Vyver's Rus

Vyver's Rus is a charming stone and thatch self-catering cottage overlooking a dam on a private farm near to Ladismith. Ladismith nestles at the foot of the Klein Swartberg mountain range in the Klein Karoo and is situated on Route 62, linked by tarred main roads to all major centres, including Cape Town and Oudtshoorn. Enjoy the fresh air and silence of this beautiful valley.

The cottage can comfortably accommodate up to seven guests and features a loft room, a private bathroom and an open-plan living area. The living area includes a dining table and chairs, a well-equipped kitchen and a comfortable lounge area with a fireplace. The living area leads out to a wooden balcony with a picnic bench and beautiful dam and mountain views. The cottage does not have electricity but there is a gas geyser for hot water and the LED lights and the fridge are supplied by solar power.

Activities in and around the area include hiking, horse riding, visit the Little Karoo Wine Route, or go see the Bontebok National Park.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Beautiful surroundings and peace and quiet in abundance"

    10 September 2018

    "Its just a magical place. Maybe a fold away screen at the bathroom basin entrance to open and close for privacy as needed."

    Debbie van Wyk
  • "Rus en stilte."

    15 November 2017

    "Verblyf en natuur baie geniet. Stort met 'n uitsig! en dan d bonus van zebras, bokkies en blouwildebeeste wat kom water drink."

    Jeanette Pruter
  • "The fire place and the view"

    30 October 2017

    "The has geyser was a bit finnicky, otherwise amazing place!"

    Amy Wooding
  • "Little Gem"

    15 July 2017

    "We were there for a mid week break and loved everything! Very cosy little house with all you need. We saw zebra, wildebeest, baboons, jackal and giraffes from the place we stayed. We went for a horse ride that was great, I was a first timer, but had a great crash course from CJ, so everything went smoothly. Will definitely be back."

    Ruan Hessell
  • "The darkness and quiet at night"

    06 March 2017

    "This is a bush lodge. As such it is perfect. Just enough mod cons to keep things comfortable but you know you have left the city."

    John Cullum
  • "Vyvers Rus"

    15 February 2017

    "We had a wonderful time, for the 3rd time in a row. After breaking down and being stranded miles from nowhere, I cannot thank Monique and family enough for all the help and assistance given to make us comfortable. Not only is Vyver's Rus a beautiful and peaceful place, the people are very special too. We will be back as soon as we can.<br/>Thank you<br/>Nicky and Wentzel"

    Nicky Mahoney, South Africa
  • "Wonderful getaway!"

    03 January 2017

    "I would definitely recommend Vyver's Rus! The accommodation is warm and cozy with a large deck that has a view of the dam. We saw so many animals- the giraffe herd was there every morning and came closer to us every day! We saw Eland, Rooibok, Kudu and Wildebeest. A relaxing get away from city life. The stars are unbelievable! Very romantic for a couple getaway.<br/><br/>"

    Megan Schultz, South Africa
  • "Absolutely wonderful oasis"

    07 November 2016

    "We really loved our stay, so much so that we changed our trip and stayed for another night. Braais on the balcony with the amazing bird life chattering away, sunset views from the deck and the highlight being the run in the nature reserve with the Wildebeest!"

    Megan Beckett, South Africa
  • "27 - 29 Junie '16"

    06 July 2016

    "Hartlike warm ontvangs. Skoon en gerieflik. Stil. Orentjiemooi<div><br /></div>"

    muller coetzee, South Africa
  • "Amazing"

    06 June 2016

    "Absolutely loved our stay here, it was just perfect. Tranquillity, gorgeous views, peace and so many stars. Inside fireplace was great for winter. We will be back in summer!"

    Anene Botha, South Africa
  • "Excellent!"

    27 March 2016

    "No cell reception and no electricity.<div>Absolutely perfect.</div><div><div>Would definitely be back.</div></div>"

    Joshua Kilian, South Africa
  • "Vyvers Rus"

    17 December 2015

    "We had a wonderful time. One night was not enough will come back again. So peaceful and quite and the beauty, have no words to explain"

    Elmare Tickner, South Africa
  • "Winter stay"

    13 July 2015

    "We enjoyed the comfortable accommodation and beautiful views. Even saw snow on the Towerkop. Would have loved to seen the giraffes. It certainly is a place where you can unwind.<div><br /></div>"

    Glynnis Hellemann, South Africa
  • "Excellent"

    05 August 2014

    "Awesome accommodation, good hostess, beautiful, scenic, peaceful, tranquil and everything the advert says, with extra. Would recommend this breakaway to anybody that totally loves nature!!"

    Leon Ceustermans, South Africa
  • "Stunning getaway!"

    17 June 2014

    "We absolutely loved it. The surroundings the wildlife, the gorgeous fireplace and the overall romance of this beautiful stone house! Also the shower with a view is a nice touch. Will recommend this to everyone!"

    Olga Nieuwenhuizen, South Africa
  • "Lovely"

    18 October 2013

    "Spacious. Beautiful views. Tranquility personified. Lovely walks with Game around. Very rustic and private."

    Dave Symm, South Africa
  • "'Rus' we did!"

    03 June 2013

    "Highly recommended to anyone who loves the karoo and game watching. On Sunday we woke up with a snow covered view and with 3 giraffes in the backyard!"

    Nico Ungerer, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!