Dullstroom Country Cottages

Sheltered between magnificent oak trees in the idyllic country setting of a farm, in the fishing village of Dullstroom, these two stone cottages make for the perfect romantic getaway.

The Mustard Seed Cottage has two bedrooms and both are en-suite bathroom, while the Peppercorn Cottage has two bedrooms and one bathroom. Both cottages have fully equipped kitchens with fridges, freezers, gas stoves and microwaves. The open-plan living areas feature DStv bouquets. The cottages are also supplied with fresh linen and towels, hot water bottles, cleaning materials, firewood and are fully serviced on a daily basis at no extra charge.

The four Crofts are our cozy two-sleeper units, each with an en-suite bathroom, sitting area with morso fireplace, kitchenette and built-in braai on the veranda. Each croft features DStv and is supplied with fresh linen and towels, firewood and is fully serviced daily at no extra charge.

Guests wishing to trout fish can contact Mavungana Fly Fishing or have a look at their website. Also located on the farm is the Dullstroom Riding Centre for all horse riding enthusiasts, as well as mountain bike routes, either on dirt tracks or on the main tar roads; all with the benefit of clean fresh country air.

This friendly town is the ideal weekend escape for the entire family with its ample amount of exciting attractions.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Tranqililty"

    23 October 2018

    "Unit not serviced as promised. Ran out of water which was sorted out quickly with one sms. Not too many globes in house through out, so bedrooms very dark. 2 Beer glasses for 4 people ?No curtains in bathroom which irritated some. All in all not good value for money."

    Allan Bulloch
  • "Home away from home"

    16 October 2018

    "Such a beautiful cottage. So many animals walking past. Very cozy and comfy bed."

  • "The ultimate indulgence"

    25 September 2018

    "What a beautiful place! The cottage is well designed and and well equipped, but having a pine forest with a waterfall all for yourself is unthinkable!"

    Jaco Swanepoel
  • "Calmness and location"

    03 September 2018

    "2nd time visiting Dullstroom country Cottages. Everything was perfect."

    Liza-Mari Smit
  • "Peaceful close to nature stay."

    02 September 2018

    "We loved the beautiful honeymoon suite, in the peaceful nature, peacocks and little monkeys and duikertjies. Close enough to Dullstroom, but also close enough to enjoy the calm stay of the nature."

    Yolanda Venter
  • "Cosy weekend"

    20 August 2018

    "Loved the fireplace and the walks."

    James Oatway
  • "Privacy"

    10 June 2018

    "It was very spacious and had everything we needed .I wil defenately return with friends and family."

    Peet Van Emmenis
  • "Dullstroom County Cottages"

    28 May 2018

    "Very nice place to stay. A few too many spiders in the house but very comfortable"

    Liesel Teixeira
  • "Cinnamon cottage no 2"

    02 May 2018

    "Very good location; great natural setting.We had issues with the hot water; it was resolved but only after 2 complaints to the owners; spent one day really not washing at all, as it was cold and we only had freezing water in the morning.Also, the ducks and goose are very nice and we enjoyed them; but food for them was only provided on arrival. They wanted to eat every day (surprise!!) the goose became quite aggressive when we could not provide any food. Eventually, after asking twice; we bought food for them from the Dullstroom supermarket; not like it was expensive or anything; but one would expect that - if guests are encouraged to feed the animals - which they are- food will be provided daily.The lights in the cabin are also not very good, could not read at night. I believe at least one good reading lamp should be provided.In any case, the farm is very quiet and pretty; nice walks through the woods and fields; quite a few dams nearby and the town is 5 min away by car; anytime you don't want to braai, you can go to a restaurant :)We would go back, but maybe pack one higher voltage globe and duck feed. We'll chance the hot water story :) as the geyser is dual solar and electric. Maybe we catch warmer/sunnier days!"

    Liliana Ivan
  • "The comfortable clean rooms"

    03 April 2018

    "Loved everything about it, farm atmosphere and comfort"

    Mariana Houston
  • "The cottages"

    30 December 2017

    "We loved feeding the ducks."

