Centre-Ville

Centre-Ville Guest House is situated in the heart of Franschhoek, within walking distance to all the shops and village restaurants. This Victorian beauty, built in 1905, has been fully renovated without losing its old world charm.

We offer eight tastefully decorated rooms, three on the ground floor and five rooms on the first floor with lovely mountains views.

Guests are invited to sit on the wide verandah and watch village life go by while enjoying a refreshing drink, or relax next to the sparkling pool on hot summer days. The communal sitting area with fireplace is a favorable gathering place to chat, read, or listen to music and we also have a piano for the musically talented.

booking enquiry no obligation!    OR    book now!

Reviews

  • "For rest and relaxation, look no further."

    26 November 2018

    "We loved the entire experience. Literally booked this accommodation 14 hours before arrived and it was perfect! All other reviews mention how outstanding the breakfast selection is and I guarantee you they are not exaggerating. Retha, the host is extremely accommodating and knowledgeable. Will not hesitate to stay here in future."

    Lesley-Ann Jeftha
  • "Proximity"

    02 May 2018

    "We booked the honeymoon suite for 2 nights.The room was immaculate and the private balcony let one have spectacular views of surrounding mountains.The breakfasts were superb and we were in easy walking distance to virtually all of the outstanding restaurants in the village( we visited 4 in total)Unfortunately, the upstairs rooms have dry wall partitioning , so one can often hear people speaking ( and more) in the adjoining rooms)."

    Henry Smith
  • "Perfect choice"

    20 December 2017

    "Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Would book again"

    Mike Ainsworth
  • "Centre-Ville"

    11 September 2017

    "Very nice little guesthouse, centrally located with good access that we could get into in the early hours of the morning after a wedding without disturbing anyone too much. Tastefully decorated room with a comfortable king size bed (Room Harmony). Breakfast the following morning was also lovely, with a full continental spread followed by good home cooking. My only criticisms are the fact that the hot water took some time to heat up, and didn't really stay hot; and the fact that our room did not have a way to open a window and ventilate without opening the entire door (with no security gate). A good place to stay if you are in Franschoek for the night."

    Chloe Johnson
  • "Fantastic Location"

    23 July 2017

    "Walking distance to the main street, very cute and quaint little gem."

    Benita van der Merwe
  • "Fabulous Accomodation"

    12 December 2016

    "To whom it may concern<br/>This is a gem of a place situated in the centre of town. The decor is beautiful and extremely neat and tidy. The hospitality fantastic and the owners very friendly and helpful. I will recommend anyone to stay here as we only stayed over for one evening and I felt as if I had been on holiday.<br/>Breakfast of outstanding quality and presentation and setting under the trees was very smartly done. Regards Truda Schlechter<br/>"

    Altie Kotze, South Africa
  • "graet place to stay"

    03 October 2016

    "Central to the town, and what a great breakfast, thank you to our hosts"

    Martin Franks, England
  • "Unforgettable"

    16 August 2016

    "Home from home experience<br/>Elsa and Jaco were very hospitable<br/>Centre ville is well positioned with <br/>comfortable accomodation <br/>Breakfasts were well served too<br/>Will definitely return"

    Nanda Goncalves, South Africa
  • "Excellent stay!"

    31 March 2016

    "We stayed for one&nbsp; night and eveything was perfect. <br />"

    Francesca Parrini, South Africa
  • "Great"

    27 September 2015

    "Sweet traditional place in town. Really liked it"

    Timothy Ross, South Africa
  • "Noisy but Cosy"

    24 June 2015

    "We stayed for 3 nights during June. Our second visit to Centre Ville.<div><br /></div><div>Very cosy and super well located.</div><div><br /></div><div>DO NOT book a downstairs room. The upstairs floors are made of wood. During our last visit we stayed upstairs and all was fine. This time we were downstairs and could hear our upstairs neighbour pace up and down the whole night. Every time he moved we were woken up.</div><div><br /></div><div>Also the hosts decided to entertain guests on our last night there up until the point where I had to go ask them to please keep quiet at 10pm. Not very considerate.</div>"

    Francois Van der Westhuizen, South Africa
  • "Lovely accommodation"

    10 October 2014

    "We enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to honeymoon suite. The room has a private deck and views of the mountains. The portable aircon kept the room cool. The full bathroom included a spa bath and complete with soft bath robes. Breakfast was big and great variety to choose from. Parking is acrosse the road in open area. There is lighting at night and local security roam the area."

