Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages

Nestled at the foot of the Touwsberg, on the banks of the Touws River, lies Wolverfontein Farm. This farm, just off Route 62, was established in 1890.

This Volstruis Paleis was built at the height of the ostrich feather boom and serves as the reception area to the two accommodation options on offer; Zara Cottage and D'WaenHuis. Zara Cottage is a three-bedroom home, fully furnished and is a tongue-in-cheek look at country living over the past five decades. Zara Cottage has a full gas kitchen, two bathrooms, and plenty shaded outdoor space.

Alternatively, you can explore your wild side in the retro-pioneer D'WaenHuis. This fully restored farm building, with its high Oregon ceilings, was built in 1880. Submerge yourself in this stylishly interpretation of the early South African settler traders lifestyle. D'WaenHuis is a one-bedroom converted barn with an open-plan kitchen and lounge area. It sleeps two guests comfortably but has a sleeper couch for two extra guests if required. Enjoy open veld and an unprecedented, uninterrupted view of the Milky Way for night owls.

booking enquiry no obligation!    OR    book now!

Reviews

  • "Beauty & Serenity"

    01 October 2018

    "Well equipped, tastefully decorated and very spacious cottage in the most beautiful and serene Karoo farm setting. Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Although the cottages and main house are in close proximity of each other, D'Waenhuis is quite private and perfect for a couple. They are also pet-friendly which is always a bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!"

    Gillian Yon
  • "Wonderful farm cottage"

    27 September 2018

    "The DWaenshuis cottage has all you can ask for to ensure a relaxed holiday. Tastefully decorated with a Karoo theme. Great sunsets experienced from the stoe.p. This is a birders paradise with lots of space for walking and exploring. And the human and canine hosts are very friendly and helpful."

    Carin Malan
  • "Wolverfontein the heart of the Karoo"

    14 January 2018

    "This truly was an amazing place to restore your soul. It was an epic experience. The hosts were very considerate and humorous. They made us feel very welcome. It is the ideal place to escape to when you need some quiet time."

    Anita Havelaar
  • "Karoo quiet"

    18 December 2017

    "Wolverfontein had all the amenities one could possibly need, and the best sleep quality of my holiday. We really appreciated the gift of the dry fire wood and the farm fresh milk - what a treat! I will most definitely return here... the close proximity to the gorgeous Seweweekspoort was a bonus."

    Marike Colyn
  • "The open spaces of the Karoo"

    12 April 2017

    "Very warm hospitality made us feel immmediately very welcome. I believe the dogs share Front-of-House duties with Ashley :-) The restored Waenhuis cottage is gorgeously decorated with retro-historical items, and there is a feeling of generous space inside. Good for winter or summer stays. I love the personal touch of the photo album with the story of them (the hosts) and the farm. I love how they brought the Karoo stones into the shower floor. Although the manor house, Waenhuis and another cottage are close to each other, you never feel hemmed in. There is a braai place, and a large natural Karoo garden in front of the cottage. This farm is not totally off the grid, there is Wi-fi and electricity. The Touwsberg Private Nature Reserve 1km away offers wonderful, very scenic hiking, 4x4 routes and mountain biking, and Ladismith is a few kms away along the R62. Good value for money, and our thanks go out to our friendly hosts, Ashley and Andre."

    Lyn Daly
  • "Excellent stay"

    23 December 2015

    "Truly worth it to stay here. Cottages in excellent condition and friendly and helpfull owners."

    Stefan Ferreira, South Africa
  • "A perfect stay"

    05 February 2015

    "The title is the description - perfect!"

    Ute Scheibe, Germany
  • "A very special experience"

    05 January 2015

    "Everything a Karoo farm stay should be. The views, the quiet, the dark and the stars! We will definitely book again and strongly recommend this venue to all."

    Marianne Katzke, South Africa
  • "Stunning"

    03 April 2014

    "This was the best decision I made to book our first night here for our holiday. It is a destination that I will return to for a longer stay - can't wait to decide when we are going again. The dcor of the cottage, views and atmosphere was just what we needed to start relaxing and enjoying our holiday. The dogs are adorable and very well mannered. Andre and Ashley are wonderful hosts and interesting to talk too. Wish we could have had more time to get to know them. Well done both of you for creating the ideal environment for people to unwind, relax and enjoy what the Klein Karoo has to offer."

