Bethesda Tower

Unique accommodation experienced in an enchanting tower at a vibrant arts centre in the Karoo village of Nieu Bethesda. The Bethesda Arts Centre Tower is located two minutes' walk from the fascinating Owl House, surrounded by stunning mountains, under an amazing array of stars. See the artists at work making huge colourful wall hangings and lino-prints, or catch a performance at the outdoor theatre while enjoying a Karoo-style meal at our great restaurant.

The Tower is a fairytale building three stories high. On the top floor is a huge round bed, covered with a 'love quilt' made at the project. The middle room has twin beds, so Bethesda Tower is ideal for a couple wanting a romantic night, or an adventurous family wanting a completely unique experience. There are wonderful views of the surrounding hills from the Tower balcony, and at night you can sit and sip your wine under the stars in the round stone courtyard, in privacy and complete safety.

Delicious meals are served in the Arts Centre's restaurant-gallery, where you can browse the exquisite bags, cushion covers, wall hangings, and prints made at the centre, or chat to the artists while you wait for a fine meal prepared from local produce in the Tower kitchen.

The Priory is named after the Priory in England where its stunning 1820 stained-glass windows came from. It sleeps a maximum of seven people, with the beds covered in quilts and the walls covered with artwork both made at the centre. A beautiful stone courtyard with its own barbecue area offers privacy in a charming outdoor setting. Here you can gaze at the famous Bethesda night sky while you sip your wine.

Nights spent in the centre's friendly and quirky accommodation will not only give you the chance to meet the local artists, but to know that you are supporting a worthwhile project that is changing people's lives.

booking enquiry no obligation!    OR    book now!

Reviews

  • "The nice warm room."

    05 October 2018

    "Wonderfully place. Friendly help full staff"

    Jan McLachlan47
  • "Breakfast"

    16 September 2018

    "We had a lovely stay at Bethesda Tower. Great breakfast and great value for money!"

    Petra Barry
  • "Unique Accomodation."

    10 September 2018

    "Beautiful place in a stunningly beautiful town. Stayed over for one night in the top room. The delicious lamb for supper and the breakfast alone will make you come back. The staff (and inhabitants) are very friendly and helpful. But beware, one night is not enough to take in all that the town has to offer."

    Gino Primavesi
  • "The kids loved pretending they were princes and knights!"

    12 July 2018

    "Mom and Dad slept upstairs and three boys slept downstairs. We were extremely comfortable, and the room was warmed up for us when we arrived. Probably the warmest place we've slept in winter! The breakfast was extraordinarily good!"

    Eileen Mackey Downing
  • "Location"

    05 April 2018

    "The warm and friendly welcome we received was very nice. All our request were met. We are coming again for Christmas in July. Just need a place with en suite."

    Elmari Jansen Van Vuuren
  • "Fun stay"

    02 January 2018

    "We arrived unexpectedly late (had a breakdown) the staff were extremely accommodating and firendly"

    Heidi Reynolds
  • "A Village time forgot"

    31 December 2017

    "The accommodation was clean and sufficiently furnished. We did not like having to share a bathroom with our downstairs neighbours.We felt that the place had great potential but the staff needed guidance.The best meal of our trip was served there. Karoo lamb par excellence."

    Maria Carreira
  • "The host, the tower and the cat."

    25 December 2017

    "Great place to stay and visit."

    Audrey anderson
  • "Tower cafe"

    21 December 2017

    "Enjoyed our stay, staff was very friendly and helpful. Unique experience and well worth exploring."

    Michael Viljoen
  • "Bethesda Tower"

    29 October 2017

    "Unique room setup and great view of the village - exciting ambience"

    Johan Retief
  • "Hospitality"

    01 August 2017

    "Friendly and competent staff. Good food. Cleaniness"

    Althea Jesersky
  • "Charm of the Karoo"

    16 June 2017

    "I always come back to the Tower, whenever I visit Bethesda. Enough said! Comfortable accomodation(charming as hell!), and an unbeatable breakfast. Bathroom is not en suite, but I don't find that a dealbreaker"

    Mauritz Burger
  • "Walking to brewery and around town"

    02 June 2017

    "The breakfast was good. The people of the project was very noisy in the morning, and the outside toilet and shower, with no privacy in the morning going down the stairs to wash, no longer light outside the stairs to go to the toilet at night. . No mirror in the room. The quest on the top floor was also noisy very very early in the morning. The baked bread with butter would tast much better then margarine."

    Sharon Bloem
  • "Impressed"

    20 April 2017

    "Something different and surpassed our expectations. Friendly staff and overall a pleasant relaxing stay."

    Chienne Wolmarans
  • "Cute little tower."

