Whipstock Guest Farm

Come and visit Whipstock Guest Farm and turn back time to a more relaxed pace of life away from the hustle and bustle. Located in the rain shadow of the Sonderend Mountains, on the banks of the Koningsriver, we have kept a small part of rural South Africa remarkably untouched by progress.

We offer two self-catering and three bed and breakfast cottages, each with an atmosphere and charm of its own. The cottages are equipped with fridges, coffee and tea-making facilities and fireplaces. The accommodation reflects its natural surroundings of beautiful countryside living. The commons room offers a small bar area; we are not licensed so bring your own, with large fireplace, dining room and a television with full DSTV. A variety of board games are also available and a library is available for readers to browse.

Whipstock Guest Farm is a prefect getaway for adults with children, as the farm offers a myriad of activities to keep everyone busy. There is a wonderful farm dam with clean mountain water for swimming and canoeing - perfect for those hotter summer days.

The surrounding areas are underdeveloped, lending a rustic charm to the scenery for great walks or mountain bike rides. Short and longer trails have been laid out on the farm such as the Over the Hills walk and the Valley Walk. With Whipstock Farm far from any development, the night sky is clear and the stars are unbelievably visible. At night, stargazing is a journey into another world. The surrounding wine estates offer stylish wine-tasting outings, and the fascinating, historic and artist town of McGregor is only 7 km away, providing a small store for basics, numerous shops, and restaurants.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Luxury farm-life"

    12 August 2018

    "We really enjoyed our stay. The room is well equipped and cozy. We enjoyed the peacefulness of farm-life but the proximity to many beautiful areas to explore was a bonus"

    Karen Rimmer
  • "quiet family time to enjoy the country life"

    03 April 2018

    "Great location for spending quality family time, we really enjoyed our stay and our hosts were terrific"

    Mayno Alli
  • "The peaceful surroundings"

    03 April 2018

    "A wonderful farm setting not too far from McGreggor.We had an absolutely amazing stay, waking up every morning to an amazing mountain visa with absolutely no noise pollution at all. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a communal area with everything needed.All in all, an absolute Gem of a guest house."

    Charles Kerr
  • "The peacefulness."

    30 October 2017

    "Excellent for getting away from the hustle and bustle of the city."

    ida Carr
  • "The sheer beauty of the farm combined with how well it is kept & run and how welcome we were made."

    30 July 2017

    "The hosts are delightful, accommodation cosy, comfy & pristine and the breakfast is more than generous! !"

    Diana Grant
  • "The warm welcome from voth Gail and Dennis, as well as the welcome fruit bowl"

    01 May 2017

    "We loved the house, the special drinking water, roller towel, dlowers and fruit vowl. This is the perfect place to recharge your batteries. Excellent views, peace and quiet. The whole experience was awesome. It is a place I would visit again."

    Elaine Simons
  • "Calm and tranquil"

    17 August 2016

    "Really enjoyed our stay here. Everything we needed was available. Will definitely recommend this as a get away stay"

    paul lesch, South Africa
  • "June 2016"

    06 June 2016

    "Whipstock Guest Farm is a beautiful place &amp; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.<div><br /></div><div>Dennis &amp; Gail were wonderful hosts who made us feel at home.</div><div><br /></div><div>The accomodation is clean, neat &amp; suitable for a peaceful get away.</div><div><br /></div><div>We'll definately visit again!</div>"

    Ernalize Gunter, South Africa
  • "Whipstock Farm"

    06 July 2015

    "My wife and I had a very relaxing weekend here, its just far enough out of town to feel remote. Hosts Gail and Dennis were very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Nice fire place in room, and in the communal dining room. A lovely place for a family reunion, or group of friends, small enough to book the whole place."

    trevor wright, South Africa
  • "Great Community Getaway"

    30 August 2014

    "Whipstock is a magical place to go with a bunch of family or friends. The "Commons" area is a fantastic place to eat, drink and socialise indoors, while the adults can escape to another private lounge to read or play snooker on a full size table. For quieter times, you can retire to your nearby unit. Of course the outdoor activities take the cake, with both short and long walks available, with opportunities to cycle and 4x4 nearby. One caution, it can be cold in winter, as the fireplaces are of a very old ineffective design, also easily smoking out the room. But we will be back!"

    Frank Spencer, South Africa
  • "At home experience"

    13 June 2013

    "We experienced an at home atmosphere. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The rooms was nice and warm, although there was snow on the mountains. We enjoyed our stay very much and will return soon!"

