Elephant Rock Safari Lodge

Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge is situated the big 5, malaria free, Nambiti Private Game Reserve near Ladysmith, KwaZulu Natal. Superbly sited overlooking a waterhole, Elephant Rock is a charming boutique safari lodge offering luxury accommodation for up to 10 people. Experience a home-away-from-home true bush lodge experience for the entire family including extraordinary game viewing, on game drives; exquisite cuisine; and high standards of service - all at exceptional value for money.

Elephant Rock Lodge boasts five luxurious two-sleeper chalets, including one family unit, each well-spaced for total privacy, with wonderful panoramic views of the waterhole and conservancy beyond. The chalets all have en-suite bathrooms with wonderful oval baths and picture windows. Each has a private veranda with two large swing chairs and great views of the waterhole or the indigenous bushveld.

Large indoor bar facility, indoor dining area, lounges with freestanding fireplace, and rock pool. Guests can enjoy the magnificent viewing deck; relax whilst viewing the many species of game and birdlife or just cool off in the pool. Delicious meals are prepared by the in-house chef and can be enjoyed in the open boma, under the stars on the viewing deck, or in the comfort of the main lodge.

The Lodge offers two game drives per day, accompanied by a trained game ranger. The lodge enjoys exclusive traversing over 10,000ha of the finest game viewing terrain in KwaZulu Natal.

The Nambiti Conservancy is situated 25 km's east of Ladysmith.It is a private Big Five bush retreat and game conservancy set on 20,000acres of malaria-free bushveld in KwaZulu Natal. It has an incredible biodiversity including savannah, grasslands, thornveld and tall acacia trees. The Sundays River flows through the reserve and has two 40-metre waterfalls with magnificent ravine bush, home to several rare bird species.

The Nambiti Conservancy has three times the carrying capacity of regions like Botswana and is the only reserve in the region with the big five. We currently have over thirty other species of game including giraffe, hippo, hyena, impala, springbok, and zebra.

Encounter one of these magnificent animals only Three and a half hours from Johannesburg and two and a half hours from Durban. The spirit of Africa will fill your soul and the experience will stay with you forever. The roar of lions and the ambience of a traditional boma will make you want to return, year after year.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "OPINION about Elephant Rock"

    11 November 2018

    "Very beautiful place, confortable , with kindly staff, a wonderful water point in the lodge where animals come to frolic.."

    Pascal Houdard
  • "Game drives"

    24 April 2018

    "Cant think of anything"

    Alyson Jones
  • "It was excellent"

    15 February 2018

    "As above--no need to write more"

    Felicity McKenzie
  • "Most enjoyable experience"

    29 March 2010

    "Our ranger Brad was very informative and great company. I will recommend Elephant Rock to any of my friends who are going to visit South Africa"

    Anonymous,---Not Specified---
  • "Most enjoyable experience"

    29 March 2010

    "Our ranger Brad was very informative and great company. I will recommend Elephant Rock to any of my friends who are going to visit South Africa"

    Anonymous, ---Not Specified---
  • "Very professional.!!!! "

    07 April 2009

    "Lots off love spend on details to make our stay pleasant. We relaxed and truly enjoyed our stay. Staff is outstanding!!!!!!"

    Ulrich Hermann Schuermann,South Africa
  • "Very professional.!!!!"

    07 April 2009

    "Lots off love spend on details to make our stay pleasant. We relaxed and truly enjoyed our stay. Staff is outstanding!!!!!!"

    Ulrich Hermann Schuermann, South Africa
  • "It is definitely worth the money!!!"

    26 September 2008

    "One of the most relaxing places we've ever been to.The staff were very friendly and the food were delicious.The game ranger Steve were very knowledgeable about the bush, he was very friendly and we had a lot of fun with him.The rooms are beautiful and spacious, and they have a lovely wooden deck from were we viewed a lot of game.We really enjoyed our stay and we would recommend it to anyone."

    Lourens Van Staden,South Africa
  • "Absolutely Awesome!"

    22 September 2008

    "My husband and I had the most incredible time at Elephant Rock! It was like a little home away from home but with the big five!! Our game ranger, Steven, was fantastic and informative and managed to see a lot of incredible game including the elusive Cheetah!! The wonderful swinging chairson the patio overlooking the water hole was pure bliss and the sound of the bush was conducive to total relaxation!~thanks to all the staff at Elephant Rock, you made our holiday memorable!!Gary and Cindy Cameron-Cherry"

    Cindy Cameron,South Africa
  • "Fantastic,"

    24 July 2008

    " Keep up the fantastic work you do - thank you very much"

    Audette Smith,South Africa
  • "Fantastic"

    22 April 2008

    "My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed Elephant Rock Safari. We have been to larger, more posh game reserves, but we enjoyed the more relaxed luxury this place gave us. The food was fantastic, the ranger was knowledgeable and fun, and the service impressive. We left with a new appreciation of South African wildlife and will definitely keep this place on our list to return to in the future! "

    Anonymous,South Africa
  • "Excellent"

    29 February 2008

    "We really enjoyed our stay, our ranger Colin was very informative andvery patient, I would not hesitate in recommending Elephant Rock."

    Linda Whitehouse,United Kingdom
  • "Very good"

    09 January 2008

    "Beautiful place with friendly personnel"

    marcia van der merwe,South Africa
  • "Fantastic Setting"

    14 December 2007

    "Fantastic setting, we enjoyed the tranquility of the environment.Unhurried game drives was great, with good driving and knowledge by the rangers"

    jacques simenhoff,South Africa
  • "Exceeded our expectations! "

    28 November 2007

    "The lodge really exceeded our expectations! It was all we'd ever dreamed of in terms of a safari lodge. Enthusiastic guide, lovely game drives (we got up close with the lions) and a nice intimate lodge where we got to know the other guests and formed some great friendships."

    Patrick Hull,South Africa
  • "Fantastic"

    23 November 2007

    "We were travelling with our friends and it was there first visitto S/Africa.We decided to spend their last two nights at ElephantRock before they went back to the U.K. We could not have picked abetter send off.The lodge, the animals, the staff and the views were fantastic.They were still talking about Elephant Rock as they boarded the plane."

    michael corbett,United Kingdom
  • "Fantastic"

    23 November 2007

    "We were travelling with our friends and it was there first visitto S/Africa. We decided to spend their last two nights at ElephantRock before they went back to the U.K. We could not have picked abetter send off. The lodge, the animals, the staff and the views were fantastic. They were still talking about Elephant Rock as they boarded the plane."

    michael corbett, United Kingdom
  • "Absolutely awesome!!! "

    04 October 2007

    "Could not ask for more from this lodge.Simple luxury, great food, great guide, great bungalow with a veranda overlooking a waterhole.Would definitely go back!!!"

    andrew delong,United States of America
  • "Absolutely awesome!!!"

    04 October 2007

    "Could not ask for more from this lodge. Simple luxury, great food, great guide, great bungalow with a veranda overlooking a waterhole. Would definitely go back!!!"

    andrew delong, United States of America
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!