Woelwaters Holiday Resort

Woelwater Holiday Resort offers comfortable accommodation on the banks of the Vaal River. We offer self-catering units and camping facilities. The resort is the ideal getaway for the entire family.

The resort offers accommodation in four-sleeper and six-sleeper thatched roof units that are all fully equipped for self-catering. Each unit has a well-equipped kitchen and braai facilities. We provide crockery but there are no dishtowels or dishwashing liquid. We provide basic linen and guests will need to bring extra blankets and bath towels. Guests can also camp on the large grass area.

Guests can enjoy fishing. The 2 indoor and outdoor swimming pool is the ideal place to relax. There is a play area for children and an obstacle course. Parys is just 30 km away and is where guests will find supermarkets and restaurants.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Serenity of the setting along a stunning piece of water"

    03 December 2018

    "Noise levels of music should have a cut off at 10:00Not referring to the party but the people in the 8 sleeper Chalets"

    David Hand
  • "nice fishing spots"

    04 November 2018

    "loved the neat chalets and peace and quite."

    Lindy Oosterloo
  • "Woelwaters review"

    09 October 2018

    "We had a lovely weekend and will book again soon."

    Tammy Cronje
  • "Loved our stay!"

    08 October 2018

    "We camped and loved the place. Bathrooms very clean and the site next to the river was wonderful. Great service from Bianca and Hannes. It won't be 'everyone's cup of tea' due to distance from camp to bathrooms and taps not at every campsite, but for us it was great!"

    Gary Westwood
  • "The people working there are very friendly"

    24 September 2018

    "We would suggest having a tap on every caravan stand. Also the ablutions are very far from the camp sites. With a few upgrades (larger pool and maybe some more kids' activities) this could be a lovely spot."

    Walda du Plessis
  • "The hot pool"

    13 July 2018

    ".... .......... ...."

    Vic Trollip
  • "Skoon en Netjies"

    26 March 2018

    "Baie netjiese, skoon en rustige plekkie. Kort dalk net hakkie of 3 in elke kamer om klere aan te hang of rakkie om goed neer te sit."

    Anzel Roets
  • "Beautiful campsite,"

    14 March 2018

    "Beautiful campsite. Wont use units again. Dont like sharing a braai area and stoep. Not interreseted in what my neighbours are talking about while having a braai."

    Johan Meyer
  • "The people is very friendly and the place is nice and clean"

    11 January 2018

    "I feel that they should not false advertise as they said that there is a heated pool. The indoor pool was cold from the day we arrived."

    Leandre Abrahams
  • "The beautiful View and Heated pool."

    09 January 2018

    "Was not happy with the Small Shower and the shower curtain. Will prefer a Shower door next time. And the sewerage pushed up in the shower."

    Nicole Martlouw
  • "Warm water swimming pool"

    27 December 2017

    "We enjoyed our stay and will return again. Everything was perfect."

    Liesl Van Wyk
  • "Safety"

    18 December 2017

    "Sliding door to have a battler as well."

    Bongie Sekete
  • "Friendliness of all the staff & Quietness of whole camp."

    23 October 2017

    "Cleanliness was something that stood out.Power failures were a problem, maybe a generator or two for back-up.Both pools a little far away from camp sites."

    Deon Rheeder
  • "Die kleinkinders was mal oor die warm swembad"

    05 October 2017

    "Alles was ok, maar ek het niks van die gedeelde stoep voor huisie gehou nie. Jou bure het te naby aan jou gewees, veral as jy op stoep sit en ook as jy braai."

    Sterna Schreuder
  • "Alles was baie lekker gewees. Dankie"

    12 September 2017

    "Die eenheid wat ons gebly het was baie nice gewees. Mooi en ruim. Ons het die naweek baie geniet. Al wat net nie lekker was nie is al die skool kinders in die swembad. En dan was ander mense voor ons wat elke aand tot laat gekuier het, en hulle musiek was baie hard gewees. Dit was net nie lekker gewees nie. Hulle het duidelik nie die reels gelees nie. En die swembad se water was koud saterdag middag gewees. Maar andersins was dit baie lekker gewees. Ons sal weer binnekort kom kuier. My dogtertjie wil al klaar weer die naweek gaan.Dankie vir alles."

    Madelyn du Preez
  • "Nice place"

    28 August 2017

    "Nice clean place to stay. Value for money"

    Anneke Rossouw
  • "The view."

    30 July 2017

    "Everything perfect."

    Johan Short
  • "Very quiet"

    03 July 2017

    "It was great and very piecefull but for winter i think the hot swimmingpool can be more heated please. Was to cold for winter."

    Helen Kearney
  • "Not happy"

    26 June 2017

    "What a disappointment ! The website is very miss leading. The original accommodation was booked for a 4 sleeper. But it was a little shack-like room that had one single bed. The "upgrade" was not much better. The entire property was very off putting. We would have done better just packing the car and finding our own accommodation along the way. The staff are also very unprofessional. It does not even deserve one star :("

    Veronica de Bruyn
  • "Away from the crowds"

    28 May 2017

    "Our stay was pleasant, the flat had everything we needed."