    03 April 2017

    "loved the round bed."

    Morne Terblanche
  • "Just what I needed"

    17 March 2017

    "Our one night stay at the Bethesda Tower was met with a friendly welcome. There was no hastle to look for a receptionist or keys eventhough we arrived after hours. The accommodation was simple and clean: just what we needed for a sleep over to shorten the drive."

    Zandre Botha
  • "Owl house"

    02 March 2017

    "I loved the location but I found going outside to the bathroom in the middle of the night a little awkward. Also, not very attentive staff, especially when we tried to check out.. So much potential though."

    Melandi Werner
  • "Price"

    02 March 2017

    "Self catering facilities was disappointing"

    Bennie Buys Buys
  • "A must!!"

    05 January 2017

    "The reviews thus far have not done this place justice!!! What an amazing experience and stay. Arty, rustic, charming, welcoming. Restaurant has the best menu from the three restaurants, however still new, has no liquor license yet, will have it soon though. Best stopover on our way back home from Cape Town. This place fits the Nieu Bethesda charm. Slept in priori rooms, had to share a bathroom, and this did not detract from the experience. Huge breakfast, best value for money!! We will be back. The tower is my new favourite place. Thanx to The Tower staff!!!"

    Nicolette Visagie, South Africa
  • "Hospitality"

    03 January 2017

    "Friendly staff, Clean rooms. Good food."

    Althea Jesersky, South Africa
  • "Wonderful experience"

    05 October 2016

    "The rooms were very neat and clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to assist us. Thanks so much! we had a fun stay."

    irene Lotter, South Africa
  • "September 2016"

    03 October 2016

    "Had a wonderful stay. Clean accommodation and an interesting stop-over."

    David Bryant, South Africa
  • "Awesome place away from the hustle of life"

    30 September 2016

    "The place is really awesome and very special. Also the food was very nice. I would recommend it to a 100 %."

    Carina Strohmeier, South Africa
  • "Friendly and tranquil"

    10 August 2016

    "Friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable room nice and warm in the winter."

    Althea Jesersky, South Africa
  • "Our holiday stay"

    25 July 2016

    "Loved the Tower<div>It was cosy and nice and warm</div><div>Really good value for money</div><div>Staff were very lovely</div><div>Bathroom is outside only downside</div><div>Rooms are not huge but clean and tidy</div>"

    Vanessa Olver, South Africa
  • "Comfortable beds"

    06 July 2016

    "We stayed over for one very cold night and we had a very comfortable sleep.<div><br /></div><div>You have to go outside and walk down the external staircase to get to the bathroom which is not ideal.</div><div><br /></div><div>There are no facilities to make coffee in the rooms which I really missed.</div><div><br /></div><div>The staff were very friendly, I had to ask for some blankets since there was a very thin duvet only and the electric blanket was not working. A heater kept the room warm though.</div><div><br /></div><div>Everything was clean and neat and we had a good breakfast the next morning made at 7:30 for us.</div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div>"

    Mariette van Wyk, South Africa
  • "Unusual accommodation"

    27 March 2016

    "If you are looking for an unusual overnight stay, then this is it. Family fun sleeping in a tower - but beware of the stairs to the bathroom at the bottom if the tower. Comfortable, warm accommodation in the quaint little town of Nieu Bethesdaa. A memorable night followed by a hearty breakfast, well worth a visit."

    Eleanor Knoesen, South Africa
  • "Novel accomodation"

    23 March 2016

    "Spotlessly clean room and shower/toilet. Very welcoming and friendly staff. Can be noisy with guests upstairs (we were in the middle room and the floors are wooden). Restaurant breakfast and dinner also good.<div>Would stay again and can recommend it.</div>"

    Staci Katsivalis, South Africa
  • "Friendly"

    03 March 2016

    "Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Clean Bathrooms. Great food. Will definitely recommend for accommodation and food. I loved every moment there."

    Althea Jesersky, South Africa
  • "fond memories"

    29 December 2015

    "Bethesda Tower is quirky - it is basic - downstairs loo but very clean and left us with very special memories. Food was very good and the staff wonderful. If you want to experience something different in this very quirky town then Bethesda Tower is the place to do it."

    Pauline Gibbons, South Africa
  • "Amazing find!"

