3-Rondavels

In the south the Kruger National Park ends at the Crocodile River and on the opposite bank of the river lies Marloth Park, a twelve minutes walk down a winding, sandy track lies 3-Rondavels. As the sun begins to set, the sounds of the African day fade away replaced by a deep quiet that enfolds the veld.

At 3-Rondavels, hidden deep in the Marloth Park conservancy on the border of the Kruger National Park, there's bush magic in every hour of the day. Centuries-old marula trees spread magic branches to ward off stress and city bustle, where animals and birds welcome you to their world. We offer three trational, luxurious and spacious bushveld rondavel accommodation.

The Crocodile River forms the common boundary between the Kruger Park and Marloth Park, stretching for 17 kilometres, and is home to hippo and hundreds of crocodiles. Elephant, rhino and buffalo stay on the Kruger Park side of the river. On the Marloth side a wide variety of antelope roam free among the cottages, while giraffe and warthog may drop in at any time. Over 300 bird species fill the air with song and centuries-old trees keep watch over all. This is ancient Africa where man is but a visitor.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Cosy, rustic and affordable"

    25 September 2018

    "Had a lovely stay , a super weekend getaway"

    Mandy Nailer
  • "Tranquility at its best"

    05 July 2018

    "Love staying at 3 Rondawels. Very peaceful and clean."

    Pamela Stoltz
  • "Nice first stay at marloth Park"

    01 May 2018

    "I loved the atmosphere and the game between the houses."

    Adriaan Eksteen
  • "Close to Kruger"

    06 April 2018

    "Comfortable and rustic"

    Mary Rice
  • "The tranquility"

    23 December 2017

    "It is awesome and oom dawie en grietjie was such awesome hosts"

    Maria Vd Westhuizen
  • "The Wildlife all around you"

    21 October 2017

    "I love the quiteness that we hand everything was just perfect"

    Nardus Geldenhuys
  • "Lovely comfortably rustic accomodation"

    19 October 2017

    "We had a lovely stay at The 3 Rondavels. The accommodation was rustic and beautifully constructed. We had some lovely animal encounters with Kudu, Giraffe, Warthogs and Bush Babies right on our doorstep. The kids had a wonderful time. Thankyou so much. We will love to return one day."

    Belinda Calder
  • "Real bush experience"

    11 October 2017

    "The stay at 3 Rondavels was exactly what we needed, a real bush experience, away from the huzzle and buzzle of the city life. Tranquility, serenity and fresh air."

    Lean Visser
  • "Average-getting to know strangers"

    14 August 2017

    "We liked the upstairs patio. Spent all our time there. The bush babies were a delight.On the bad side.There was no privacy. The rooms are Far too close together. No privacy, especially the bathroom and braai area.Would be better if you rented them all out to one big group.But cheap and convenient to travel to the park."

    Gabriella Bajkai
  • "3 Rondawels HB KLOPPERS"

    14 August 2017

    "I like the atmosphere. It is not luxerious but it is comfortable with all the neccesities. It was lovely to break away and be in the bushes for a few days.I would suggest curtains for the bathroom."

    Hennie Kloppers
  • "Nice shower with hot water"

    22 July 2017

    "No privacy. Only one tea spoon and one kitting knife. The main bed was too small for 2 adults!!"

    Martie Gouws
  • "Best hosts"

    13 July 2017

    "What a lovely stay.Friendly,helpful hosts.Everything you need for a perfect stay"

    Yolanda Van Dyk
  • "Wildlife"

    10 July 2017

    "Thank you for a lovely stay!"

    Jacqui Van Der Merwe
  • "Neat unit and lovely stay!"

    22 June 2017

    "The Skilpad rondawel is well equipped, clean and the host is friendly and accommodating.In close proximity to the Crocodile Bridge Gate - Kruger National park, a mere 20 minute drive.Would recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful yet comfortable stay."

    Riandri Barnard
  • "Vriendelike Marlothparkmense."

    23 April 2017

    "Baie dankie vir heerlike wegbreek en julle vriendelike behulpsaamheid!"