    Nicky Kriek
  • "The resort in very good and clean condition the cottages is excellent will go back."

    03 March 2017

    "The older lady at reception needs to learn more people skills for she will defnitley loose Woelwaters some clients.Other than that i was very happy"

    Liz Coleman
  • "warmwater swimmingpool"

    02 March 2017

    "Would love to park nearer to the river to go fishing it is too far for me to carry everything up and down. Everything else was perfect"

    Willem Van der Schyff
  • "woelwaters"

    28 December 2016

    "very pleasant and people very friendly and excellent price for what you get"

    Lynne Gobel, South Africa
  • "Woelwaters"

    06 September 2016

    "I actually didnt want to review our stay but to prevent other people having the same experience as we did and maybe to allow the resort to understand their paying customers review and correct the problems - I decided to adhere to your request for a review.<br/><br/>This venue makes you feel so welcome until checking out. The boom is opened with a smile when you check in but you need to open it yourself when leaving after they have your money.<br/>Please check that the geyser is on in the adjacent chalet to which you dont have a key when you arrive otherwise you will have a cold shower or you will have to shower in the public ablution and dont be surprised when a male staff member walks into the ladies bathroom to switch the lights on while you are butt naked and getting dressed no fault of his as there is no door for him to knock on before entering. Trust me it happened to one of our daughters<br/>When leaving please make sure you do so before 10 even if it is on a Sunday and you were the only occupants of the various chalets and there are no new visitors queuing to enter the venue or you will not be refunded the breakage deposit after sweeping the floors and ensuring that every item including the chairs on the patio is left in perfect condition even better than you received it. <br/>We were very lucky that we booked 2 chalets and had the option to braai at the second one otherwise it would be in the dark as the outdoor light at our main chalet was not working dont know what the penalty would be for braaiing in someone elses braai.<br/><br/>Please understand you will not get nicer visitors and we are not a lot of people who always complain I even took Chriss number in order to phone him if the water didnt heat up after the switch was turned on so that we could save him another trip to come and check and even said we will only phone if there is any problem so as to not interrupt his Saturday night but what we received was definitely not called for when vacating the chalets<br/><br/>Rooms are comfortable and facilities are nice! We really wanted a pleasant relaxing experience for my husbands 46th birthday but was unpleasantly surprised<br/><br/>The deposit of R700.00 is still not paid back. Or shall i say R500 as the other R200 is a penalty fee for not leaving the chalet at 10am. <br/><br/>I Will not recommend this place to anyone and will definitely not go back there myself."

    Xylia du Plessis, South Africa
  • "The best winter holiday."

    13 July 2016

    "My friends and I cannot get over the wonderful stay and great hospitality we had while staying at Woelwaters. We enjoyed swimming in winter for the 1St time and the amazing river view we had... This is a place to sure come back to."

    Nkamogeleng Sepeng, South Africa
  • "Very Relaxing Stay"

    03 May 2016

    "My wife and i decided on the last minute to look for a campsite to stay over for a few nights. We came across WOELWATERS HOLIDAY RESORT by googling campsites along the Vaal River.<div><br /></div><div>we Booked and were certainly not disappointed. Caro and staff were very accommodating and friendly and went out of their way to ensure our stay would be good.</div><div><br /></div><div>The site was kept clean and tidy daily. The pools; one on the outside and the warmer inside pool were also very clean.</div><div><br /></div><div>During our stay we also saw many a bent rod of the 'Fly-fishermen' which suggest that it is a haven for fishing.</div><div><br /></div><div>the tranquility and peace is also our experience. so we highly recommend this place and hope to return there in the very near future.</div>"

    Hilton Volkwyn, South Africa
  • "All round good camping experience"

    03 May 2016

    "<p>We were pleasantly surprised by Woelwaters Holiday Resort. Campsites were clean and well kept. Bins were cleaned and braai areas swept daily.All campsites had electricity and awater tap. Campsites were very close to the river with pristine waters for fly fishing. We thoroughly enjoyed the heated pool which was beautifully clean and we were able to buy necessities from the tuck shop. Our Hosts -Chris and Caro were most hospitable and our camping experience was an all round good one. We will definitely recommend Woelwaters to anyone interesting in camping or fly fishing.</p><p>Michael &amp; Suanne O' Reilly</p>"

    Suanne O'Reilly, South Africa
  • "Few Days break with family"

    10 April 2016

    "Went for a break with husband and kids (both boys).We stayed in the basic bachelor flat which wascozy and had all necessary requirements. Both pools inside (which was heated at all time) and outside where extremely clean so my boys were excited and lots of fun, the resort was clean and safe with very friendly and helpfulstaff at all times.My boys went fishing to thevaal river which was walking distance andcaught fish this was brill considering first timethey went fishing...for me I had a relaxing peaceful time with nature all round, will be visiting there very soon thank you Woelwaters ...."