    21 December 2015

    "A really lovely little gem of a find in Nieu Bethesda! The staff were really friendly, accommodating with everything and helpful.<br />The middle tower room was simple but clean and refreshing. It was also wonderfully cool considering the burning summer heat outside.<br />Would definitely recommend a stay... I will return!<br />"

    Vicky Riley, South Africa
  • "Bethesda Tower stay"

    03 August 2015

    "Wow! Amazing. The staff is very generous, friendly, and always willing to help. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Nieu Bethesda is a "must" for anyone who loves "the beautiful small town" experience. <br />"

    Anneke Moolman, South Africa
  • "Simple, friendly and warm"

    13 July 2015

    "Bethesda Tower offers slightly esoteric accommodation, but it is comfortable and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Our family booked both rooms and we had a lovely night and a tasty breakfast. The restaurant menu also looked great for dinner, although we didn't eat there.<div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The bathrooms are separate, so just make sure you are happy with that.</span></div>"

    Francois Kapp, South Africa
  • "Dave Hodgskiss review"

    21 March 2015

    "<p>We really found the atmosphere of the tower lovely, with all thestaff and artists very friendly and welcoming. Quaint and different. </p><p></p>"

    David Hodgskiss, South Africa
  • "Fabulous experience"

    12 January 2015

    "Thank you for the stay! We can recommend it to anyone. The staff was friendly and the facilities up to expectations."

    Brenda Nel, South Africa
  • "Something unique"

    08 January 2015

    "We chose Bethesda Tower because of the unique atmosphere. We loved the hand made quilts on the beds and the Karoo lamb dinner was delicious. But we arrived at the end of a busy season and the staff was friendly but tired and we had to ask for toilet paper, coffee, desert (which was out of stock) and shared our toilet with the cook. This is not a negative review and the place has great potential if the staff receive more training to handle the hospitality industry. I will certainly go back to Bethesda Tower."

    Yolande Steenkamp, South Africa
  • "advertisement rather misleading"

    14 September 2014

    "Facilities are very basic and the service not up to standard."

    MARIE Nel, South Africa
  • "Awesome!"

    25 June 2014

    "Thank you to Martin and all the ladies for making our stay amazing!"

    Tyrone Tudehope, South Africa
  • "Very nice"

    12 March 2014

    "Very friendly and helpful staff.garden around courtyard can do with some care; it will make a big improvement to the visual impression.we enjoyed the stay and will recommend it to friends"

    dalene booysen, South Africa
  • "A friendly stay"

    21 December 2013

    "My wife and I stayed three nights in "The Priory Top Room". The staff were very nice! The breakfast was good with real coffee. Their dinner is to recommend. A nice backyard to chill out."

    Samuel Kullingsj, South Africa
  • "Marvelous!"

    12 December 2013

    "A marvelous stay! Martin and Rausy were absolutely fantastic with their care and consideration and the food was exquisite."

    John Ambrosio, South Africa
  • "Exactly as expected"

    06 November 2013

    "Great awesome view of this beautiful town. Gerald confirmed everything and we enjoyed our stay very much."

    Leon Theron, South Africa
  • "Interessant en lekker"

    23 September 2013

    "Vriendelike personeel en 'n ongewone gebou - als goed en bekostigbaar."

    Tertius Kapp, South Africa
  • "Lovely"

    06 April 2013

    "Had a lovely time. The food was absolutely wonderful."

    danie steytler, South Africa
  • "Quaint getaway"

    02 April 2013

    "Spent one night stop over in the Tower. Staff were helpful and friendly just a pity it rained the whole time we were there. Room was small but comfortable and ideal for what we were looking for."

    Jonathan Starmer, South Africa
  • "Super cute!"

    12 November 2012

    "Who wouldn't want to stay in a faerie tower! Rates are super cheap I think mainly because the bathroom is not ensuite and 2 rooms share the same downstairs bathroom. So if you want privacy you have to book out the entire tower. Fantastic place to overnight if you want something unusual, the breakfast and dinner was also very good and the staff very friendly. However staying more than 2 nights might become uncomfortable if you're inclined to miss TV and en-suite loo kind of thing."

    Jeanine Jooste, South Africa
  • "Very friendly people."

    21 August 2012

    "Very friendly people. We enjoyed our stay tremendously."

    Johan Scheepers, South Africa
  • "Heaven!"

    18 May 2012

    "Stunning!"

    Johan Botha, South Africa
  • "Magical!"

    30 March 2012

    "Magical place! The staff were very friendly and accommodating, even arriving early to make breakfast for us. The rooms were charming and the food was delicious."

    Kate Hoole, South Africa
  • "Magical!"

    30 March 2012

    "Magical place with very friendly and accommodating staff who served us breakfast early so we could make an early start. The dinner was delicious too."

    Kate Hoole, South Africa
  • "Countryside elegance"

    31 January 2012

    "We stayed over at the Bethesda Tower for a single night and were blasted away by the friendliness, efficiency and cleanliness of the venue. The staff were always willing to assist us and the next morning arranged for a breakfast on the stoep. We chatted with the locals and got a real sense of hospitality. Thanks a lot!"