    Marinda Hattingh
  • "Babsie Scholtz"

    03 October 2016

    "Skoon en netjies!"

    Babsie Scholtz, South Africa
  • "Lovely and charming"

    30 August 2016

    "This is a lovely spot with a great location really calm, in the middle of Marloth Park. This apartment is charming and nicely decorated. The kitchen is totally equipped. <br/>The host is very kind and attentive.<br/><br/>Highly recommended! Would return :)"

    Filipa Melo, Mozambique
  • "3 Rondavels"

    15 August 2016

    "Had a great stay at 3 Rondavels. Truly in the bush and peaceful."

    Riette Lindeque, South Africa
  • "Self catering supreme"

    17 June 2016

    "As some one who travels a lot internationally I am very picky where I stay and only use self catering hats off to Dawie with his stunning accomodation.<div><br /></div><div>We stayed in the skilpad rondavel which is the large unit the decor is smart rustic and stylish.</div><div><br /></div><div>All the basics are supplied as well.</div>"

    Tiaan malan, South Africa
  • "Skilpad"

    17 May 2016

    "We enjoyed our stay very much except:<div><br /></div><div>The unit was very dusty and we did not have full</div><div><br /></div><div>use of both the bathrooms.</div>"

    Koos van Vuuren, South Africa
  • "Enjoyed our stay"

    28 September 2015

    "<p>Thank you for the lovely time we had at 3 Rondavels.&nbsp; We really enjoyed it and will definitely recommend it as a place to stay for that breakaway</p>"

    Marisa Ferreira, South Africa
  • "SELF CATERING IS NO EXCUSE FOR DIRTY"

    28 September 2015

    "We were extremely put off by the dirt in our rondavel. We had to clean the place before we could unpack. The cups hanging from the cup hooks looked as though they hadn't even been washed as there was a brown dried liquid inside some of them and they all had a ring around them. The fridge was filthy inside and out.<div>The beds were atrocious. The double bed was by no means double and my wife and I had to sleep in separate beds. Where there were gaps between the beds and wall, dirty cushions had been stuffed to close the space.</div><div>We got the impression that this rondavel was filled with every bit of old furniture and cutlery that the owners had lying around at home. A rickety old cupboard in the one room wouldn't stay closed and eventually we had to jam paper in it to close. The cutlery was filthy and is so old when eating from it all you taste is metal.</div><div>We were looking so forward to our stay at 3-Rondavels but were bitterly disappointed.</div>"

    Natalie Karp, South Africa
  • "Special"

    29 June 2015

    "3-Rondavels was very special, and Dawie and Margaret were lovely! The accommodations are so unique, and they had some beautiful artistic touches! The bathtub/shower was so unique, and it worked great, too! Our only sadness was that we spent so much time at Kruger that we didn't have enough time at 3-Rondavels. We hope we get to return one day!!!"

    Jinna Collins-Jwacu, United States of America
  • "Relaxed stay"

    20 April 2015

    "<p>We had such a nice relaxing stay. The rondawel we stayed in was well equipped and perfectfor the bush surroundings. Oom Dawie and Tannie Grietjie was the best. Very friendly and made us feel Welcome. We will Definitely visit again next year.</p>"

    RIENIE PARKINSON, South Africa
  • "Skilpad Rondavel"

    04 April 2015

    "Dit was nou omtrent 'n bos ervaring om by 3 Rondavels (Skilpad) te kuier, baie lekker gekuier, di nag geluide was scary maar tog opwindend, ons het elke dag deur die Kruger wildtuin Gery en was Gelukkig om die groot 5 elke dag te kry, na so dag is ons terug na Marloth Park , 3 Rondavels, waar ons rustig kon gaan sit en braai het en in di swembadjie afgekoel het. Ons sal baie beslis weer soontoe gaan. Oom Dawie en tannie Grietjie is so vriendelik en laat jou dadelik tuis voel, jy kan dit jou "home away from home" noem. Baie dankie vir die heerlike kuier, sien julle volgende keer. Travis en Melanie de Wet, Klerksdorp"

    Melanie De Wet, South Africa
  • "Loved the area"

    30 March 2015

    "Loved the area, Marloth Park is such a peaceful place. Dawie and his wife were very friendly and accommodating, we had an issue with the Rondavel we booked and he gave us an option of changing without any costs. There was a lot of spiders and webs inside the rondavels, very dusty, other than that everything went well and we enjoyed our trip."