    Carika Van Wyk, South Africa
  • "Loved it"

    17 May 2012

    "Centre-Ville is comfy, convenient and the service is great."

    Colleen Higgs, South Africa
  • "Wonderful house and wonderful hosts"

    13 March 2012

    "We stayed in "Abundant Room" for 2 nights during our SA journey and in the retrospective we can say it was one of the best places we have been. Wonderful breakfast, very nice hosts! Due to its centre location in the middle of Franschhoek its in walking distance to the restaurants on the main street - and Franschhoek is a wonderful place to stay at. Centre Ville is definitively high recommended!"

    stefan ruedel, South Africa
  • "Great stay"

    18 February 2012

    "We stayed for four nights. Apart from the clean rooms and the perfect breakfast it is Elsa and Jaco, who run the guest house, that make it a home away from home. Recommendation!"

    martin engler, Germany
  • "Wonderful weekend"

    12 December 2011

    "Thank you so much for an amazing stay! We enjoyed the hospitality so much. We will definitely be back."

    Annemari Korf, South Africa
  • "Great"

    08 February 2011

    "Great rooms, great hosts and great location. We have stayed here at least four times and never been disappointed."

    Anonymous, South Africa
  • "Decent place to stay"

    27 December 2010

    "We had to add Franschhoek to our itinerary at the last minute and were looking for a place to stay for one night. The great thing about Centre-Ville is its convenience and we were able to move about quite easily. The room we stayed in was well-appointed though a bit on the small side. Elsa was helpful enough though nothing out of the ordinary - she seemed a little distracted by having so many guests to take care of. It is overall quite a decent place to stay."

    Ranjan Pal, India
  • "Highly recommended"

    27 September 2010

    "We just want to say thank you again for the time we spend at your guest house. Elsa, you and your family are real ambassadors of South Africa. I would highly recommend your guest house."

    Wayne Brown,South Africa
  • "What a stunning place to stay"

    06 July 2010

    "The house is beautifully decorated and the hosts were fabulous, friendly and knew the area well. The places to eat are within walking distance from the house. We had a lovely stay in Franschhoek and will definitely go back there in summer."

    Rushida Hendricks,South Africa
  • "Recommended"

    31 March 2010

    "Very enjoyable - will visit again."

    Arnold steyn,South Africa
  • "Delightful place"

    17 March 2010

    "Lovely hosts, nothing too much trouble and perfectly placed to visit all the sites in the area."

    Jennifer Westcott,South Africa
  • "What a wonderful place. "

    29 June 2009

    "We had the best nights sleep weve had in ages. Our hosts were very friendly and the breakfast superb. Would highly recommend Centre Villa for comfort and value for money."

    Karen Kingon,South Africa
  • "We will be back!"

    01 April 2009

    "We had a fantastic stay! Wow what superb hosts Jaco and Elsa were. Friendly and helpful, yet discrete and professional. We have stayed at many establishments in the area, and never had such value for money, and such luxury for the price. Spa bath, breakfast, champagne and wine for our wedding anniversary, luxury all round. Loved the rooms upstairs in the 'rafters'. Will see you again very soon! Thanks for such a special stay.Dominique & Callie Meiring"

    Dominique Meiring, South Africa
  • "We will be back!"

    01 April 2009

    "We had a fantastic stay!Wow what superb hosts Jaco and Elsa were.Friendly and helpful, yet discrete and professional.We have stayed at many establishments in the area, and never had such value for money, and such luxury for the price.Spa bath, breakfast, champagne and wine for our wedding anniversary, luxury all round.Loved the rooms upstairs in the 'rafters'.Will see you again very soon! Thanks for such a special stay.Dominique & Callie Meiring"

    Dominique Meiring,South Africa
  • "Overnight stay"

    17 December 2008

    "Needed an overnight place to attend a wedding in Franschoek."

    Anonymous, Germany
  • "Overnight stay"

    17 December 2008

    "Needed an overnight place to attend a wedding in Franschoek."

    Anonymous,Germany
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!