Elandskloof Trout Farm/Forel Plaas

Situated near Dullstroom, amidst fresh air and peace and quiet, Elandskloof is the oldest trout farm in Mpumalanga.

Six-sleeper Luxury Chalets, Six-sleeper Chalets, Three-sleeper Rondavels, a Farmhouse sleeping 11, a Wooden Cottage sleeping six, and a romantic cottage sleeping two provide a myriad of accommodation choices to suit anybody's needs, and all units are fully equipped for self-catering.

We offer activities, including trout fishing in 11 dams (fly fishing only), horse riding, game-viewing, and we also have a restaurant on site (on request only) and cater for weddings, functions and conferences, or enjoy the luxury of our heated indoor pool with Jacuzzi. At Elandskloof, guests can experience a fun-filled, exciting holiday in the serene surroundings of Dullstroom.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Really beautiful surroundings"

    10 July 2018

    "Staff was really friendly, farm safe and relaxing, nice braai areas and very close to Dullstroom despite 8km dirt road to main road. Rondavel was very basic though, and access to hot water for shower had been a constant challenge."

  • "Tranquility"

    05 July 2018

    "Availability of facilities can improve. Service of chalets were excellent ! Fireplace was lovely to have!Their pet friendly policy indicates that if your dog damage anything on the property, that you will be liable for damage, I am just wondering who is liable for tha damage on my car caused by their dog, bumping into my car, wanting to attack my dog, while my partner went into the office to check in. Either change policy to not pet friendly, or remove vicious dog. Besides the cost of our holiday we need to claim from our insurance to repair the scratches and dent. Not even an apology was offered, I was only instructed to move my car further from reception."

  • "The scenery there is beautiful."

    02 May 2018

    "The rondavel was a bit cold. We also did not know that the ablution would be seperate , but we adjusted to it.The ablution can maybe be upgraded.The gravel road was also at some places very bad, so it can also be scraped maybe."

  • "Friendly and Secret Hideaway piece of heaven"

    03 April 2018

    "The Cottage have all you need, clean, beautiful landscape pictures, stunning dam views, staff really going extra mile and they have stock supplies.... ice, wood and warm fresh home made bread... Heaven"

  • "The farm has beautiful surroundings!"

    11 March 2018

    "We loved waking to quiet nature sounds. The fields and dams are gorgeous. The braaiplace at the cottage needs a serious upgrade, we couldn't braai as the grid was way to high to heat the meat and lots of the other braaiplaces were not cleaned properly. The fireplace also does not air properly, so smoke filled the place."

  • "Set in a beautiful valley"

    16 February 2018

    "Petals and bottle of champagne for Valentines day !"

  • "Peaceful & Relaxing"

    13 January 2018

    "We loved our short stay there. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and there were nice facilities for our little boy. Beautiful surroundings and challenging fishing. Joy was helpful with hiking and surrounds info. Will definitely be back!"

  • "Peaceful Farm life at its best"

    09 January 2018

    "My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stayed. We were particularly pleased with the Die Houthuis and would recommend it to anyone looking for a country cabin breakaway. Die Plaashuis is somewhat run down and could do with a bit of refreshing but was adequate nonetheless. We will definitely be returning, to Die Houthuis."

  • "Die uitsig en stilted van die plek."

    24 May 2017

    "Alles was volgens ons idiaal."

  • "Dreadful"

    07 March 2017

    "The receptionist had no idea of the name of the booking, The road to the place was a shambles and it was a good thing it had not rained. The accomodation was so basic and therefore horribly overpriced. May only be suitable for desperate fishermen"

  • "OULIKE PLEK"

    04 January 2017

    "Plek is netjies en goed gele. Lekker gerus."

  • "Weekend of 1 - 3 October"

    04 October 2016

    "We stayed in shalet 16. What a cosy little place. <br/><br/>The staff is was very friendly and helpfull, we enjoyed walking in the veld (although it is very dry) and enjoyed the birdlife as well as the farm animals.<br/><br/>Even though it is very dry, the dams looked very well maintained. Makes one want to do some fly fishing."

