Erin Farmhouse & Cottages

Managed by owners, Trevor and Kathy, Erin is a child and pet friendly Farm Stay near Middelburg on the Eastern Edge of the Great Karoo, the vast central plateau of South Africa, with landscapes on a grand scale, sweeping skies and wide horizons.

Conveniently situated 10 km south of Middelburg in the Eastern Cape, midway between Johannesburg and Garden Route / Cape Coast and directly off the N9, Erin offers perfect en-route accommodation for a tranquil farm stay with wonderful vistas, champagne air, magical African sunsets, as well as star-studded night skies.

Erin offers relaxed, unassuming and comfortable pet friendly accommodation in Middelburg, Cape. With six accommodation options (some inter-leading and ideal for group stays), all the units have fans and heaters but not air-conditioning. Four of these units are fully equipped for self catering. There are no televisions or radios in the rooms, so guests can have a break from the rat-race and unwind while appreciating the fresh air, space and serenity.

At the end of day, marvel at the multi coloured sunsets which dim over Renosterberg Mountain and later, watch the dazzling display of stars in the velvet night sky as the Milky Way arches above like a spray of diamonds - and if you are lucky, you may be able to wish upon a shooting star!

Enjoy a traditional Karoo dinner or farm breakfast in the Barnyard dining area which has views over the veld and Middelburg mountain landscapes. All meals are served by prior arrangement and breakfast is served from 07h00. Erin is not licensed, so we suggest you bring along your own alcoholic and soft drinks.

Erin Farmhouse does not have a swimming pool.

If you book for accommodation only / self catering, please bring your own wood/charcoal + blitz if you wish to braai or make a fire as we do NOT provide these items and we are on a farm, 14 km from Middelburg town centre.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Excellent"

    29 November 2018

    "Nice, quite and well equipped with friendly hosts."

    Jan Helberg
  • "peace and quiet"

    09 January 2018

    "well equipped, clean and professionally managed establishment. very peaceful,quiet and conveniently located."

    Hans de Raedt
  • "The beautiful sunset!!"

    01 January 2018

    "It is a tranquil environment that provides rest for your soul. Thank you so much."

    Chrisna Wilson
  • "Beautiful bedroom"

    23 December 2017

    "The old farmhouse was enchanting"

    Mark Blew
  • "Safe and secure for my dogs- didnt have to keep them on a leash. Very quiet and very clean"

    18 December 2017

    "Beautiful sunset and big sky filled with stars!"

    Brenda Caplen
  • "Serenity of the enviroment"

    08 December 2017

    "Excellent service and value for money."

    Lourens Van Wyk
  • "sitting in the Bluegum Grove listening to the birds"

    02 October 2017

    "Loved the silences and peace from a hectic day of travel. The Awesome Shower and Bathroom"

    Nigel Nichols
  • "Quiet and peaceful"

    30 September 2017

    "Simplicity of facilities, yet it catered for all our needs."

    Gregor Mc Gregor
  • "Excellent food"

    23 August 2017

    "Very good food ,loved the Roostekoek for breakfast . Very welcoming host."

    Margie Dane
  • "Beautiful setting in authentic Karoo accommodation"

    23 July 2017

    "Warm friendly reception by gracious hosts"

    Eloise Arndt
  • "Enjoyed our stay"

    09 May 2017

    "Good day to Erin FarmWe and our cat thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The host is extremely kind & considerate.Regards,Gene Moerdyk."

    Gene Moerdyk
  • "Quiet and comfortable"

    09 January 2017

    "Our stop over at Erin's was lovely with a comfortable, clean cottage with all the amenities needed. It was lovely waking up with the sound of birds in the nearby tree's."

    Dax Menday, South Africa
  • "Lovely country ambience"

    06 January 2017

    "Enjoyed our brief stop here. Pleasant hosts and the room was large and comfortable and clean. Plenty of facilities in the kitchen to make a meal and a small verandah and garden area to eat our meals on and enjoy the country air and the sunset. Would definitely stop here again."

    Gill Dobson, South Africa
  • "A very pleasant stay"

    04 January 2017

    "A well equipped cottage for self-catering, comfortable beds and beautiful surroundings makes for a very pleasant stay at a thoroughly reasonable price. We (and our dog) would definitely recommend Erin."

    Lesley Wright, South Africa
  • "Erin stay"

    16 December 2016

    "We had the loveliest evening! Fires and beauty. Experienced Karoo gales and storm all within the safety of a unit that provided everything we needed. A bed that was divinely comfy and a peaceful walk in the morning. I long to experience that again!"