    Hendi Janse Van Rensburg
  • "Amazing stay, Peaceful and Tranquil"

    30 October 2017

    "The Peace and quiet, the pond by the crofts, the ducks and the peacocks, the awesome fire place and great service, all contribute to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Thank you very much Leigh and staff."

    Stefan Schoeman
  • "Dullstroom Country Cottages -awesome"

    08 October 2017

    "So glad we chose this venue. Everything was satisfactory and very comfortable"

    Malcolm Smith
  • "Fantastic!!!"

    18 September 2017

    "I think according to my rates you will see how our experience was!! Fantastic!!!"

    Madaleen Pienaar
  • "A great stay"

    23 August 2017

    "The Croft Unit was lovely. The bed was so comfortable, the fire cosy, and the unit is well equipped and clean. The duck pond and the setting is beautiful. Thank you!"

    Tami Backhouse
  • "loved the tranquility in nature"

    30 July 2017

    "A s,all heater would have been mice."

    Rina Wasserman
  • "The relaxed atmosphere and the ducks"

    03 July 2017

    "The chalet itself was just right - and the fireplace was a bonus. It would be nice if they can do something about the old buildings and cages around the place. It is a bit of an eyesore. We were totally on our own and the quietness was wonderful. Thank you."

    isobel Rycroft
  • "Magical stay"

    26 June 2017

    "The place was just perfect, absolutely beautiful. Loved the fireplace and feeding the ducks. Wanted so much to stay longer but definitely plan on being back with the extended family"

    Jo-Anne Keijer Ellerbeck
  • "Space and stunning views"

    18 June 2017

    "We loved our chilly weekend at Dullstroom Country Cottages. Lovely clean accommodation. We especially loved being out of town but still close enough to pop in and explore. The best part is exploring the farm and walking around. So many pretty views. A wonderful safe space for our toddler to explore."

    Wendy Louw
  • "peaceful"

    17 May 2017

    "Hot Water provision can improve. Not available on arrivalNobody to welcome us as guests"

    Dawid Gericke
  • "Peace and tranquility"

    15 May 2017

    "Cottage was very spacious and adequately equipped, especially braai and fire-place wood. When we notified Leigh that the gas was finished, Graham was there in a flash to refill. Overall, a very enjoyable stay."

    Cliff Wallace
  • "The toddler goes kwak kwak kwak"

    02 May 2017

    "I must say this was for us and our 4th year wedding anniversary the place we could hoped for. I booked and I planned it and wife loved it and for the little one, he enjoyed the ducks... and learned the sound they make kwak kwak kwak...Will I go back yes, but will get the bigger houses on the property for my other kids...The only thing was the TV could not turn towards the bed and the microwave was to small and the tiles in the shower is very slippery."

    Alvin Johnstone
  • "Indoor fireplace"

    18 April 2017

    "I think the place was absolutely amazing. I really enjoyed everything about it. It was well kept, clean and very cosy."

    Jill Visser
  • "We were so happy with the accommodation and the setting"

    10 April 2017

    "Beautiful and highly recommended"

    France Eloff
  • "Comfy Stop-Over"

    03 March 2017

    "Clean, very comfortable and ideally located between the Park and Joburg."

    Barrett Mey
  • "Cosy Country Experience"

    06 February 2017

    "Everything we expected was there. Clean and Tidy. Layout of Mustard Seed worked well for 3 of us. <br/>Would just have liked under cover parking. We came there for a wedding nearby so we were driving good cars. <br/>"

    Cheryl Fourie, South Africa
  • "perfect"

    17 November 2016

    "thanks you so much, it was beautiful, peaceful and well deserved retreat.. hope to see you back soon..<br/>please just check the fridge our food got sour :( <br/>but other than that all was geat ..tx"

    ROSE MSIZA, South Africa
  • "2 Night Stay"

    05 September 2016

    "Enjoyed our stay, well-kept, serviced and looked after. Including an early morning wakeup call by the ducks and peacocks walking on the tin roof."