  • "Nice place to chill"

    20 September 2016

    "We loved our stay at the farm . Very peaceful would loved to stay for week .Thanks"

  • "WEEKEND AWAY"

    12 September 2016

    "We enjoyed out stay in Unit H very much and will come again. i would just suggest that each of the attached units gets their own geyser because on sunday morning when we wanted to shower there was no warm water as the family next door already showered. We waited untill 11 but we finally left without showering. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay there."

  • "Dissappointed"

    05 September 2016

    "Very dissappointing weekend at Elandskloof trout farm.<br/>They advertise to order Baked bread, which i did via email 3 days before arrival - No bread or answer to my email<br/>This is not a luxury unit<br/>No blackbags for dustbin<br/>Braai is so old we couldnt braai<br/>Bathroom curtain rail held up with cardboard and toilet paper<br/>Dishes dirty, had to wash before use<br/>On arrival had to pay a R200 key deposit, on leaving she questioned whether we had paid after giving in the receipt<br/>Wanted to buy eggs that are advertised - when i asked if she had eggs she asked why??<br/>Picture is deceiving, thought it is a stand alone unit but is joined, so having noisy neighbours did not help<br/>Linen is old<br/>Sadly the only enjoying thing about this establishment was the view<br/><br/>"

  • "Peaceful weekend"

    01 July 2016

    "We enjoyed our stay. Would have like the heads up about the fire place. Our house was covered with smoke.<div><br /></div><div>We were actually looking forward to the fireplace in winter.</div>"

  • "Elandskloof Weekend"

    14 September 2015

    "We stayed in Cottage no 16 for the weekend and absolutely loved it.<div>Small, yet neat and comfortable, with everything we required for the weekend.</div><div>Exceptionally friendly hosts and staff members, the venue has spectacular views and I enjoyed a trail running and mountain biking there.</div><div>Will definitely be back :)</div><div><br /></div>"

  • "Better than expected"

    17 August 2015

    "What a lovely place. It was better than we expected. The photos on the website does not actually do this place justice.<div>We did not catch any trout, but went mountain biking on the well maintained dirt roads. Before leaving, we took a casual hike to the top of the koppie that has a beautiful view of the dams and farm.<br /><div><br /></div><div>If it was not for the other guest's dogs barking at us in front of our unit, I would return any day and would recommend it to anyone. SafariNow website does not indicate that this is a pet friendly establishment.</div></div>"

  • "Julius Bellingan, Centurion. 24-27 April, 2015"

    29 April 2015

    "We have expected much more of this place and we were very disappointed with unit (16). It smelt like a "Stroois" as people before us made a fire in the unit. The cottage need re-painting and the ceilings need to be replaced. The curtains and bedding were also smelling and our host could have washed or replaced them prior to renting it out again.<div>The convenient store and restaurant were closed on our arrival. There are no other facilities than a park and horse riding for kids. The caravan park and luxury chalets are up to standard.</div><div>I was aware of the fact that we had to pay R80 per person per day for fishing but we didn't catch one fish over this long weekend. Fishing should be for free or they can charge per fish if a guest was successful. </div><div>Why not get a few pool tables or dartboards at the bar? I would also recommend an awning on the patio in front of unit 16. It would help on rainy days.</div><div>Without upgrading to this unit or providing more entertainment facilities, I would not recommend this place to anybody.</div>"

  • "Elandskloof Trout Farm/Forel Plaas"

    22 December 2014

    "Guest should made aware of the road conditions during the rainy season as a two wheel drive AVIS type vehicle could easily get stuck as the roads a very slippery when wet.The accommodation is basic and clean. The range of facilities reasonably maintained, although some of the cement picnic sets needs serious attention. The garden bench outside our flat was broken, the shower head sprayed water all over - was leaking, and one light bulb in the dining area of our flat was not working. These defects was all reported, only the outside spotlight bulb was replaced. Will I recommend it to my friends - no, there is better options in the area. The area / landscape is beautiful."

  • "Execellent"

    03 December 2014

    "The place is nice, we really enjoyed ourselves during our stay. Celeste was welcoming, she has great hospitality, she was very kind. I wouldn't mind going there again, anytime."