    Merylyn Chetty, South Africa
  • "Excellent"

    11 January 2015

    "It was an amazing weekend break. Will be booking there again."

    lucette wills, South Africa
  • "Wonderful Time"

    25 December 2014

    "we enjoyed our stay at the rondawels. Real rustic feeling to it. Definitely coming again."

    Pamela Stoltz, South Africa
  • "3 Rondavls"

    09 November 2014

    "The place was fine,however it's not what I was looking for. The advertisement was misleading as I need to be close to the actual 3 rondavels view site, which is over 200km away."

    Fernando Makhani, South Africa
  • "Awesome weekend"

    27 October 2014

    "We had a very relaxing weekend in the wild. Place is very nice and we would definitely recommend it to our friends and family."

    Estell Bornman, South Africa
  • "A real Bush experience"

    08 May 2014

    "We had a restful stay, will definitely go back again if you are not scared of any wild or insects this is the place to go you are one on one with the wild and its absolutely quiet and peaceful every need of ours was met and its very affordable accommodation. thank you."

    Alisha , South Africa
  • "Peaceful"

    28 April 2014

    "Super quiet place very close to Kruger Crocodile Gate, we had a great time and would not hesitate to book again. Not for the( faint hearted)."

    philip grapes, England
  • "Awesome stay"

    23 April 2014

    "Very nice stay,the main rondavel is fantastic that scores a 4 in my books."

    Paulo Goncalves, South Africa
  • "Great"

    21 March 2014

    "Highly recommended. Dawie and Grietjie, made me feel very welcome. The animals came to the rondavel and the surroundings were beautiful, only the gravel road was very bad."

    Mia de Rooij, Netherlands
  • "Nice stay"

    07 March 2014

    "Very enjoyable experience, rustic but with everything you need."

    H du Toit, South Africa
  • "not commendable"

    25 February 2014

    "we were a little bit chocked, this place is very dirty and uncared."

    Manuela Jachwitz, South Africa
  • "Excellent"

    08 July 2013

    "Excellent all rounder. Thank you for everything."

    Jenny Du Toit, South Africa
  • "Nice"

    05 July 2013

    "We had a really lovely stay at 3 Rondavels. The setting was beautiful, the rondavel was clean and neat and well laid out...loved the rustic bath. The hot water was limited however. We met some great people and were warmly welcomed by the owners Dawie and Magriet. Only 1 problem .... there were NO knives and forks or other utensils such as can opener, braai tongs etc."

    Lee SUMMERFORD, South Africa
  • "Krokodil Rondavel"

    22 June 2013

    "Friendly reception from Dawie and Grietjie. Equipped with basic self-catering utensils and cutlery. Missed a toaster. Interior of Rondavel unique to the environment. Very nice! Would be ideal for a family gathering as the Rondavels are build closely together. Had a nice stay and will certainly go again."

    gerrie coertze, South Africa
  • "Stunning"

    15 April 2013

    "Beautiful and very private, everything was clean and welcoming lovely greetings on arrival and departure. So enjoyed our stay and will be back for sure."

    Linda Koekemoer , South Africa
  • "Lovely"

    18 February 2013

    "Experience at 3 Rondavels was lovely. So relaxing and peacefull... Just dissapointed in the fact that there was no fan in the unit as advertised?!"

    Melanie Braun, South Africa
  • "Bliss"

    04 January 2012

    "Our stay at 3-Rondavels was bliss. With the addition of the splash pool one could cool off during the hot summer days. I especially enjoyed the daily visit by the small herd of Zebra. The hosts, Dawie and Grietjie, made us feel very welcome. I have the utmost respect for them as they maintain and clean all the units themselves. We will be back in a few months."

    Tania Hawkins, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!