    Edgar Krisch, South Africa
  • "Lovely Stay"

    04 July 2016

    "The cottages are really nice and we had a very comfortable stay. The surroundings are beautiful and we had such a great walk around the farm. The highway is quite noisy, especially at night. Other than that, it was really wonderful and we would definitely come back."

    Kirsten Jeffery, South Africa
  • "Alone time"

    30 May 2016

    "We found the rooms to be neat, clean and well equipped. Loved the fire place in the room. We enjoyed the ducks and the layout of the cottages around the pond. We took a long hike on the farm and came across some beautiful dams - enjoyed the scenery and open air! Will certainly visit again"

    Sophia van der Sandt, South Africa
  • "Amazing Weekend Break"

    30 May 2016

    "The cottages were perfect for us, close enough to Dullstroom that we could pop in and out, while being out in nature so we could walk through farmlands and forests as much as we wanted!<div>My wife, myself and our 4month old were comfortable in the house, isolated from everyone else, and all the necessary amenities were present. Felt like a home away from home!<br /><div>Our only regret was that we had work meetings on monday and couldnt extend our stay!</div></div>"

    Duncan MacGregor, South Africa
  • "Peaceful Stay"

    09 May 2016

    "<p class="MsoNormal">Dandelion is a beautiful inside and we enjoyed feeding theducks they were lovely as well as the peacocks. The little fireplace were comfyand kept the cold away but as soon as you close its door it smothers andcauses smoke to come out into the room. There also were no safe for firearms. Onvery misty nights like we experienced saturday night it was difficult to findthe entrance, there is only one little light shining at the gate that is notclose to the road and nothing shining on the big walls that has the name on.<o:p></o:p></p>"

    Esther Roos, South Africa
  • "Peaceful Getaway"

    05 May 2016

    "Dullstroom cottages are conviniently located, fairly close to the main village. Although the single room chalets are close to the main road, it is still a peacefull environment in a wonderful setting of a farm and ducks by the pond. <br />"

    Alapan Arnab, South Africa
  • "Nice Getaway !!!"

    26 April 2016

    "Initially we booked Mustard cottage, but we moved to other cottage as we were driving a low clearance vehicle. Fortunately Hatch end was available. We had a nice and pleasant stay at Hatch end cottage. Dam view was wonderful. Only suggestion is, if you book a Mustard cottage, please make sure that you have a minimal clearance vehicle as you need to drive off road for about 1 km. Thank youTrish for everything :) We will definitely visit this place again."

    Madhu K, South Africa
  • "Peaceful weekend"

    29 March 2016

    "We had a wonderful stay at Dullstroom Country Cottages over the Easter weekend. The town was very busy so we were glad to be staying slightly out of town to be able to get away from the crowds. The cottage was very luxurious inside and is situated around a beautiful duck pond. They even give you food to feed the ducks every evening. I would highly recommend a stay here."

    Sarah Language, South Africa
  • "Lovely Weekend away"

    29 March 2016

    "<p>What a lovely stay! Homely, comfy and quaint!</p><p>Loved the long and beautiful walks to the dams.</p><p>Great to be so close (9km) to town and also not in town.</p><p>Became particularly fond of the horses and peacocks who came to visit daily.</p><p>Thanks!</p>"

    Marcelle Wilken, South Africa
  • "Peaceful place"

    23 March 2016

    "We had a very peaceful time. Accommodation was good and very neat and clean.Place has lots of potential for more development.<div><br /></div><div><br /></div>"

    Tracy Mann, South Africa
  • "Loved staying at the Dullstroom Country Cottages"

    04 January 2016

    "Thank you so much for a lovely few days ... we loved the Dandelion cottage and will definitely be back.&nbsp; So glad we found this little gem :-)<br />Linds<br />"

    Lindsay Hartland, South Africa
  • "Fantastic weekend!"

    23 November 2015

    "This was an absolutely fantastic weekend at the Dullstroom Country Cottages. The Mustard Seed Cottage was very well furnished and very clean. Beautiful view and very secluded, we would love to return again soon!"