  • "Not nice"

    07 July 2014

    "-No good bedding-Not well maintained-Not a place I will recommend to my friends"

  • "Excellent weekend"

    07 April 2014

    "We really enjoyed our stay, beautiful surroundings, very clean. Good family environment. Will definitely come back."

  • "You pay for what you get"

    10 February 2014

    "The Rondawel was a very convenient cheap place to crash before the MTB race. It had everything it promised, but one would expect even for those cheap rates to have a bed that was not concave and shower roses that worked...rest was as expected."

  • "Painful rocky road, ok accomodation"

    30 September 2013

    "We don't have 4x4 it was painful to drive trough the 5.1km of rocky road that we weren't informed about. The sign were not obvious got us lost a bit. when we arrived we go hit with R640 unexpected fishing cost that charge in advanced per day per person despite you catch the fish or not and if we stay longer it would cost more. The animal in front of the cottage we enjoyed, the accommodation ok in general would appreciate a dish towel and sponge."

  • "Lovely time"

    25 September 2013

    "We had a lovely time at Elandskloof in our luxury chalet. We had everything that we needed to look after ourselves in the unit and the staff were very friendly and helpful.I'd recommend taking some bottled water for drinking as the fresh spring water may not agree with all constitutions. Using the heated swimming pool and jacuzzi was particularly decadent."

  • "Lieflike"

    25 September 2013

    "Lieflike uitsig, pragtige dammeAblusieblokke kort dringend aandag of net 'n baie goeie skoonmaak en sal ook beter vertoon. Breekware in rondawels kort aandag."

  • "I was very disappointed"

    07 September 2013

    "I was very disappointed, the booked house was not ready when we arrived and another one was given to us even though we were the only guests there, the electricity and water supply was switched off on daily basis for hours without warning, the hot water pool was empty and the jacuzzi was empty as well and the entrance door to the jacuzzi was broken and to top it all off they had their cleaners dig through the freezer to check how many fish we caught which is I feel a total invasion of privacy. I hated the experience and will never return there."

  • "Enjoyed our stay"

    30 July 2013

    "It was a most relaxing weekend, pity about the wind ans lack of catching a fish, but it was a good weekend."

  • "Elandskloof Trout Farm"

    12 July 2013

    "Thank you to all the staff and owners of Elandskloof Trout Farm. It was a fantastic stay. We will definitely be back."

  • "Baie lekker"

    06 May 2013

    "Was baie lekker, sal weer kom!! Groete."

  • "Lovely"

    02 May 2012

    "We had a lovely stay at Elandskloof. Very friendly staff."

  • "Great stay"

    09 January 2012

    "Highly recommended. We had a great time in a safe and secure environment. My eight-year-old especially enjoyed the ostrich and the donkeys that were walking freely between the bungalows and chalets. Will definitely visit again."

  • "Impressed"

    03 January 2012

    "Ek was baie ingenome met die plekkie. Ons het baie lekker geslaap en die mense is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Ek sal weer en weer soontoe gaan. Net een negatiewe punt, die warm water swembad is baie aangenaam maar daar moet warskuwings borde op gesit word dat die warm kook water aan die onderkant van die trap uitkom. Ek het my kuit amper verbrand met die kookende water. I was very impressed with the place. We slept really well and the staff are friendly and helpful. I will return again and again. A small negative aspect, the heated swimming pool is very pleasant but a warning board should be placed stating that the boiling-hot water runs into the pool at the bottom of the stairs. I almost burnt my calf on the scorching water."

  • "Great weekend"

    03 January 2012

    "Dit was 'n baie lekker naweek - ontspannend. Dit is lekker as mens sien dier en mens kan wel saam wees. Ons seun het die visvang vreeslik geniet en dan natuurlik die swembad wat onderdak is. Ons sal defnitief weer soontoe gaan. Dankie baie. It was a great weekend - relaxing. It is lovely to see that man and animal can live together. Our son terribly enjoyed the fishing, and naturally also the covered swimming pool. We will definitely return. Thank you."

  • "Enjoyable, affordable accommodation"

    10 August 2011

    "We stayed at Elandskloof for four days in the farmhouse which sleeps 11. The furnishings were acceptable, but what made the holiday really good was the scenery, the affordability, the helpfulness of the staff, the heated swimming pool and the fly-fishing. A great place to unwind and relax."

