The only negative for me was the breakfast, cereal and toast was what was on offer. If you wanted anything else you had to pay for it. Just think that if you stay in the Royal Suite that perhaps they should look at including a proper breakfast as part of the package. <br />"

    Wendylle Groenewald, South Africa
  • "Family of 4"

    12 July 2014

    "We enjoyed our stay at Santos express. The best part was being right on the ocean and hearing the waves throughout the night. Compartments were clean but, obviously, very small. We did not realize that we would not have towels for the shower - as travelers, we did not carry these with us. The beds were not very comfortable, but we slept very warm. You are, unfortunately, able to hear almost everything in the compartments next to you. The light breakfast was perfect, and the staff were extremely friendly. It was an affordable overnight stay which was pleasant."

    Caroline Camons, South Africa
  • "Great Holiday"

    16 January 2014

    "We recently spent a wonderful 7 night stay at Santos Express. We had the time of our lives! The people were friendly, the beach was on our doorstep and everything was just great! I would highly recommend anyone to experience a stay in the train and we look forward to our next visit."

    Hannelie Brink-Gerber, South Africa
  • "Very pleasant"

    16 September 2013

    "A very pleasant stay, closer to the beach you cant sleep...will stay here again. Good Value for your money."

    Johann Theron, South Africa
  • "Diamond in the rough"

    28 April 2013

    "Our family loved this little diamond in the rough. Yes, the facilities are basic, but the pictures advertised are a true reflection of what they offer. If your family is looking for something a little different, I would definitely recommend them. The kids will love it! Not to forget, the train is right next to a stunning beach!"

    Samantha Smuts, United Kingdom
  • "Great"

    18 April 2013

    "Situated on the beach. Great food. Safe parking. Extremely well priced. Friendly staff. I really enjoyed my stay. Thank you."

    Nico Van Jaarsveld, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!