Uitvlugt Cottages and Camping Sites

Set in the picturesque McGregor surrounded by mountains, Uitvlugt offers a well balanced, quiet atmosphere with space to breath fresh mountain air and feel free. Sit by the side of the dam like you did when you were a child and wiggle your toes in the water. Leave the world behind and come spend some time in our part of the country, just a stone's throw away from the historical village of McGregor and a short drive from the best vineyards and wine cellars.



We offer two self-catering cottages; one is more suited for a couple looking for a romantic getaway while the second cottage is ideal for a young family as it sleeps four people. Our spacious camp sites lie nestled between the mountains and overlook the dam on the farm which is fed by mountain streams from the very nearby Sonderend Mountains.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "peace n quiet n night sky"

    26 August 2018

    "It was peaceful n quiet...wonderful night skyFire place does not work smoke comes into the roomWash basin in bathroom too small for shavingeKitchen taps too close to the sink...otherwise ok"

    Marie-Anna Marais
  • "quietness"

    01 May 2018

    "it is a very plain and smiple campsite. very informal. with a bit more TLC from the owner it can become a beautiful place"

    Daniel Victor
  • "Tranquility!"

    25 February 2018

    "This was by far the modt beautiful spot we ever camped. Heaven!"

    Dominique Reyniers
  • "Fishing fun!!!!"

    08 January 2018

    "We loved our stay and enjoyed the fishing immensely. This is one of the reasons why we keep on going back. The bass just love to bite. Very private and so clean!! One very nice surprise was the upgrades that was done. We love the rustic look but we also love a good flushing toilet and a shower. So the communal area was really nice. There we hardly any signal and we had to walk by the ridge of the dam to make a call, but that was positive! We came to get away from work and that is what we did. The people are also nice and friendly and I liked that they checked up on us. The lapa was so awesome in general with chairs, a big table and a zink and there's even a couple braai grids to use. Overall rating... 5 stars"

    Rochell Coetzee
  • "The views!"

    04 December 2017

    "We had a lovely time at the camp site, we were lucky that it was quiet and we were able to rest and enjoy the scenic views. The fire to heat our showers was fun and and experience. It taught the girls a lot :)"

    Louise Buttner
  • "The view, definitely"

    10 September 2017

    "It was so amazingly quiet. The view was incredible and everyone more than was more than helpfull. The ablution arrangements were almost cleaner and neater than at homw, and overall, it is a real comfortable and pleasant experience."

    Thinus Kruger
  • "The peace and quiet!"

    24 August 2017

    "This was a welcome break, a time to talk, and to rest, without the pressures of needing to be anywhere, or do anything."

    Jeremy Burgess
  • "so peacefull"

    14 July 2017

    "such a wonderfull place to relace and unwind."

    Birgit Hoffmeyer
  • "The wine tasting"

    10 July 2017

    "the farm stay was niceBut we did not feel welcome. The farmer just drove u to us and said that the keys were in the housesthe houses were nice and cleanbut they have a big problem with the fireplaces. it makes the whole house smell of smoke. We saw in the visitors book that many have complained about this but they have not fixed the problem. the braais out side were so small and rustedthe last night we made our own plan to fix the fireplaceWe never saw the farm owners the dog was lovely just sad he doesn't have a tag so we could get his name"

    Rulize de Klerk
  • "Uitvlugt"

    18 April 2017

    "Very Nice campsite with lovely views.Toilet paper and Cleaning toilets once a day would be advisable"

    Sine Strydom
  • "It was very peaceful and quiet"

    18 April 2017

    "The sites were too small and close to each other, clearly a new campsite, but I found the wording to be misleading on their website..The dam ( obviously) was very low, and the wind howled through the site - she did say that she will need to block off the end with some large trees to act as a windbreak. Quite unpleasant in the afternoons and evenings, which is not directly the establishment's problem."

    Dawn Mohr
  • "I did not make use of my booking"

    21 March 2017

    "I could not make use of my reservation as the transport I was suppose to come with was involve in an accident.i had to cancel my hiking permits etc.how do I go about for a refund."