    Paula Kontominas, South Africa
  • "Halfway Home"

    04 April 2016

    "You can stay here with confidence. Beautiful Karoo setting, clean rooms and bedding, self-catering facilities are good, and Erin is very accommodating of pets.<div>Trevor is a friendly host and will make you feel most welcome.</div>"

    Rod MacLeod, South Africa
  • "Oasis in the Karoo"

    18 December 2015

    "Very hospitable host. Beautiful room, comfortable bed and lovely dinner. A most enjoyable experience.Highly recommended<div><br /></div>"

    Jan Grobler, South Africa
  • "Excellent"

    16 October 2015

    "We were not disappointed on our second visit to Erin. It was as good as the first time. Hospitality very friendly, Accommodation superb, food delicious. I cannot find fault."

    Colette Fergusson, South Africa
  • "Erin Country House and Farm Cottages"

    13 April 2015

    "We stayed over for one night in the "Mongoose Manor" farm cottage and can only compliment the owners for providing real value for money accommodation. The place was sparkling clean and very well equipped. Trevor is an interesting person and a great host.<div>Highly recommended.</div><div>Theo and Wendy van Graan.</div>"

    Theo van Graan, South Africa
  • "Peace and quiet"

    14 January 2015

    "Our stay was exactely what we needed as a half way stop between the sea and Bloemfontein. Trevor was a grate host and the kids enjoyed the freedom of running around on the farm. I think we will become regular guests at Erin."

    Carlien Albertyn, South Africa
  • "Great stay at Erin Country House"

    08 January 2015

    "We enjoyed a great welcome and a very comfortable stay overnight in a well decorated and equipped chalet. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening braai with other guests and the company of hosts Trevor and Cathy. We can highly recommend this."

    Tony Mills, South Africa
  • "Enjoyable stay over"

    08 January 2015

    "A most enjoyable stay over -only one night- the room was well appointed and comfortable ,the evening braai was more than adequate , the company was superb -thank you Kathy & Trevor."

    Tony Mills, South Africa
  • "Make Erin part of your journey"

    02 February 2014

    "We stayed at Erin Country House on our way back to Johannesburg from Sedgefield. Trevor and Kathy are extremely hospitable and made our overnight stay very enjoyable. We felt like old family friends! We stayed in one of the cottages and found everything perfect to our needs. Thank you for making this stop over such an enjoyable one!"

    michelle van sittert, South Africa
  • "Great farm break-out in Middleburg, EC"

    06 January 2014

    "We spent a night at the Erin Country House and Farm Cottages en route between JHB and Plett. It was a perfect stop-over in terms of location, farm-style accommodation, hospitality and food. The kids particularly enjoyed eating the eggs that they had collected from the chicken coup the night before! Highly recommended stop-over."

    Rob Davies, South Africa
  • "Excellent Erin"

    20 March 2013

    "Excellent hospitality, food, accomodation,and ambiance. We were warmly welcomed and felt like we were visiting friends. Will definitely stay there again."

    Dean Fergusson, South Africa
  • "Wont use them again"

    13 January 2013

    "We expected more, we wouldn't use them again."

    Mientjie Becker, South Africa
  • "Want to visit again"

    30 December 2012

    "Excellent hospitality, homely and welcoming. Would definitely visit again."

    Desnei Leaf, South Africa
  • "Accommodation review"

    03 May 2011

    "Erin cottages where neat and clean, we only stayed there for one night but really enjoyed the farm feel."

    Helen Doumanis, South Africa
  • "Erin country lodge"

    04 January 2010

    "We arrived on the evening of the 15th, after a long day on the road (I must add that I was very sick and not feeling well). Our hosts made us feel very welcome and I got special attention and TLC. They even went as far as organize me some medicine so I couls feel better. I would definitely stay over again if I ever travel in that direction again and would recommend the place to everyone"

    Miems Van Wyk, South Africa
  • "Really good"

    17 December 2009

    " - Trevor is a great host.The food was excellent and the surroundings so peaceful.We'll be back for sure."

    Pam Lyon,South Africa
  • "Recommended"

    24 July 2009

    "Dedicated host Trevor went out of his way to cater for our particular needs from the historical to the practical.Strong sensual landscapes with additional snow made our stay doubly memorable."

    Robert Brooks,South Africa
  • "Fantastic"

    24 January 2008

    " Our stay at Erin was really fantastic!Trevor and his wife were perfect hosts.The cottage was clean, and more than ample.The scenery is breathtaking.Their food was great.They have a very festive pub.I can only say good things about the place - and really inexpensive!We would stay there again without thinking twice."