    Janneke Munnik, South Africa
  • "Anniversary stay"

    16 November 2015

    "Was absolutely perfect. We were upgraded from a croft chalet to the picnic "house". We had the most beautiful view of a small waterfall, and no one near to bother us. Thank you Trish for a lovely weekend."

    Chris Schoeman, Venezuela
  • "A great place to stay"

    07 September 2015

    "It was our second stay in one of the crofts and once again, we really enjoyed it! We made good use of the nice fireplace inside the room because the weather was very wet and cold. <br />"

    Joy Waddell, South Africa
  • "Great place"

    13 July 2015

    "Had a lovely weekend...the kids enjoyed the ducks..we look forward to coming in summer..Sat was too cold to even leave the cottage.<div>I will be back for sure no doubt about that.</div><div><br /></div><div>Thank you for an amazing time.</div><div><br /></div><div>Bulelwa Choge &amp; family</div><div><br /></div>"

    Bulelwa Choge, South Africa
  • "Wonderful and relaxing"

    11 May 2015

    "We are a family of 4, we had a lovely time. We went for walks and the kids loved the birds. The accommodation was lovely and comfortable. Will definitely go back"

    wendy koorts, South Africa
  • "Relaxing break"

    28 April 2015

    "Thank you for such a relaxing weekend, the unit had everything that we needed and the surrounding duck pond was a great place to sit and relax."

    Clint Beetge, South Africa
  • "Perfect Self-Catering"

    13 April 2015

    "Private cottage with well-equipped kitchen. Everything you need. Also serviced! beautiful farm to go walking on. Perfect get-away!"

    inger Fabris-Rotelli, South Africa
  • "Romantic Getaway"

    12 March 2015

    "We recently celebrated our tenth wedding anniversary at Mustard Seed Cottage and had the best time. From a relaxing picnic next to the trout dams to a cosy cuddle next to the fire place, Dullstroom Country Cottages definitely outdone all of our expectations. Staying here made our first Dullstroom experience one to be remembered!"

    Katinka Joubert, South Africa
  • "Fantastic Christmas stay!"

    30 December 2014

    "We stayed in the Dandelion croft for 2 nights over Christmas. The cottages are really great and have everything you need. We loved the cute touches like chocolates on the bed, a small Christmas tree and a wrapped piece of Christmas cake in our cottage. The ducks and peacocks around the dam add a lovely country atmosphere. Leigh was welcoming and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back."

    Shannon O'Connell-Jones, South Africa
  • "Best weekend."

    01 December 2014

    "This was the best weekend away ever. The peace and quiet (except for the geese) was fantastic.Accommodation is fantastic and everything you might need is provided. If you needed to get something Dullstroom is close enough for a quick trip. If you need peace and quiet so that your soul can rest, this is the place."

    Johan Coetzee, South Africa
  • "Bikers Weekend Away"

    20 October 2014

    "It was very cosy, sexy and enjoyable! We definitely want to come again! And this time we will bring with more than just another couple :) We would love the keys to be available on sight, as town is out of our way to and back to collect and drop off keys."

    Rowena Viljoen, South Africa
  • "Lovely cottages"

    17 September 2014

    "We had a wonderful stay at Dullstroom Country Cottages. The cottages are very cosy and well-equipped, with a VERY spacious bathroom. The fireplace inside the cottages definitely added to the atmosphere, as well as the ducks, goose, and peacocks on the property. We would definitely stay there again."

    Joy Waddell, South Africa
  • "What a Lovely Stay!!"

    11 August 2014

    "We stayed at the Dullstroom Country Cottages from 8th August to 10th August 2014. We stayed in "Saffron, Croft 3 ", from the moment we arrived, we were so impressed. It was small, but comfortable, the decor was done tastefully, and the cottage was really welcoming. The bed was very comfortable, and we even got chocolates on the bed when we arrived. I would've loved a bath in the room, as there was only a shower, but obviously, for space reasons, there isn't one. Its just a stone's throw away from Dullstroom town, which is really great. The ladies Leigh and Trish that assisted me with the booking were really informative and a great help. We even requested to check out an hour later which wasn't a problem. We had a really great, relaxing weekend away. Of course we will be back again! Thanks."

