Berry Cottage

Berry Cottage is situated next to a stream on a small berry farm 5 km from the Gourmet Capital of South Africa, Franschhoek.

The cottage offers two bedrooms, one with a double bed and an en-suite bathroom, the other with two single beds and an adjoining bathroom. The open-plan kitchen/living room features a fireplace for cosy winter evenings and a fully-equipped kitchen should guests decide not to eat at Franschhoek's world-renowned restaurants. There is also a swimming pool available guests' use.

Two well-known wineries are within walking distance and there are museums and galleries to explore in the area as well as spas for a pampering getaway. Bird watchers will enjoy the resident Egyptian Geese in the Stone Pines lining the stream, as well as the squirrels, guinea fowl, and hadedahs. For the energetic, activities include mountain biking, hiking, and horse riding.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "What a beautiful Cottage"

    08 November 2018

    "Most comfortable and relaxing getaway from hectic city life!That Stoepie is simply the best!"

    Erika Zieff
  • "Comfortable Cottage with fireplace"

    24 September 2018

    "Cottage is in a beautiful, tranquil setting. Includes all the essentials and the fireplace is great. Perfect for short days, but would be a good place to stay for longer periods. The hosts are very accommodating. Would love to go back for a longer visit."

    Anna Osullivan
  • "Excellent stay over at Berry Cottage"

    05 July 2018

    "Comfortable facility. Owners very hospitable and friendly"

    Hester Kritzinger
  • "Just what we wanted!"

    02 May 2018

    "Berry Cottage was so lovely. I was looking for a stand-alone cottage that was quiet, pretty and welcoming.The owners ensured we had everything we needed, we came and went as we pleased and even spent an evening sitting by the fire and reading!This was a wonderful experience."

    Lisa Pistorius
  • "Great place to stay in Franshoek."

    14 April 2018

    "We enjoyed our stay. The owners were friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home. We loved all the small touches e.g. home baked rusks and scones. The spacious grounds and pool area was great for our daughter to play in. It really felt like home away from home."

    Lynne Riffel
  • "Wonderful stay at Berry Cottage"

    27 March 2018

    "We had the most beautiful and peaceful stay at the Berry Cottage. Allison and Chris are just wonderful people and made our stay a very special one. On the day when we arrived, my first impression was : "we should have booked longer". So next time, I know what to do.It was just wonderful.Thanks a lot for everything."

    Jrgen Seidel
  • "Lovely homely cottage"

    11 March 2018

    "Feels like you have gone to visit family . Quiet, peaceful place to stop over."

    Nadine Clarke
  • "Berry Cottage"

    12 February 2018

    "Thank you for accommodating us in your beautiful cottage. Berry Cottage is a great place to relax with beautiful scenery. I"

    Chereen Steenkamp
  • "Beautiful and peaceful stay"

    11 December 2017

    "We spent a lovely and peaceful weekend at Berry Cottage. The pool is lovely and the location is nice and close to town. In winter the fire place must be amazing! The only negative thing to be aware of is that the cottage is not very private, the foot path to the owner's garage, laundry room etc is right by the cottage so there is foot traffic going past the cottage. The owner's house is next to the cottage as well."

    Sanjo Rose
  • "Idyllic cottage getaway"

    04 December 2017

    "We stayed for 3 nights and had an amazingly peaceful time. The cottage has all the basics, very comfy bed and 2 showers. The surroundings are exquisite - mountains, vineyards, berry farm and a garden which feels like a fairytale. Chris and Alison were impeccable hosts and went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay. We even got fresh scones, berries and jam on Sunday morning. Well be back!"

    Greg Boy
  • "Friendliness"

    17 September 2017

    "Everything was great"

    Gordon Ellish
  • "Berry Good Review"

    08 August 2017

    "Very nice cottage, spacious, good setting and close to some of the really good wine farms"

    Brett Eaton
  • "Mediocre Safarinow!"

    02 June 2017

    "You're letting yourselves down badly. I completed your return some weeks ago."

    Jim Parker
  • "Spacious cottage, walking distance to wine farms!"

    05 May 2017

    "The cottage is wonderful and spacious, set among the berry and fruit orchards. Our hosts were super friendly and bought us fresh fruit and berries to enjoy and even gave us a homemade gift on departure. Our kids loved the swings and exploring the farm. A completely wonderful experience!"