    Cheryl Burns,South Africa
  • "FANTASTIC experience"

    10 January 2008

    "Hospitality and food was great, the room was very comfy... very nicely done! It felt as if we were extending our holiday rather than breaking our trip home... a FANTASTIC experience... one we will definitely want to experience again! :)"

    Leanne Mackenzie,South Africa
  • "Beautiful surroundings,"

    09 January 2008

    " Neat and very good value for money"

    Neil Pretorius,South Africa
  • "Affordable and friendly"

    30 December 2007

    "We overnighted at Erin and really enjoyed the hospitality offered. I real-feel farm atmosphere. The accommodation while simple was quite adequate for our needs and I would recommend the facility to anyone looking for an affordable, friendly overnight stay. Thank you Kathy and Trevor!"

    Sue Kemp,South Africa
  • "Great value for money "

    02 October 2007

    "Enjoyed the "personal" touch."

    Jan Roodt,South Africa
  • "Enjoyed it very much"

    08 May 2007

    "We enjoyed it very much! It was extremely cold and something we are completely not used to, but the welcome and dinner was warm and breakfast great.The overnight facilities are very good - everything was very clean and neat and we will definitely make use of their services again in the future ."

    Ilse van Nieuwenhuizen,South Africa
  • "Erin Review"

    03 May 2007

    "Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay @ Erin.Nice room, comfortable bed, great food (dinner and breakfast),friendly hosts and all in a setting that lives up to it's name of sunsets, stars and silence; what more could one want.Overall, excellent value for money.Would definitely visit again."

    Robbie Clegg,South Africa
  • "Baie lekker."

    23 April 2007

    "Die verblyf by Erin was uit die boonste rakke. Toe ons nog op pad was, het Trevor al gebel om te hoor wanneer ons daar sal wees. Toe ons daar arriveer het Trevor ons vriendelik ontvang en ons ingelig van alles wat ons moet weet. Die aand het ons n lekker aandete gehad, wat ons nie sommer sal vergeet nie. Die nag het ons baie lekker geslaap. Die ontbyt die volgende oggend was net so lekker.Na ontbyt het ons gery, en Trevor het ons by die kar afgesien. My komplimente aan Trevor vir sy sy gasvryheid en vriendelikheid. Sal as die geleendheid hom voordoen, weer daar wil gaan kuier, maar dan moet dit vir langer wees. Hou so aan Trevor."

    Japie Prinsloo,South Africa
  • "Wonderful experience!"

    23 April 2007

    "What a wonderful experience. We arrived very late and they were very accommodating. This is true Karoo hospitality at it's best."

    Morné Pretorius,South Africa
  • "Good"

    12 April 2007

    "Our stay at Erin Country house was comfortable and enjoyable - thank you for your interest."

    Ryk Bentz,South Africa
  • "Satisfied"

    03 April 2007

    "We really enjoyed our overnight stay. Should have stayed longer."

    Arthur Halse,South Africa
  • "Wonderful"

    02 April 2007

    "Thanks so much - it was just lovely!Good food and wonderful accommodation!Will definitely stay there again."

    Margaret Kirk,South Africa
  • "Farm Cottage Stay"

    30 March 2007

    "The cottage was fully equipped and the bed was comfortable.It was clean and functional, without any frills."

    Helen Maree,South Africa
  • "Good"

    08 January 2007

    "The main guest cottage where my family stayed was wonderful.My friends stayed in one of the open-plan farm cottages which was very nice but not quite as good.The hosts were extremely hospitable and the food outstanding.We would definitely go back."

    Anonymous,South Africa
  • "Great atmosphere"

    05 January 2007

    "This Guest house has all that is needed for a very special experience. Enjoying the Karoo at its best. With a special dinner prepared by Trevor and the very welcoming hospitality including good drinks. "

    Guus van der Veek,Netherlands
  • "Enjoyable"

    05 January 2007

    "The stay was very enjoyable.The owners tried their best to make us feel welcome.Thank you."

    Maryke van der Westhuizen,South Africa
  • "Enjoyable"

    05 January 2007

    "The stay was very enjoyable. The owners tried their best to make us feel welcome. Thank you."

    Maryke van der Westhuizen, South Africa
  • "Overnight at Erin Country Retreat"

    30 December 2006

    "This stay was enjoyable, nice and quiet. We will highly recommend this GH. VERY friendly host and hostess. They made us feel so at home. We had a excellent dinner and breakfast."

    Elmaré Kükkük,South Africa
  • "Overnight at Erin Country Retreat"

    30 December 2006

    "This stay was enjoyable, nice and quiet. We will highly recommend this GH. VERY friendly host and hostess. They made us feel so at home. We had a excellent dinner and breakfast."

    Elmar Kkkk, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!