    Shannon Mallett, South Africa
  • "Great long weekend away"

    17 June 2014

    "We had a fantastic stay, Accommodation was just perfect. We will definitely be coming back."

    Peter Schurink, South Africa
  • "Mustard Seed Cottage"

    27 February 2014

    "What a lovely peaceful weekend we had. The cottage is beautiful. It was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. We would definitely love to return."

    Dawn , South Africa
  • "Perfect place!"

    09 December 2013

    "Fantastic place to stay, its quiet and out of town. It was perfect."

    Venessa Brink, South Africa
  • "Wonderful stay"

    06 November 2013

    "We had a wonderful stay at Dullstroom Country Cottages.The cottages is by far one of the best equipped self catering units I have stayed in. And the finer touches like the twigs and chocolates and the towels, and small soaps in the bathroom cannot be missed.I am on my way to Kenya and Tanzania, on my return I shall place a review in the guestbook.I shall be back!"

    Loyce Daka, Swaziland
  • "Very enjoyable stay"

    30 September 2013

    "We really enjoyed our stay. The place is very neat and clean. Also ideally situated between Lydenburg and Belfast for you get to explore the area."

    Werner Slabbert, South Africa
  • "Unforgettable"

    09 September 2013

    "This was an unforgettable weekend. The place is even prettier than the pictures! We will definitely be back!"

    Helene Grassman, South Africa
  • "Peppercorn Cottage"

    05 August 2013

    "A great weekend at Peppercorn Cottage. Its private and quiet. Furniture and fittings are of a really high standard. Very clean. Really comfortable. We will definitely visit again."

    Andrew Robinson, South Africa
  • "Very good"

    08 July 2013

    "We really enjoyed our stay in Peppercorn. Even in the middle of winter, the fireplace kept us cozy and warm. The cottage was clean and well equipped. The service was very good (Management's assistance, Emily's cleaning every morning, and the firewood that was dropped off daily). Very good value for money."

    Amanda Botha, South Africa
  • "A fantastic stay"

    10 June 2013

    "This cottage is highly recommended for a perfect weekend getaway. Well appointed, even with kids crockery, and everything you could want. Set on a lovely farm environment, we had a wonderful stay."

    Gillian Ezra, South Africa
  • "Awesome"

    02 April 2013

    "Thank you to Trish for the awesome little touches which didnt go unnoticed - we had an awesome time!!!!"

    Bernadette McKay, South Africa
  • "Mixed bag"

    20 March 2013

    "Mustard Seed cottage was clean and well equipped but basic when compared with Peppercorn cottgage. Nice welcome touches provided by the friendly owner (Trish) included sherry, rusks, chocs and home baked muffins. Some of the dams are stunning, but may not be used by cottage guests for fishing, which was very disappointing. The Fish Eagle Pond dam requires serious bundubashing for access. There is only one jetty to fish from, and it has a metal grid floor which constantly fouls and damages the fishing lines. The other 2 dams are in a cattle grazing area and have a lot of flies - not good for a picnic! Overall - not a place I would return to for fishing (which was the main objective). I would however return to stay in the Peppercorn cottage if fishing was not my objective."

    Gernet Alan, South Africa
  • "Dullstroom"

    18 February 2013

    "We had an excellent stay at the Peppercorn Cottage over the weekend of 15-17 February. Thanks Trish for the personal attention to detail."

    Monique Oosthuizen, South Africa
  • "Excellent"

    10 December 2012

    "We really enjoyed our stay at Dullstroom Country Cottages. We stayed in Peppercorn Cottage and it was beautiful, will visit them again!"

    Philip Oosthuizen, South Africa
  • "Dullstroom Country Cottages"

    10 December 2012

    "We had a wonderful stay. The accommodation was superb with wonderful walks and plenty dams to fish at. I lost count of how many awesome waterfalls there were. A fantastic break for fisherman, hikers and even rock climbers. Thanks for a memorable stay."

    Kim Venter, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!