    Hayden Murray
  • "Going home"

    13 March 2017

    "Reception was unfriendly. Warm water was put on and off. Which made showering unpleasant. Bed was extremely uncomfy. Toilet not flushing properly."

    Gwyneth Bernstein
  • "Secluded & Inspiring"

    02 March 2017

    "The cottage I stayed in was nicely secluded with all the necessary facilities. It had a stunning view of McGregor as well as the farm. Great place to go to for rest, relaxation and inspiration."

    Hanri Koekemoer
  • "Uitvlugt camping"

    21 December 2016

    "An incredible camp site. But not for the glampers amoung us. Very rustic with few sites, absolute solitude and amazing bird life. Bring shade with you.<br/>We loved it."

    Ingrid Schoeman, South Africa
  • "Great time at Uitvlugt!"

    28 August 2016

    "Uitvulgt is a wonderful getaway! It is peaceful and quiet. <br/>I would only suggest that they add information about the road to the cottage is a bit too rough for a non-4x4 car."

    Urshula Saindon, South Africa
  • "Camping Site"

    01 January 2016

    "No shade. No electricity or water if you are on the three camp sites furthermost from the communal wash up area. The showers, ablutions and communal wash up area are very basic and not pleasant to use. The donkey boiler must be fired up by the guests campsite users there is no hot water.<div><br /></div><div>The wind can really blow at this site so putting up a canopy to get out of the sun becomes impossible and due to the lack of trees at this campsite you will bake in summer so be aware.</div>"

    Brett Matthews, South Africa
  • "What a disappointment"

    12 August 2015

    "<p>We hired the cottage for 4 for two nights. We did not enjoy our stay:<br></br><br></br></p><p>- the was no adequate heating offered - the 1 little blow fan did not work</p><p>- given the lack of heating, no decent carpeting is offered to make an attempt to warm the place<br></br><br></br></p><p>- the beds were shocking - they are lumpy foam beds, on creacky springs or base beds that should have been retired years ago<br></br><br></br><br></br><br></br>- of the two plastic beakers supplied for children (in a cottage billed as suitable for young families), the clear one had mould growing on it<br></br><br></br></p><p>- the fridge smelled so bad I did not put my food in it</p><p>- there is no lock on the front door - only a latch to which you can attach a padlock. We were not offered the padlock and key<br></br><br></br><br></br><br></br></p><p>- nobody came to check on us during our visit to see if everything was adequate - I expect they did not want to deal with the fall out? <br></br><br></br></p><p>- decor is non-existant with bare light bulbs the order of the day - <br></br><br></br></p><p>- the view from the rear windows is onto the local dumping site for broken farm equipment and the front door view looks out onto the shade netting. Other windows are dirty spoiling what view you might want to glimpse<br></br><br></br></p><p>Arlene Addison<br></br><br></br><br></br><br></br></p><p ></br></p><p ></br></p>"

    Arlene Addison, South Africa
  • "UITVLUGT COTTAGES"

    27 July 2015

    "BAIE lekker gekuier!&nbsp; Dit is heerlik rustig en salig. Huisies skoon en netjies. Het na kampeerterrein ook gaan kyk en gaan beslis in somer bespreek om daar te kamp.<br />"

    Sharon van Jaarsveld, South Africa
  • "Easter Weekend Getaway"

    07 April 2015

    "Had a fabulous rest as the cottage for 2 at Uitvlugt. The cottage was clean. had everything we needed and is real value for money. Will definitely be back when I need another weekend rest. Thank you!<br />"

    Ronel Avery, South Africa
  • "Charming"

    02 April 2015

    "Loved the down to earth cottage and "indoor braai", enjoyed our walks through the vineyards. Not to much to do in McGregor it self, but will definitely came back to stay at Uitvlught.<br />"

    Marianne Vaughan, South Africa
  • "Comfortably Rustic"

    03 December 2013

    "The owners are very friendly and helpful. To get to the campsite you have to travel along a farm road. The facilities are comfortably rustic, there are flushing toilets and the hot water in the shower is created by a donkey (a fire under a tin barrel of water). Unfortunately the weather was not great so we didn't get to take the row boat out into the dam but we did get to enjoy sitting in front of the big fire place. Certainly will be going back when we need to recharge our "batteries""

    Paula Sparks, South Africa
  • "AMAZING!"