    David Kitching
  • "Welcoming, accessible & peaceful"

    04 May 2017

    "We could easily get to all the wine farms and attractions in Franschhoek. The garden at Berry Cottage was a great place to relax and play and our hosts were gracious; visiting the vegetable garden and seeing the squirrels and dogs were highlights for our 7 year old"

    Desiree Alfreds
  • "Beautiful, quiet and central"

    29 April 2017

    "This is an idyllic spot for a quiet getaway, but centrally placed in the lovely Franschhoek valley. Comfortable and well appointed. Very friendly obliging hosts. Second visit and will go again!"

    Keith Sanderson
  • "Perfect weekend getaway with kids"

    03 April 2017

    "The cottage is in a great location and very comfortable. The swings, pool, big gardens and friendly dogs (and of course the great hosts) will also add to our reasons to return soon!"

    Alana Krone
  • "Berry Lodge stay"

    10 July 2016

    "Thank you for a lovely stay in the cottage! Lovely location, friendly hosts."

    Marjorie Stoffberg, South Africa
  • "Remote and relaxing getaway"

    09 May 2016

    "Lovely little cottage surrounded by fruit trees and beautiful views. The fresh scones on Sunday morning were such a treat. Very comfortable rooms and a nice fireplace to keep warm on these chilly winter evenings."

    Sarah Jager, South Africa
  • "Away from the city"

    03 May 2016

    "We had a great stay in Berry Cottage. It was a break away from the city and the pressures of work. The lovely big tree was wonderful to sit under with a good book while the birds sang around us. The fire place works well and warms up the lounge kitchen area beautifully."

    Phillip Burnham, South Africa
  • "Berry berry good!"

    02 November 2015

    "Berry Cottage was absolutely perfect as a base for us, 2 couples, who had come to Franschhoek to visit the Open Garden weekend. The cottage is spacious and comfortable, easily accessible with a beautiful garden and much tranquility.<br />Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it highly.<br />We were spoilt with freshly baked scones on the Sunday morning. <br />"

    Alpha Greeff, South Africa
  • "Great family time at farmstyle cottage"

    15 March 2015

    "We had a great time at Berry Cottage. Alison is a lovely and friendly host who made us feel welcome even though we only spend a short time there. It was perfect for us and the kids with lots of space to roam around and a most beautiful garden. The beds are wonderful with quality bedding and the cottage is spacious enough and well equipped to also survive a bad weather day which we luckily did not have. We will be back, in fact, knowing that there is Berry Cottage will entice us to spend more long weekends in Franschhoek."

    Angela Naumann, South Africa
  • "Little piece of paradise"

    01 January 2015

    "Tucker in between two families wineries, berry cottage was perfect for us. Laid back, genuine hospitality from owners, lovely dogs and lawns and pool. Our 4 year old loved it just as much as we did. We Will be back!"

    Dominique bouwmeester, Netherlands
  • "What an amazing stay!"

    24 November 2014

    "Myself and my fianc were so impressed by Berry Cottage! The house was clean and well kept, clean white bedding and towels, and the garden was absolutely beautiful! Our hosts were lovely, checking up on us, bringing us fresh-picked berries straight from their farm. It really was wonderful and it will definitely be on my list to visit again!"

    CATHERINE VAN HEERDEN, South Africa
  • "Unforgettable stay"

    29 September 2014

    "We had an absolutely lovely stay at the Berry cottage. Alison and Chris were very kind and accomodating. The cottage had everything we needed and was incredibly central. The cottage is nested in beautiful gardens with breath taking views. We really look forward to visiting in the near future and thank Alison and Chris for a wonderful time."

    Lisa Kinshella, South Africa
  • "Great value"

    30 August 2014

    "An independent 2 bedroom guesthouse set in a beautiful garden 5km from centre of town. Old world style but very comfortable. The owners of this cottage have over 20 years of local knowledge and will advise/arrange local tours of the gardens of some of the wineries."

    simon egan, England
  • "Very relaxing"

    27 August 2014

    "This is an ideal spot for a young family or couple to get away from the chaos of city life without having to travel far. The garden is fantastic if the weather is pleasant and the cottage has plenty of space indoors if the weather turns bad. Berry Cottage is equipped with everything one could possibly need for a relaxing break."