    Eileen Mckechnie, South Africa
  • "Stay from 6-9 June 2013"

    12 June 2013

    "Thank you so much Denis and Gail for the hospitality you have showed us. We enjoyed the stay and scenery so much. Thank you for making this a home away from home. You went over and beyond to make us welcome. I would def. recommend Whipstock Guest Farm to all that wants that farm and home away from home feeling.... Would def. be back."

    Eileen Mckechnie, South Africa
  • "Really friendly and accommodating"

    13 February 2013

    "I really had a good stay at the farm. The owner were very accommodating, and the premises were well maintained."

    Danie Swarts, South Africa
  • "Total relaxation"

    11 December 2012

    "My wife and I really enjoyed the couple of days we spent at Whipstock. We came away completely recharged and refreshed. Thanks Dennis and Gail for a lovely weekend. We'll be back!"

    Derek Lord, South Africa
  • "Great value"

    22 August 2012

    "We very much enjoyed our stay here. The cottage was tastefully decorated, cozy and had all the basics. Lovely setting and extras like lounge with music, billiards, games etc. Very nice, thank you. We will no doubt go again and maybe take some family and children with us."

    Gwyn Banning, South Africa
  • "Self-catering"

    14 August 2012

    "Your website carries the title "Self catering". That's what we wanted last weekend. We were considerably inconvenienced when we realised that the unit we had asked for was not a self-catering unit. On speaking to the person on duty during our stay, she rightly told me that we had asked for the unit in whch we were accommodated. Your website is not clear on which units are B&B or self-catering. (It's not a train smash - except that we found not one single restaurant open or available to us in McGregor and had to travel to Robertson for a meal.) Suggestion: Let your website be more clear on exactly which units are which. However, it's a pleasant venue (no great shakes though) in a beautiful setting."

    Gordon Oliver, South Africa
  • "Cold to the bone"

    12 June 2012

    "We travelled as a group of friend to the wacky wine weekend. Whipstock Farm was a last-minute booking and we were fortunate to get a place for the festival. The place is beautiful and charming, especially the main house. The photos on Safarinow.com doesn’t do it justice.<br> </br>We almost froze to death during our stay there. It was one of the coldest www and we felt it to the bone. The fireplace in Longland Unit 1 smoked up the room. Even though we tried to contain the fire, we had no choice but to keep one door open, while it was cold and raining outside, to keep the smoke out. Just defeats the whole purpose of having a fireplace.<br> </br>The Longland Unit 2 had a Queen Ann stove, which was just as useless for heat as the fireplace in Longland Unit 1 because it smoked up the room just as bad. I called ahead of arrival to check whether there was adequate heating in our units. I was assured there was a gas heater if needed, but only to discover on our arrival it had no gas. I’m glad I brought extra blankets from home since the bedding there was quite thin. My extra bedding almost saved us from experiencing the coldest, possibly miserable, weekend away.<br> </br>I’m not sure how self-catering guest farms operate but these units did not have cleaning services, and our beds were made. We paid R300 pppn for the www, a bit overpriced for what we got. Perhaps if I spent the weekend in the summer time, I probably would have a different opinion of Whipstock. But I just can’t stand the cold!<br> </br><b>Establishment's Response:</b><br> </br><i>Longlands Unit 1 - due to the fire being burnt in front and not at the back as instructed, caused the room to fill with smoke. Longlands 2 - a gas heater was promised, and we got a spare bottle from the common room, but the gas heater was found to be faulty and we were unable to use it as planned.<br> </br>Due to the Queen Anne stove not being used correctly it resulted in the flue cracking and emitting smoke into the room. Extra bedding is provided in all units and if more was needed, it would have been supplied on request.<br> </br>On the website it is not advertised that the units are serviced. In the whole time that the guests were in residence not once did they complain or make any suggestions to there discomfort.</i><br>"

    Busisiwe Nteyi, South Africa
  • "Wonderful"

    22 May 2012

    "We had the most wonderful time! We were collected promptly from the end of the Boesmanskloof Trail and taken to pots of hot tea and filtered coffee and a huge fire. After resting our weary legs we took a short walk to a beautiful Chrystal clear dam. If the weather had been warmer I would have loved to have a dip. The home cooked dinner and breakfast were outstanding! Thank you Dennis and Gail we will be back!"

    Barbara Stewart, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!