    12 September 2013

    "Alles was perfek! Die plaas is sooooo mooi!!! Ons kom beslis weer! Kan nie wag om die skoonheid van die plaas in die somer te ervaar nie!! BAIE DANKIE!!"

    MITCHEL-LYNN SOLOMONS, South Africa
  • "True camping"

    11 August 2013

    "There is absolutely nothing about uitvlugt that reminds you of the city. What a wonderful experience. We thoroughly enjoyed it."

    Reinhardt Liebenberg, South Africa
  • "Thank you"

    22 April 2013

    "Thank you it was very nice. We will come to stay there again."

    Ruhan De Villiers, South Africa
  • "Rustic relaxation"

    31 March 2013

    "We had a wonderful time at Uitvlugt. The campsite is beautiful and quiet. Very rustic, very relaxing, whether you're braaing, swimming, or rowing the boat on the dam. We'll definitely be back."

    Rebecca Helman
  • "Beautiful setting"

    22 August 2012

    "Simplistic and comfortable accommodation for budget conscious people.. Setting beautiful, remote and quiet.. great places to walk. Thank you.. We enjoyed the peace and quiet."

    Gwyn Banning, South Africa
  • "Great"

    10 April 2012

    "We had a great time camping at Uitvlugt. The weather wasn't great so we really appreciated the lapa that we could use and where we could braai. It was also great to have electricity. Very affordable with reasonable facilities."

    Karin Zybrands, South Africa
  • "Cottages"

    10 April 2012

    "We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back again."

    Sandra Petts, South Africa
  • "3.5 Star rating"

    03 January 2012

    "I would give Uitvlugt a 3.5 Star rating. It was very clean and tidy. Our stay was enjoyed, very quite and peaceful. It was overall relaxing and the service received was very good. I feel relaxed and ready for all the 2012 challenges. I would go back there again. It catered for everyone as we were family ranging from nine years to 69 years of age."

    Catharina Prins Prins, South Africa
  • "Perfect"

    22 December 2011

    "If your are looking for quiet solitude and time to reflect, this is the campsite for you. The setting is perfect. A campsite on the banks of this perfect dam with mountains surrounding you. The facilities are clean and practical. There was a braai area in the lapa with electricity which sheltered us from the wind that seems to come up in the afternoons in McGregor. We woke to a perfect day and paddled around the dam in the boats provided. It was a fun time!"

    janine monaghan, South Africa
  • "Camping"

    29 August 2011

    "We recently camped at Uitvlugt for a weekend and had a wonderful time."

    Ian van Tonder, South Africa
  • "Thanks again"

    09 August 2011

    "Thanks again to Gerda and Frans for an outstanding getaway. It was wonderful to get away from the rat race and enjoy the peace and quiet in such a tranquil setting. Had great fun boating on the dam and Liezl's weekend was made even more perfect by the horse ride."

    Tim Hoffman, South Africa
  • "Great"

    04 May 2011

    "We really enjoyed our stay, it was a pity that the dam was not full but in May we can't expect dams to be full in the Western Cape. The area was beautiful, and the campsite and ablution really clean."

    Nicola Old, South Africa
  • "Great"

    03 May 2011

    "When we first arrived we got the impression it was a dull boring place, but it was an absolute blast. We had lots of fun. The only downside we had was we had to pack up and leave a day early because of the terrible weather."

    Coreen Coetsee, South Africa
  • "Very peaceful"

    25 April 2011

    "Uit die stad se geraas. Sal gou weer gaan.Away from city noise. Will go again soon."

    Hano Jordaan, South Africa
  • "Awesome"

    11 April 2011

    "Awesome campsite. Peaceful, great views. The campsite is great, with good facilities. Definitely returning."

    John Geldenhuys, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!