Dullstroom Country Estate's Stone Castle

Dullstroom Country Estate's Stone Castle is a luxurious self-catering house situated on 550 hectares of natural land. It is the ideal getaway from the fast pace of the city and is great for relaxing and enjoying wildlife, including wildebeest, zebra, eland and many other buck species, right on your doorstep.

Dullstroom Country Estate offers fly-fishing on seven fully stocked trout dams. This location is also ideal for bird-watching, riding bicycles, picnicking or simply relaxing outdoors with a good book while soaking up nature. Facilities include a clubhouse with a jungle gym, and barbecue and kitchen facilities next to a swimming pool. The town of Dullstroom is just 20 km away on a dust road, and in the rainy season it is advisable to have a high clearance vehicle.

Dullstroom Country Estate's Stone Castle features five bedrooms and four large en-suite bathrooms. All of the rooms are spacious and have cupboards as well as a Jotal-stove for cold winter nights. The kitchen is well-equipped for self-catering and features a stove, oven, kettle, fridge and microwave. There is also a comfortable eight-seater dining table and chairs, and as a special feature, an outdoor shower.

The estate is located close to the Birds of Prey Centre where they rescue and rehabilitate natural birds of the area. The centre offers two shows a day and it is well worth a visit.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Cosy in the cold"

    20 August 2018

    "A sudden cold snap hit during our stay so the fireplaces added to the warmth of the Stone Castle. We loved the isolated location of the house, which makes it an ideal escape from the noise of the city. The house is overall well appointed and the beds comfortable (and warm)."

    Russel Smit
  • "everything"

    29 January 2018

    "everything was great"

    Yolande Venter
  • "Beautiful surroundings"

    12 November 2017

    "Stunning accomodation, but really only suitable for two adult couples and 4 children. The supposed 5th bedroom is really more of a storeroom. Beautiful surroundings. Very well equipped. Would recommend a high clearance vehicle."

    Lana King
  • "Peace and quiet in an absolutely breathtaking spot"

    03 October 2017

    "Had a great stay at the Stone Castle, very tranquil location, only saw another car for about 5 minutes during our entire weekend there. Lots of buck and a few zebra kept us entertained from the balcony though. The dams could do with a bit of an improvement, the water level was very low in a couple of the dams and some were filled with grass. Only saw fish in 2 of the dams we visited and only got a bite in one of those, it may have been the time of the year too and it's not Stone Castles fault.My only complaint about the house itself is that the fridge is very small and kind of weak considering the fact that the house sleeps 10, not really the end of the world but just a little annoying. The roads in the estate are terrible though, that's the only thing that would put me off coming back to Stone Castle. A high clearance vehicle is a must, and even then I bottomed out a few times on the deeper ditches to some of the dams. The estate does seem to be putting concrete tracks down though which will make it a million times easier."

    Alan Booth
  • "Quiet country retreat"

    03 November 2015

    "We spent a family weekend celebrating an eightieth birthday in Dullstroom at the 'Stone Castle'.<div><br /></div><div>Beautiful unending views of Dullstroom mountains. estate neighbors far apart. Stunning stars on cloud-/moonless nights.<br /><div><br /></div><div>The house comfortably slept 10 people. 4 rooms on main floor and 1 on basement level. (Teenagers slept here).</div><div><br /></div><div>Luxurious beds and bedding. Cosy fireplaces in all bedrooms that makes it nice in cold Dullstroom winters.</div><div><div>4 en suite modern bathrooms with underfloor heating. Would've been great if the basement bedroom had a small bathroom of its own downstairs.</div><div><br /></div><div>The kitchen is well equipped for self-catering. The house was not serviced during our stay but it had a dishwasher which simplified things.</div><div><br /></div><div>Basement room could be referred as a 'games room' with extra TV and DVD player as well as other games like pool/darts and table tennis. There is even a library well stocked with books to get lost in if you stayed for longer than a weekend.</div><div><br /></div><div>Peace and tranquility at its best.</div><div><br /></div></div></div>"

    Albert Brugman, South Africa
  • "Stone Castle"

    05 July 2014

    "What a pleasant surprise and experience. Check in was easy. House offered more than what we expected. Clean, everything in working order, caters to every possible need and more. A real home away from home. Were a group of 6 and we all agreed we will go back to the same house next year! Quiet, houses are far apart for total privacy, trout dam was walking distance."

    marlise van der merwe, South Africa
  • "Awesome place"

    26 May 2014

    "This is one of the best places I have stayed, will go back again."

    jean de kock, South Africa
  • "Stone Castle - Dullstroom Coutry Estate"

    04 September 2013

    "Beautiful, private, and lovely for a large group. We were 8 adults and 5 children (4 of which were babies and 1 toddler) and there was ample space for all of us! We had an amazing weekend!"

    R JOOSTE, South Africa
  • "Fantastic Getaway"

    13 August 2013

    "A fantastic home away from home to relax and enjoy the open spaces. Kids rode their bicycles and played outside, we relaxed and enjoyed the quiet. Will definitely return"

    Paul Rushforth , South Africa
  • "Great break away!!"

    06 August 2013

    "Such a beautiful, well equipped house tucked away. Celebrating my birthday with a few friends made it unforgettable. Beautiful views and of course "Alice" the friendly ostrich! We loved her!! Thank you for your hospitality and professionalism."

    Tarryn Mocke, South Africa
  • "Our family special weekend"

    02 July 2013

    "Thank you, we had a wonderful time!! The house is spacious, well equipt and great for a big family. The playroom was an absolute 'winner' for the children (and parents)!The 'Cleaning Lady' a great spoil!The mountains and the animals an extra bonus and the fact that the men caught fish a 'great bonus'!!! The 18km to get to and back from the Estate was challenging but a mild 4x4 adventure! The men enjoyed it thoroughly."

    Louisa Bernard, South Africa
  • "Very nice"

    25 March 2013

    "The house itself is very nice, clean and spacious.The games room needs to be looked at, only two darts, tv does not work and only bits and pieces of board games. Quite annoying when there is not much else to do there.The road to get to the estate is shocking - takes an hour from the main road to do 18 km and the road inside the estate is also crumbling.The pool and the "club house" on the estate are derelict and the pool green.The estate manager does not respond to phone calls or messages."

    carol foonk, South Africa
  • "Lovely"

    18 August 2012

    "We absoulutely enjoyed our stay here. Tranquil, neat, clean and well equipped. The kids especially enjoyed the early morning visits from the ostrich."

    Jeanine Fritz, United Arab Emirates
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!