    Richard Philips, South Africa
  • "Cozy and charming"

    11 August 2014

    "We had a lovely weekend at the Berry Cottage. The place was neat and cosy. We really enjoyed the cottage and the spacious garden. The hosts were wonderful. Perfect spot for families."

    Kasia Watchurst, South Africa
  • "Wonderful Stay"

    25 March 2014

    "My brother and my mum stayed at Berry Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautiful place, beautiful location and lovely couple that run it. Thank you so much."

    Verity Willcocks, South Africa
  • "Excellent"

    03 March 2014

    "One Holiday Cottage on this farm makes this so exclusive. The website picture does no justice for this fantastic, peaceful, self- catering cottage and garden to really relax. Not your normal 5 star dcor, but I was totally surprised. The crisp white sheets and towels in both on-suites was important for me. Braai facilities & pool was available. I love all the books to read, (wish I had the time). My only regret, we could not pick cherries or figs, as the season did not allow. In winter the fireplace will definitely be great. Definitely a retreat to de-stress, relax with your loved one, or a family get-together."

    Debbie Baatjes, South Africa
  • "Good choice for families"

    01 March 2014

    "Nice simple clean cottage with two proper bedrooms and two baths as well. Has kitchen connected to sitting area. Great for families of four or five if you have a baby in a portable crib. Ample space in master for crib. Tea, instant coffee, small milk box, sugar, salt, pepper, dish soap, sponge, and 3 towels. The basics to make self catering easier. But what makes this place a gem are your hosts and the garden. Our kids enjoyed all the space, adventuring around, visiting with the owners, and the dogs. They want to go back. The pool is nice. Not big, but more than enough for some kids to play. We would go back. Rated 4 stars because delivers a lot for the price. Not 5 star just because so much more affordable and not reasonable to expect that at this price point."

    Susan Jay, Mozambique
  • "Perfect Quiet Getaway"

    22 February 2014

    "We recently went to Franschhoek and stayed at the Berry Cottage. It was a lovely rustic stay. Super comfortable beds and spacious environment was only topped by the proprietors encouraging us to pick fresh figs from the tree (which our daughter loved). It's off the beaten path, and away from the hustle and bustle. If that's what you are looking for, check this place out."

    Brandon Jones, South Africa
  • "Very nice"

    19 November 2013

    "Very nice, calm, lovely landscape,very kind reception, thank you for the scones and the strawberries!"

    ERRIT JANSINGH, France
  • "Peaceful part of Fransschoek paradise"

    28 February 2013

    "Great stay, fantastic welcome with flowers in living, bedroom and bathroom! The just picked raspberries made it complete. Thank you!"

    Dia Timmermans, South Africa
  • "Nel's Namibia"

    13 December 2012

    "Very nice,rustic and relaxed! We enjoyed it very much and will be back for sure."

    JC Nel, Namibia
  • "3 and a half stars"

    18 September 2012

    "Lovely and tranquil with a gorgeous, friendly dog and cat! Could have done with a heater though, at first, even though the fire was marvellous and easy to make. Very cosy. Very good value for money."

    Colleen Wright, South Africa
  • "Very nice"

    13 August 2012

    "Very nice - will visit again."

    Deon Van Tonder, South Africa
  • "Thank you"

    06 March 2012

    "We only stayed overnight at Berry Cottage. The cosy, welcoming cottage warrants a longer stay. Ideal for those wanting a base from which to explore the surroundings and to come back to to relax at the end of a busy day."

    is Van Niekerk, South Africa
  • "Lovely"

    09 January 2012

    "Such a special place with wonderful hosts!"

    Lara Mare, South Africa
  • "Great stay"

    05 January 2012

    "We had a great stay at Berry Cottage. We loved the privacy, the atmosphere of the cottage and the Great Dane. We are very much looking forward to returning."

    Karis de Villiers, South Africa
  • "Fantastic stay"

    26 April 2011

    "Beautiful surroundings, excellent hospitality and well equipped cottage with fireplace."

    Eldred Mullany, South Africa
  • "Beautifully picturesque"

    14 March 2011

    "A most tranquil and relaxing location. Close to the village and all the wineries and private enough to escape it all as well. Beautiful gardens, berries and flowers. Roomy cottage with all amenities. Had a lovely short stay."

    Helen Bowtell, Australia
  • "Berry good"

    17 August 2010

    "Great hosts. Child friendly. Beautiful setting which is safe and close to town."

    Debbie Paterson, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!