141 High Street

141 High Street welcomes you to the charming character of the original reverend parsonage built in 1881 in Oudtshoorn. The interior takes you back to the days of the ostrich boom, and here one will enjoy the yellowwood floors, sash windows and four marble fireplaces.

One can have a continental breakfast where the well-known Reverend George Murray and his family of 16 children were seated around the old big yellowwood table 100 years ago. The guest house offers five en-suite bedrooms and outside selfcatering cottage, each well equipped and originally furnished with wooden features and posted beds.

141 High Street, lying amidst its large lawns and shady trees, is located in the middle of the historical centre of Oudtshoorn. Experience a historical tour to the Old Dutch Reformed Church found just across the street at no additional cost.

Here once can spend cold evenings around one of our four fireplaces or on top of an electric blanket in winter. Summer time is best spent out in the beautiful rose garden or on the cool balcony enjoying the peaceful ambiance of the area.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "The decor and surrounds"

    11 March 2018

    "My Austrian Clients were amazed about the lovely atmosphere and the excellent service we received"

    Bernd Schoknecht
  • "majestic"

    23 October 2017

    "the house was stunning, clean and had all the amenities for a pleasant stay , lovely breakfasts in a historic dining hall , thanks ilse and staff"

    Craig Thorne
  • "Friendly hosts"

    01 August 2017

    "Nice old house, but the bed's mattress needs to be replaced as so old that it sags visibly before you even sit on it and I spent the whole night rolling into the middle and being squashed by my husband. Leak around the loo so the loo mat was wet in the morning. Didn't like the cheese sausages for breakfast at all - the breakfast is ok - I would describe it as a bare minimum, rather than good as it only had one kind of yoghurt, etc, so not much choice, raw tomato, cheapest bacon, etc. Choice and abundance is what makes an impression and it doesn't cost that much more. Same with loo paper - single ply is just awful and 3 or 4 ply is only a few Rand more but feels so much nicer.<br/><br/>Establishment's response:<br/><br/>Dear Catherine,<br/> <br/>Thank you for your review after you have stayed here at our B+B for 2 nights on 19 + 20 July. I am always SO sorry that people do not ask / tell about a leaking toilet while they are here...so that we can do something about it and secure your happiness while you stay with us. We will look at the mattress and the toilet thank you for mentioning that. I would like to apologise for it. We have had no other complaints about it and will go into the matter as we also think it is very important to have a good night sleep!<br/> <br/>The breakfast is always rated very highly by other guests ; you are really the first person who complains about that. Perhaps you can bear in mind that a continental breakfast is advertised on our website ... and then you got much more than cereal and toast for example a freshly made fruit salad and a hot bread which I baked that morning specially for your family.<br/> <br/>The last problem was the 2-ply toilet paper [with nice pictures on] which we use. We do not get 4-ply toilet paper in South Africa as far as I know. I have never even heard of it but will ask around town so that I can do better on this. Sorry - all other guesthouses I know about, use 2-ply. The 2-ply is the best / thickest we get in Oudtshoorn.<br/> <br/>Your family was such a pleasure to accommodate. Good luck with your medical studies.<br/>Regards,<br/>Ilsa<br/><br/>"

    Catherine Vaughan
  • "Antique house and friendliest host"

    29 June 2017

    "Loved the house and the fact that it was so well preserved, really felt a part of history. The attention to detail was great - electric blankets and croissants with breakfast as well as bread. A really special place with outstanding hospitality. An absolute must visit!"

    Alain de Jager
  • "Old days"

    23 March 2017

    "What a charm this place has! From the first glimpse to the breakfast in a beautiful dining room the next morning. One feels like shifted to the last century but with all the advantages of the current one. We stayed in the main bedroom upstairs which has its own huge bathroom and a direct access to the front balcony. We entirely enjoyed our stay. Close to historical buildings as well as restaurants."

    Renata Hajkova
  • "Vriendelikheid en behulpsaam"

    04 March 2017

    "Dit was skoon en netjies.Naby als.Ontbyt was goed.Veral die tuisgemaakte brood.Baie gasvry en behulpsaam."

    Danie Senekal
  • "Nostalgy stay"

    23 November 2016

    "A beautiful stay in a building from the golden age of the Ostrich boom with unique architecture. Our expectations have been met without restriction. The breakfast could be a little more generous. The hosts are nice and effective. <br/>We would return at any time."

    Herbert Gruener, Germany
  • "Wonderlike ervaring"

    06 November 2013

    "Ongelukkig kon ek net een aand hier oorbly. Die pastorie het n wonderlike geskiedenis en die gasheer en vrou deel dit graag met besoekers wat belangstel. Hulle is vriendelik en gasvry en doen moeite om n mens se verblyf so aangenaam moontlik te maak. Die huis is pragtig en die kamers goed toegerus. Dis ook ook binne stapafstand van die meeste van Oudtshoorn se geskiedkundige geboue en moderne geriewe gele. Die ontbyt was heerlik! Ek kan De Oude Pastorie met vrymoedigheid aanbeveel."

    Morne van Rooyen, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!