    Linda Herbst, South Africa
  • "Karoo gem"

    03 May 2012

    "Superb self catering cottage in the mid karoo. Well equipped in art deco style in the soul rejuvenating Karoo climate, away from it all. Ashley as the caring and entertaining host makes this a must do in the Karoo, away from it all!"

    Gerald Boting, South Africa
  • "A quiet weekend"

    06 February 2011

    "The cottage took us back in time with its old-world charm. The quiet of the farm and the beautiful stars made it a wonderful stay. Thank you."

    Riette Twine, South Africa
  • "Wonderful, non-worldly, Wolverfontein"

    16 March 2010

    "The first impression, from afar - "what have we done?" Then the friendly reception , the cottage ,with the basics and everything, that blends into the Karoo landscape. I played my favourite Queen CD then turned it off after a few minutes - you just can't compete with the total silence of the place. That night we were entertained by a classic Karoo thunderstorm rolling through the berg - what a performance. We took the non-preferred road back to Route62 through a private game park and were able to spot some of their animals. Our whole stay was a magnificent experience."

    Doug Green, South Africa
  • "Cottage is beautiful "

    20 February 2009

    "We had a very pleasant stay: very friendly hosts, Cottage is beautiful and very tastefully decorated. Delicious salads for the braai, stargazing at night was unique! I hope we can come back again soon! "

    Franziska Coninx,South Africa
  • "Klein Karoo Bliss..."

    08 July 2008

    "We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived at the farm gate by Ashley and his four legged friends all decked out in rugby jerseys!They provided endless entertainment for the children which gave us an opportunity to relax and enjoy the scenery.Dí Waenhuis was equipped with everything we needed and more and furnished with the most interesting collectables.It was spacious, well equipped and we had views over the veldt from every window. You cannot help but unwind on this farm and your hosts will ensure you have everything you need to do so, even bringing you extra blankets in the evening when the temperature reached -3 degrees!Thank you again Ashley and Andre for making our stay so memorable.I'm longing to be back already!"

    Debbie Bell,South Africa
  • "Boutique escape in the Klein Karoo"

    16 August 2007

    "Six of us stayed in Zara cottage over the August long weekend and we had a fantastic time. Really friendly and helpful hosts and lots of peace and quiet. We especially loved the brilliant interior decoration of Zara cottage - they have done an excellent job. "

    Anonymous,South Africa
  • "Boutique escape in the Klein Karoo"

    16 August 2007

    "Six of us stayed in Zara cottage over the August long weekend and we had a fantastic time. Really friendly and helpful hosts and lots of peace and quiet. We especially loved the brilliant interior decoration of Zara cottage - they have done an excellent job."

    Anonymous
  • "Wolverfontein captures the Karoo in its true spirit"

    23 July 2007

    "There simply could have been no better stay-over en route from Barrydale to Ladismith. My 5year old admired the big open veld, lots of space to hide in, and the spacious living room at the D'Waenhuis cottage, a dance floor on its own! I on the other hand admired lime-washed walls, high wooden Oregon ceilings, and historic collections. I enjoyed tranquility drifting through the wide glass windows, and peace nestling on the comfortable couch. Everything seems to have been touched by loving hands, from potato peeler to antique Victorian cupboard. Ashley, thank you very much for even rolling up our car window when it started to drizzle, and to give us a helping hand with that fancy gas stove!"

    Barbara ,South Africa
  • "Wolverfontein captures the Karoo in its true spirit"

    23 July 2007

    "There simply could have been no better stay-over en route from Barrydale to Ladismith. My 5year old admired the big open veld, lots of space to hide in, and the spacious living room at the D'Waenhuis cottage, a dance floor on its own! I on the other hand admired lime-washed walls, high wooden Oregon ceilings, and historic collections. I enjoyed tranquility drifting through the wide glass windows, and peace nestling on the comfortable couch. Everything seems to have been touched by loving hands, from potato peeler to antique Victorian cupboard. Ashley, thank you very much for even rolling up our car window when it started to drizzle, and to give us a helping hand with that fancy gas stove!"

    Barbara
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!