4 Seasons Guest House

Welcome to the 4 Seasons Guest House in Loxton, a small, quaint Karoo arboreal village with many of its streets lined with cypresses, pear, pepper and beefwood trees. Today, Loxton is enjoying a revival; new residents are arriving here from various corners of South Africa and abroad, looking for a Karoo oasis filled with fresh air, tranquillity, vast plains to explore and awesome stargazing to be enjoyed.

The old Karoo-style buildings date back to the 1900s are being restored to their original beauty. Loxton is also home to some of South Africas leading authors and novelists.

The guest house offers accommodation in double en-suite bedrooms, as well as a separate self-catering cottage. Features include a large living room to unwind and watch DStv and a fully equipped dining room with tea and coffee-making facilities.

Escape the fast pace and experience the peace and healing silence of the arid great Karoo - explore the nostalgic villages of a bygone era. The Karoos clear, dark nights offer some of the best stargazing in the world. Corbel houses built from stacked rough-hewn stone, is an architectural heritage unique to this part of the Karoo. The Karoo is also one of the few, and best, places in the world where fossils are found, as well as rock art in caves from the first-known human inhabitants, the San Bushmen.

Attractions in the nearby area include Khoisan rock art engravings at Kafferskraal and Taaibosfontein, the Karoo National Park, various game farms, and visits to the nearby towns of Victoria West, Canavron and Pampoenpoort. There are also plenty of 4x4 trails, quad biking trails and mountain biking trails in the surrounding area.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "OVERNIGHT STAY"

    17 January 2017

    "The stay was comfortable. Once again what we saw when making the booking was not what we got when we arrived."

    Ken Brown, South Africa
  • "Falling in love with the Karoo"

    19 December 2016

    "Previews reviews of this establishment warned that the owner is not always on top of things.... and yes, you guessed it.... I arrived on a hot summer afternoon, and not a soul knew of my booking! But Leonie saved the day and I was quickly escorted to my own 3-bedroom cottage down the road. And what a lovely stay it was! I booked self-catering so I could put that Karoo lamb's rib on the fire.... and so I did. The cottage was clean, well equipped and in a quiet tranquil garden... lovely! I will anyday stay with them again (I will just phone in advance on the day of arrival..) Loxton is a true oasis in the Karoo."

    Tertius Marais, South Africa
  • "Unpleasant"

    12 January 2016

    "<br /><br />"

    stephen fourie, South Africa
  • "Acceptably average accommodation in little Loxton"

    20 July 2015

    "I wouldn't rank this up amongst the best accommodation South Africa has to offer but it gave value for money.Theroom was clean, the bedding fresh andthe breakfastwasedible - we were told upfront that there was no bacon and eggs. The positionwas good - opposite the restaurantwhere we ate supper. The house has facilities for braaing.<p></p>"

    Jill Nudelman, South Africa
  • "Delightful and cozy"

    25 August 2014

    "We had fun with other wonderful travellers. Suggest you phone ahead to confirm your booking even though you have paid a deposit. Angela needs to communicate better with Loenie. Travellers should be informed of lack of food availability for dinner in this delightful little town especially if arriving late."

    Christine Mair, South Africa
  • "Stay in Loxton and 4 Seasons"

    20 April 2014

    "Fantastic town to relax in with very friendly and helpful people. Definitely recommend it for anyone who wants a break from the rat race. 4 Seasons is certainly the best location in town with great ambience and great food and dedicated service. 5 stars for the great service!"

    Heinrich Bierman, South Africa
  • "Value for money!!!"

    22 August 2013

    "Value for money!!!The Four Seasons Guest house might look a bit expensive for a small town like Loxton but you will fall in love with the Victorian style building the moment you stop in front of it. Being there mid-week we had the entire guest house for ourselves. The dry breakfast is more than enough and die Rooi Granaat just across the street, had the best curry ever. Im planning to take my two best friends there soon because you just have to share the good things in life!"

    Louise Triegaardt, South Africa
  • "This guest house has potential... but fails to deliver"

    24 March 2013

    "We have mixed emotions with regards to our stay at the 4 Seasons Guest House. The house is charming, a beautiful old house. Upon our arrival there was no one to welcome us and show us around. The kitchen was untidy and dirty. There was no cold water in the bath tap and we had to fill the bath with cold water from a bucket. The house lacks a personality and atmosphere. The rooms are overpriced and were overall disappointed and would not stay at this establishment again."

    Andre Stander, South Africa
  • "Loxton 4 Seasons Guesthouse"

    25 December 2012

    "The cleanliness of the accommodation were not up to standard. There was only one small pot with a lid, which is not sufficient for selfcatering accommodation. Both the both pot and the oven plate was still dirty from previous use. The material of living room couches was stained and dirty. The accommodation also had lots of flies and no flyswatter or insecticide to address the problem."

    Wendy Jonker, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!