  • "Elandskloof Farm/Forel Plaas"

    22 June 2010

    "It was fantastic, excellent service, accommodation is top quality. We really felt at home"

  • "Elandskloof Farm/Forel Plaas"

    22 June 2010

    "It was fantastic, excellent service, accommodation is top quality. We really felt at home"

  • "Enjoyed it"

    13 February 2010

    "?it was pleasant except for the spiders in the hut; we did enjoy it! loved the views and sites. when the power failure struck all was extremely dark but fun?Z't :-) and even the ouma and oupa from Netherlands enjoyed it "

  • "Enjoyed it"

    13 February 2010

    "♥it was pleasant except for the spiders in the hut; we did enjoy it! loved the views and sites. when the power failure struck all was extremely dark but fun♪ Z't :-) and even the ouma and oupa from Netherlands enjoyed it"

  • "Western Cape tourist, loving Mpumalanga!!"

    10 February 2010

    "The surroundings were awesome!! But the stay totally overrated. Sorry, won't make the same mistake again. Could you please put a fireplace in the house?? It was so cold we went to bed early, we couldn't even walk on the floors!! I've 3 children, and it was a drag for them to go to bed that early. We could've played cards or read something (I don't mind that there is no TV) if there was a fireplace!! We booked out a day earlier and went on with our tour. "

  • "Elandskloof trout farm"

    15 January 2009

    "Dit was elke sent werd.'n Onvergeetlike vakansie.Die omgewing, die natuurskoonheid, die plaas, die rustigheid, die gasvryheid, alles was in een woord net fantasties. Ons sal beslis weer terug gaan en kan dit beslis vir enige persoon aanbeveel wat van die natuurskoonheid en rustigheid hou. Baie beslis 10 uit 10 vir Celeste en haar span."

  • "Really relaxing! "

    06 October 2008

    "Did not catch any trout, but the location made it worthwhile!!!"

  • "PlaasOpstal"

    09 September 2008

    "Perfect place if you enjoy fishing and if you have very basic needs. The best way to describe the establishment is "plaasopstal". If you enjoy sleeping on bricks and looking up to see hundreds of dead bugs on the light fixture then a definite place for you. Our stay was so horrible that we actually checked out two days earlier. Everything very disorganised.
    Reply from Establishment : The beds are built in with good cloud 9 mattresses. We will look into the bugs and ensure this is sorted."

  • "Never again!"

    22 August 2008

    "All in all: Loud, not really clean place with less fish than dams.But this is only my opinion.If you dare, try it!"

  • "Good"

    04 August 2008

    "Simplistic and serene!"

  • "Very Enjoyable"

    04 March 2008

    "Thank you for a wonderful get away will definitely return "

  • "Very Enjoyable"

    04 March 2008

    "Thank you for a wonderful get away will definitely return"

  • "Enjoyed the stay"

    18 February 2008

    "Elandskloof is stunning, and there is a lot to do for a family, it was peaceful and just what we looked for, the animals are all so tame and the donkeys, geese, ostrich came right up to the children and was very gentle, really a big treat.The establishment in general is very tidy and well looked after but I was not so happy with the chalet (accommodation) as I had a crawling 11 month old and the chalet was not clean, there were a lot of spiders and cobwebs, I was very uneasy at night, it was very old but I see they are busy renovating and the new chalets looks much better, they also used that photos on the website, so pictures can be very deceiving, but we still enjoyed the stay and would go again, but stay in a newer Chalet."

  • "Enjoyed the stay"

    18 February 2008

    "Elandskloof is stunning, and there is a lot to do for a family, it was peaceful and just what we looked for, the animals are all so tame and the donkeys, geese, ostrich came right up to the children and was very gentle, really a big treat. The establishment in general is very tidy and well looked after but I was not so happy with the chalet (accommodation) as I had a crawling 11 month old and the chalet was not clean, there were a lot of spiders and cobwebs, I was very uneasy at night, it was very old but I see they are busy renovating and the new chalets looks much better, they also used that photos on the website, so pictures can be very deceiving, but we still enjoyed the stay and would go again, but stay in a newer Chalet."

© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!