    Jaco Visser, South Africa
  • "Our stay"

    09 January 2012

    "We so enjoyed our stay at the Tower and the service was really good. Love the idea of the tower as its just something special."

    Allan Forbes, South Africa
  • "Nice"

    28 December 2011

    "The best value for money!"

    elaine badenhorst, South Africa
  • "Great stay"

    06 May 2011

    "My daughter Kate and I really enjoyed our stay at Bethesda Tower. The service was good, the staff very helpful and pleasant. We especially enjoyed the fact that by staying there we were able to help people in some small way. This made our visit to Nieu Bethesda even more valuable. Thank you."

    Moira Simpson, South Africa
  • "Fantastic place to stay!"

    13 February 2011

    "After managing to cross the flooded Gats-river, we had a fantastic couple of days in Nieu Bethesda, staying at the Tower. I am very impressed by the work done by all at the Arts Center, and appreciate the fact that you can read some of the artists' bios and meet them for a chat. The Owl House is fantastic - what an absolute privilege to walk through Helen Martins's world! We also stopped at the brewery for a honey ale and ginger beer. Keep up the wonderful work Nieu Bethesda!"

    Anneke Prins, United Kingdom
  • "Rapunzel, Rapunzel let down your hair!"

    26 December 2010

    "Once in New Bethesda, one is immediately taken to a very unique mood, where adventure, and stories are created. The Bethesda Tower is therefore the best, original address in town. Its unique architecture, the rounded bed upstair, the staff friendliness takes your imagination to another level! Try the Karoo lamb curry in the restaurant, delicious!The restaurant was packed, and yet the food was really delicious and the service friendly!"

    Anonymous,South Africa
  • "Romantic Tower"

    01 December 2010

    "The village of Nieu Bethesda is like walking in the past. Beautiful surroundings and landscape. We were very unlucky about the weather. It rained all day and night. The people of Bethesda where very happy with all that rain. Normally there is no rain for weeks. The tower room is romantic but everything is very small."

    Anthony Elias,Netherlands
  • "Bethesda"

    30 October 2010

    "Unique and interesting. Good food nicely prepared."

    Geoff Norris,South Africa
  • "Absolutely Unique"

    03 October 2010

    "Unusual setup in the Tower, but it absolutely unique. We loved the round bed, because it is so large. View over town is excellent. Food is out of this world if you consider the logistics in getting a variety of food to the town.Service is quick and very friendly. The staff makes you feel really welcome."

    Anonymous,South Africa
  • "The Tower - Nieu Bethesda"

    12 July 2010

    "Johan and I had the most wonderful and memorable weekend.The accommodation and facilities were good and the coffee and breakfast awesome.Rosy and her staff were friendly and helpful - they are good people.We met the most wonderful people and enjoyed everything to see, do, eat and drink in this pretty town.We can recommend the pizzeria for pizza - gourmet standard and Bruno is fascinating.We had lots of fun in the bar with Grace and her friends and family and Oom Willie is the ... more"

    Hanlie Coetzee,South Africa
  • "One of my most memorable stays"

    21 June 2010

    "The snow was a definite bonus regardless of the very, very cold weather!!!!!The Owl house was one of those experiences that really makesyou cry for the beauty in front of you. It is just AWESOME!!!!The people were all so friendly and helpful!!! Bruce in his tavern helped us with firewood, all of them really great people!!!!! I would love to spend some more time there!!!!!!! The Priory room was a real treat, enough heaters and blankets for such unexpected cold!!I can honestly say it was a FAIRYTALE visit!!!!"

    Malie Wagener,South Africa
  • "One of my most memorable stays"

    21 June 2010

    "The snow was a definite bonus regardless of the very, very cold weather!!!!! The Owl house was one of those experiences that really makes you cry for the beauty in front of you. It is just AWESOME!!!!The people were all so friendly and helpful!!! Bruce in his tavern helped us with firewood, all of them really great people!!!!! I would love to spend some more time there!!!!!!! The Priory room was a real treat, enough heaters and blankets for such unexpected cold!! I can honestly say it was a FAIRYTALE visit!!!!"

    Malie Wagener, South Africa
  • "Charming"

    06 December 2009

    "We loved our stay at the Bethesda Towers and had a very good meal at the restaurant. The Towers are very centrally located and everything (including the Owl house) is a few minutes' walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful."

    Anonymous, South Africa
  • "Charming"

    06 December 2009

    "We loved our stay at the Bethesda Towers and had a very good meal at the restaurant. The Towers are very centrally located and everything (including the Owl house) is a few minutes' walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful."

    Anonymous,South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!