    Jai Nagin, South Africa
  • "Just what we needed"

    04 April 2016

    "Thank you Caro for excellent service. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful scenery, just what I needed. Kids can safely play in play area just outside your door and enjoy themselves while parents relax.&nbsp; Bonding time for the whole family easy with the put put course, swimming pools and fishing.&nbsp; Clean - a great plus for me personally and well managed with a personal homely touch.&nbsp; Thank you for a lovely weekend, next time we definitely coming for longer.&nbsp; Ray &amp; Rene Cox <br />"

    Rene Putter, South Africa
  • "Woelwaters"

    11 January 2016

    "Very nice and relaxing resort , a fishermans delight , not for extreme holiday goers"

    Jacques Peterson, South Africa
  • "Very nice"

    29 September 2015

    "I really enjoyed my stay at Woelwaters and would recommend the place to everyone. I will be going back."

    Frank Cox, South Africa
  • "Wonderful Stay!!"

    22 September 2015

    "<p style="margin: 0cm 0cm 0pt; line-height: normal;"><span style="color: rgb(88, 88, 88);">My friend and I (about 20 of us) had a fantastic stay at Woelwaters the weekend of 14 August 2015. We will definitely come back for a holiday</span></p><p style="margin: 0cm 0cm 0pt; line-height: normal;"> </p><span style="color: rgb(88, 88, 88); line-height: 115%; font-size: 11pt;">Clive Newman</span><p>&nbsp;</p>"

    Clive Newman, South Africa
  • "Nice self catering unit"

    15 June 2015

    "They forget to mention that it is 100% self catering and that you have to bring your own towels (not as displayed on the luxury unit photos). Take your own dish washing liquid and own washing cloths too.<div><br /></div><div>Otherwise, unit was clean and good for a basic weekend getaway and perfectly allocated to close to the water and nice fishing fly spots.</div>"

    Stephan Becker, South Africa
  • "Good"

    24 November 2014

    "We had a lovely break away from the city jungle and we enjoyed our stay. The people are friendly, nice place to be. Looking forward to visiting again. Thank you."

    Vusi Masuku, South Africa
  • "Good"

    15 November 2014

    "90%"

    andre grobbelaar, South Africa
  • "Woelwaters.....A Fools Paradise"

    25 March 2014

    "I wish to express my utter disappointment and disgust at the accommodation facilities offered at the above establishment.The resort is misleading in its name and is misrepresented in the pictures advertised in the 4 sleeper Chalet. It is not value for money, is unhygienic and is not worthy of a holiday in the least. It's should be deemed more of a shack than a resort.It was supposed to be a fun and restful stay that was more of nightmare than anything else. We could not wait to leave and get back home.Let me bring to your attention the following:We had driven more than 85km to the above mentioned destination,from Gauteng to the boondoos as the expectation was this would be close to civilisation and near the Vaal.1. On arriving on the 21.03.2014, i was shocked to see a family using the swimming pool for baptism purposes.2. The sheets and duvets were unkempt as it wreaked of a stale and unwashed odour. The room also smelt terrible upon entering.3. The toilet is close to the kitchen. This is pathetic and unhygienic.4.There was terrible sounds emanating from the roof at night which made it impossible to sleep.5.The roof had a sack that acted as a cover.6. When taking a shower the steam formed droplets of water that leaked into the "shack" and fell onto us as we slept. More thought should have gone into the construction of these units.7.There were flies everywhere both day and night. This was terrible especially for my kids who could so easily pick up infections.8. There was not much entertainment for the kids.9. On leaving we were not asked how our stay was, as i am sure the owner already knew as other visitors to this place echo my sentiments too.I am so embarrassed to even tell my families and friends that we had booked into this horrendous establishment.....neither would i refer or recommend it to anyone as this is a fools paradise.Totally appalled that such a place could be referred by Safari Now without being looked at prior to advertising on your website.Regards,"

    anitha Naicker, South Africa
  • "Very nice relaxing weekend!!!"

    24 February 2014

    "Thank you Woelwaters for a wonderful breakaway from the city. Very peaceful and quiet weekend of fishing and braai. Nice family time."

    Marius v/d Merwe, South Africa
  • "Great place to relax"

    12 February 2014

    "Its the best place to be if you just want to relax and soak up the sun. Loved it!"

    Jolene Bronkhorst, South Africa
  • "lots of improvements needed"

    09 January 2014

    "Not a place i would go back to."

    Debby McColl, South Africa
  • "Good"

    28 December 2013

    "Nice quiet place, they are welcoming, it was awesome will like to visit the place again."

    mboweni nonkululeko, South Africa
  • "Nice stay"

    25 September 2013

    "Enjoy my stay there. People were really friendly and well organised."

    Joseph Taylor, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!