Bullers Rest Lodge

This charming, upmarket, country-style thatched lodge is situated in the leafy suburbs of Ladysmith, in the heart of the Anglo-Zulu and Anglo-Boer War Battlefields. We offer spacious, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation as well as delicious dinners on request in a family atmosphere.Relax with a drink in our famous "Boer War" Pub and lose yourself amongst the original battlefield artifacts which surround you or on our magnificent sun deck overlooking Ladysmith and watch the sun set over the majestic Drakensberg mountains. We have 13 comfortable, single and double en-suite rooms, which include three family rooms. All of the rooms are equipped with Television, DStv, Heaters, Fans, Tea/Coffee facilities. We also have a secure parking facility as well as a safe to store any valuable items. Commercial travellers and Sales representatives very welcome! The Ladysmith Golf Course is but stones throw away for those of you who prefer less historical walk.

booking enquiry no obligation!    OR    book now!

Reviews

  • "Overall experience"

    07 January 2018

    "We stayed in one of the family rooms and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The kids loved the pool and the staff were very friendly and keen to help. The pictures online do not do this place justice and it is phenomenal value for money."

    Beavin de Kock
  • "Outstanding service"

    01 August 2016

    "We can highly recommend Bullers Rest Lodge. We had a room with a King size bed and electric blankets. So nice! The view is beautiful, the room was spacious and clean.<br/><br/>The best part is the outstanding service that the team of Bullers Rest Lodge provide! Thanks a million, we felt so spoilt."

    Silke Schick, South Africa
  • "Bullers Rest Ladysmith"

    28 May 2016

    "Very Pleasant stay friendly staff and would definitely stay there again."

    Joseph Donnelly, South Africa
  • "One of the best"

    27 October 2015

    "From the moment I arrived, I felt welcome at Bullers Rest Lodge. I had a superb room, with a view overlooking the small town of Ladysmith. At present, the town is experiencing a severe water shortage and there are extended periods without any water available. However, the hosts of the lodge are doing everything possible to mitigate the prevailing conditions. I will certainly be returning to this establishment. (By the way, one of the guests has given a rating of 1; this is an obvious error as his review is as positive as all the other reviews)<br />"

    Jo Nel, South Africa
  • "Bullers weekend stay"

    21 September 2015

    "We had a wonderful stay, friendly and very helpful staff. Thank you very much Graham and team!"

    Nthabeleng Shabangu, South Africa
  • "Lovely friendly B&B"

    01 February 2014

    "En route stop over. Perfect as staff very helpful. All sat down for dinner together in the evening. A very nice touch and great conversation the evening we were there. Would definitely recommend it despite the torrential rain endured during our stay!"

    Lynne Chisholm, United Kingdom
  • "What a find"

    05 January 2014

    "We had a fabulous stay at Bullers Rest. We were breaking our journey from Johannesburg on the way to Underberg and it was perfect for our family of 5. Beautifully appointed rooms, charming 'honesty' bar and delicious breakfast."

    Niki Bennett, South Africa
  • "Fabulous place"

    06 July 2013

    "This collection of thatched cottages looked like Hobbiton, in Lord of the Rings! Our room was delightful, full of character and charm. The garden setting is very pleasant to wander, and with wonderful views over Ladysmith. There is also an amazing collection of Boer War mementos and artifacts. We wished that we had been able to stay more than one night. Breakfast in the morning was substantial. The only comment is that the wooden floor in cabin 4 is very creaky. It didn't bother us, but it may annoy some. We can really recommend this B & B."

    Natalie Tkaczynski, South Africa
  • "Excellent accomodation"

    05 January 2013

    "We needed a place to stay for one night somewhere halfway between Johannesburg and Durban, we booked at Bullers Rest Lodge based purely on pot luck, and we struck gold! We had a wonderful stay, the food was awesome and when we had to pay the bill, they decided that my daughter ate so little she was free. All we can say is this is an amazing place to stay."

    Richard Chadwick, Netherlands
  • "Amazing building"

    15 October 2012

    "Ladysmith is a pretty town and Buller's is amazing! Strongly recommended!"

    Giovanni Cortigiani, Italy
  • "Relaxing"

    22 August 2012

    "After a long travel we discovered with a big pleasure this lodge. The family room was in a comfortable African style. Excellent breakfast."

    JAUME MALLA, Spain
  • "Great location, good people"

    20 August 2012

    "Our stay was very good. The view over Ladysmith is well worth the visit. Good people and a very comfortable room and stay. Many thanks."

