Karoo Cottage

Karoo Cottage is a delightful air-conditioned little cottage situated under a giant pine tree in the heart of the village of Loxton. It is fully-equipped for self-catering. The cottage comprises one large living-cum-bedroom with one double bed and one single bed, fitted with good quality linen and bedding.

The main room is wall to wall carpeted and includes a small dining table and chairs, comfy armchairs, and other furnishings. Television is provided, with standard SABC channels. The en-suite bathroom has a shower, basin and toilet. The adjoining kitchen has a full size fridge/freezer, a small microwave oven, and a two-plate gas cooker, no oven, plus a range of cutlery, crockery, and cooking utensils. The air-conditioner unit serves to both cool and heat the cottage, and in winter electric blankets are fitted. Small pets are allowed with prior arrangement.

Karoo Cottage has its own access and is totally private. The lockable car gate leads into a shade net-covered carport and there's a private braai area behind the cottage also ideal for stargazing. Wood and braai packs are available by prior arrangement.

Breakfast is an optional extra - we can put ingredients into the cottage for you either for a light breakfast or self-cook - by prior arrangement. The pretty village of Loxton is small and has few facilities so the owners request that you arrange meals in advance. If you'll be self-catering, it's advisable to bring all your supplies with you from a larger centre.

Loxton is a delightful hamlet situated beneath a canopy of trees in the heart of the Karoo. This is not a destination that speaks of bright lights, but rather of bright stars. Thanks to no light or air pollution, we have awesome night skies and have seen see up to twenty satellites within two hours of star gazing.

There are also lovely walks around the tiny, pretty village with its old vernacular architecture, you can climb our koppies, for never-ending views across the plains, and in spring our streets are a fairytale picture of white pear blossoms.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Lieflike Groot Karoo-ervaring"

    08 January 2018

    "Ons het heerlik gebly in 'n eenheid waar alles byderhand is. 'n Mens kan agterkom dat die eienaar vooruitgedink het aan elke moontlike behoefte van gaste."

    Johnnie Hay
  • "Friendly host"

    21 November 2017

    "Very comfortable and"

    Erik Kullander
  • "Very Loxton"

    10 October 2016

    "Loxton is a small quint town. You go there because you expect peace, quiet and old world charm. Karoo Cottage is all of these things. Steve is wonderful host. Down to earth, friendly and helpful. If it weren't for him we'd have taken the wrong road back to Cape Town. The cottage is in great condition and the amenities are sufficient. We only stayed a night because we we're passing through, but we'll definitely stay longer next time."

    Renier Van Schalkwyk, South Africa
  • "Gem of the Karoo"

    04 July 2016

    "We had an awesome stay and would like to thank Steve again!! We'll be back for sure!"

    Elane Strauss, South Africa
  • "Karoo Cottage"

    11 May 2015

    "Baie rustige en netjiese kothuisie. Ons tweede besoek en nie die laaste nie."

    Katrien van Staden, South Africa
  • "Again a very pleasant stay"

    12 April 2015

    "Our second time in Loxton; and it was again a very pleasant stay, wouldn't stay anywhere else when in the area. Steve is a very welcoming and friendly host.<br />We will be back. <br />"

    Karl Laepple, Germany
  • "Enjoyed our stay."

    22 December 2014

    "Very nice stay in the Karoo Cottage. Comfortable facilities - everything you need. Thanks Steve!"

    Robert Button, South Africa
  • "A gem in Loxton"

    09 December 2014

    "We stayed at Karoo Cottage for two nights, one in November and one in December. It is quiet, well equipped and very comfortable. An ideal stopover for us on our way to and from Kgalagadi, but would be equally enjoyable for a much longer stay. Steve lives next door, is an excellent host and made sure we had everything we needed.Thank you Steve, we will be sure to return."

    Petrina Hugo, South Africa
  • "Baie goed"

    09 June 2014

    "Baie gesellige en stylvolle selfsorghuisie. Alles wat nodig is, is daar. Veilige parkering. 'n Pragtige versameling buitelewe-tydskrifte om deur te blaai. Loxton is 'n mooi goedversorgde Karoodorpie. 'n Goeie keuse vir 'n Karoo-ervaring."

    A. Meijers, South Africa
  • "Lovely"

    16 December 2013

    "Lovely, cosy cottage set in quiet street. Steve was very welcoming and thought of all our needs. Peaceful, private and delightful. We recommend this cottage to everyone. We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay."

    Francois de Villiers, South Africa
  • "Just perfect"

    06 September 2013

    "What a wonderful place to stay over-night or even for a day or two. The area is absolutely serene, and accommodation suitably comfortable. Thank you."

    Lany Olivier, South Africa
  • "Baie waarde vir geld"

    10 August 2013

    "Vriendelik ontvang.Baie netjies en skoon. Stil en rustig, lekker ontspan."

    Adrienne Ubbink, South Africa
  • "amazing stay at Karoo Cottage"

    01 April 2013

    "It is not common to stay in such a comfortable little establishment. Nothing is too much for Stephan, the ownwer. His pride in creating this master piece is very visible in all the fine detail throughout. We will really look for an oppertunity soon to visit Loxton again in order to again make use of the Karoo Cottage."

    Theo Blok, South Africa
  • "Pleasant stay"

    18 March 2013

    "Loxton has a good feel to it and the cottage contributes to this. We could happily recommend staying here."

    Dave Muller, South Africa
  • "Absolutely recommended"

    03 September 2011

    "What a pleasure to arrive after a long drive and find an oasis waiting for you-crisp linen with an electric blanket to keep you warm on a cold night,fresh towels to enjoy after a warm shower and so forth. We will absolutely recommend it to anybody that wants some peace and quiet after the city noise."