    Brian Smith, United Kingdom
  • "Excellent"

    30 April 2012

    "Very impressed with the accommodation and the hospitality of the hosts. Very comfortable and clean rooms - perfect for the overnight traveller. The honesty bar very nice too."

    Sean Deall, South Africa
  • "Adresse à recommander"

    22 April 2012

    "Site agréable avec une belle vue, chambre superbe et confortable. Nous remercions la famille des propriétaires pour les différents services qu'ils nous ont rendus. Bonne signalisation dans la ville pour accéder au lodge."

    Marie-Hélène VERMEIL, France
  • "Bullers Rest Lodge"

    16 April 2012

    "What a charming little place this is!! The rooms were wonderfully equiped and beauitfully done out. The food was really great and plenty of it! Staff was welcoming and friendly. The whole setting is very restful and encourages one to relax and chill out. Our stay was very enjoyable all round and to top it all it was reasonablly priced. We will definitely go back."

    Cheryl Dann, South Africa
  • "Excellent, comfortable accommodation"

    03 December 2011

    "Excellent acommodation. We stayed for three nights and would recommend it for its décor and ambience and friendliness. Would certainly choose to stay again when in Ladysmith. Do visit the excellent museum if you are interested in the Boer war."

    Maureen Deeming, United Kingdom
  • "Excellent"

    20 May 2011

    "Very comfortable rooms and cosy beds. Dinner was outstanding and not to be missed! New owner, Sue, is set on improving the Lodge's ammenities so its high standards will be maintained."

    Trevor Butcher, Australia
  • "Great"

    06 March 2011

    "Well organized guest house. Nice bar where you can enjoy a good bottle of fresh white wine. We also visited a nice museum on local history. Dinner around the table with other visitors and a lady member, provided great debates and conversations. This is a really great guest house."

    Michel Bady, France
  • "Wonderful views"

    28 April 2010

    "Very enjoyable and relaxing.Staff very helpful. Thank you "

    stella Russell,South Africa
  • "Enjoyed"

    05 October 2009

    "We enjoyed our stay - everyone very friendly and we can recommend Bullers Rest!!"

    Esme Geldenhuys,South Africa
  • "Bullers Rest Lodge!"

    25 February 2009

    "My wife and I stayed three nights at Bullers Rest Lodge in February. It is ideally situated for visiting the battlefields around Ladysmith. We were made to feel very welcome by the owner, Andy, and his daughter, Nicky, and the office staff, Pat and Heather. Heather arranged a guide to take us on a day's tour of the Anglo-Boer War battle sites. What we appreciated the most about Bullers Rest Lodge, was the evening meal. Each evening about six to nine guests sit down to an excellent three course dinner (with wine)- cooked by Nikky. We enjoyed the conversation with the other guests and we were all made to feel part of a family.Bullers Rest Lodge is also a small museum of the Anglo-Boer War. This adds to its charm and interest and Andy is a wealth of information on that war. "

    David Joe Dunthorn,United Kingdom
  • "Recommended"

    19 January 2009

    "Our stay in Bullers rest lodge Ladysmithwas very nice.Very friendly staff and we had a very good time out there.kind regardsbetty and cees vergunstthe netherlands"

    Cornelis Vergunst,Netherlands
  • "Will Go Back Soon"

    05 January 2008

    "I really loved our stay there (nice, friendly, clean, ...), that's why I'm going back there in a couple of months."

    kathelijn debaveye,Belgium
  • "Very good"

    21 October 2007

    "We had a wonderful stay at Buller's Rest.Sheila our hostess was very helpful and just a delight to stay with."

    Jane Roth,United States of America
  • "Baie lekker gebly"

    19 July 2007

    "Ons was aangenaam verras gewees! Ons was gasvry ontvang en die atmosfeer was aangenaam gewees. So ook die ontbyt! Sal weer daar bly en beslis aanbeveel."

    Alta de Bruyn,South Africa
  • "Absolutely Wonderful"

    26 December 2006

    "My second stay at Buller's Rest. Absolutely wonderful.Andy and Sheila are the most friendly and delightful hosts."

    Chris Simpson, United Kingdom
  • "Absolutely Wonderful"

    26 December 2006

    "My second stay at Buller's Rest. Absolutely wonderful.Andy and Sheila are the most friendly and delightful hosts."

    Chris Simpson,United Kingdom
  • "Feel at home"

    02 May 2006

    "Very nice place to stay, people very friendly and kind. Make you feel at home"

    Neels De kock, South Africa
  • "Feel at home"

    02 May 2006

    "Very nice place to stay, people very friendly and kind. Make you feel at home"

    Neels De kock,South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!