    A Krieg, South Africa
  • "Very nice"

    29 March 2011

    "Very neat and tidy place to stay. Hospitality was great. The town was quiet and peaceful. Nowhere in the RSA will you find clearer skies and brighter stars."

    Gert Heyns
  • "Pleasant surprise!"

    05 January 2011

    "We chose Loxton to overnight at on the way back to Gauteng after a visit to SALT in Sutherland on 3 January 2011. Not expecting too much we were surprised to find a large clean unit with a place for everything and everything in its place. Stephen and Brent Moseley knows the industry and have also prepared a delicious bobotie. Highly recommended. Phillip Nel"

    Phillip Nel, South Africa
  • "What a lovely experience!"

    31 May 2010

    "Very clean, small yet comfortable and even though the first snow on the Swartberge, the cottage had air conditioning which made it nice and cosy.Steve was a wonderful host and arranged for us to watch the Super14 Final at the Blue Cafe in Loxton - just a block away from the Karoo Cottage.Breakfast Sunday morning ended in a feast with a full spread from yoghurt, cereal, down to bacon, wors and eggs - brilliant!Have already decided to visit again next year with the annual Jakkalsdams Game Auction!Thanks a lot Brent and Steve!!"

    Nina Olivier,South Africa
  • "Immaculate stay in Loxton"

    11 April 2010

    "We really enjoyed our stay in Karoo Cottage - Steve was a perfect host. Everything available to make our overnight stay a memorable one. "

    Philip de Vaal,South Africa
  • "Karoo Cottage, the place to stay"

    15 January 2010

    "We arrived on Sunday afternoon, 27/12/09 at round about 15:45 in Loxton. Not knowing where to go, we phoned the owners and we were escorted via cell phone to Karoo Cottage. Upon arrival Steve was waiting for us and ushered us into the cottage. How nice was the surprise! A cool and homely atmosphere greeted us as he unlocked the door and as we entered. We specially liked the antique furnishing. The cottage is more than ample for two to three guests. There is enough room to roam around in the cottage and fresh towels were waiting for us to take a shower. A small braai (BBQ) spot is arranged behind the cottage and safe parking is available. Even the table outside next to the braai area was laid! What service!As Loxton is a small place, no cafe or supermarket was open on a Sunday afternoon. Steve and Brent had some ice cold fresh milk available for our use in the refrigerator. This was a send blessing as we were able to have a cup of hot coffee on arrival. We decided against breakfast (and I honestly regret refusing breakfast before arrival!) as we brought our own ingredients along for breakfast. We decided on having a braai that evening and this was a real nice affair. Sitting outside, sipping a cold glass of wine, we did some star gazing and was lucky enough to spot a satellite on it's track through the galaxy. Browsing at the stars, one can hear the church bell toil around the half hour and on the hour chiming the number of the hour. Getting to bed was wonderful, clean crisp white sheets was waiting for us and having a shower and drying with a feather soft towel was a very nice experience. We even slept with unlocked doors! There is no burglar proving in front of the windows and I don't think it is necessary either as crime is very low in this hamlet.This little cottage can easily pass for a 3 to 4* accommodation. It might be on a share property but privacy is guaranteed. Steve and Brent are very sociable but they leave their guests alone. You have the cottage and it's immediate surroundings all to yourself.If given the choice, I will return in a wink. "

    Johnny Olsen,South Africa
  • "Dreamy Loxton"

    28 September 2009

    "My verblyf in Karoo Cottage was 'n heerlike ervaring en is sinoniem met die rus en vrede wat Loxton bied.Dit is sentraal, stil, ruim en het heerlike geriewe soos die donsige duvet en kussings wat die kwaai Karoo-koue kon troef!Despite the fact that this property is situated on the same plot as the owners' home, it did not feel intrusive in any way and Steve & Brent gave me tons of privacy to do my own thing.The starry heaven in Loxton is AMAZING and even if that is the only reason you make a detour to this beautiful road less traveled, it will be worth your while.Karoo Cottage is verseker aan te bevole!"

    J Koekemoer,South Africa
  • "Relaxing weekend"

    14 April 2008

    "We went to have a relaxing weekend, with a bit of exercise, too. That is exactly what we got."

    Rachel Jafta,South Africa
  • "Fantastic"

    23 January 2008

    "We both really enjoyed our stay. We cannot praiseaccommodation, breakfast & welcome enough. Hope to return. Thank you "

    Beatrice Henderson,United Kingdom
  • "Excellent stay"

    07 January 2008

    " - the cottage was clean, tidy and the hosts made us feel very welcome without being intrusive."

    johan van der westhuysen,South Africa
  • "We just loved the cottage"

    11 October 2007

    "Just the peace and quiet that we sought. The amenities were good and Steve always on hand if wanted and not if not! We assured him that we would be staying with him on our next visit."

    Dorothy Allan, South Africa
  • "We just loved the cottage"

    11 October 2007

    "Just the peace and quiet that we sought.The amenities were good and Steve always on hand if wanted and not if not! We assured him that we would be staying with him on our next visit."

    Dorothy Allan,South Africa
  • "Super stay - very friendly hosts"

    29 July 2007

    "Clean and great base for exploring the Karoo. Food well up to the standards we came to expect from SA."

    Charles Radcliffe, United Kingdom
  • "Super stay - very friendly hosts"

    29 July 2007

    "Clean and great base for exploring the Karoo. Food well up to the standards we came to expect from SA."

    Charles Radcliffe,United Kingdom
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!