Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm

The Klein Karoo is described as a botanical hotspot. It is the only place in the world where fynbos overlaps thicket and succulent vegetation, and the Swartberg Mountains are listed as part of the Cape Floral Kingdom World Heritage Site. Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm is situated in the centre of this wonderful part of the world. If you are looking for an oasis to get away from it all, Chandelier is the place to be.

The Tented Chalets offer a unique bush experience where the quality is in the detail. They are perched on wooden decks in the bush and great care has been taken to ensure privacy and unique views. Each en-suite unit has a private observation deck from where guests can see various game species on their way to the waterhole. The lodge sleeps 16 people in eight private chalets equipped with white linen and velvet, as well as corner or spa baths and air-conditioners or fans. The stylish dcor creates superb luxury under the canopy of the acacia trees. The showers, with only the stars as roofs, are something to experience. Guests are woken every morning with the beauty of birdsong.

Children are welcome and up to two small kids may share with their parents. Chandelier Game Ranch is an ideal venue to see the rare Klein Karoo succulents by day. The real treat comes after a leisurely field drive when the high lapa is reached. There the world lies at your feet and you can savour the sweeping vistas to the Swartberg Mountains. For the privileged visitor, the deep red setting sun seems to be the pinnacle of a day of peace and beauty. When darkness descends fully and one welcomes the quietness of the Karoo night, you experience something close to perfection with stars so numerous and so bright that you can almost touch them.

The Ferreira family has created something special in a malaria free environment for those who yearn to spend some quality time close to nature. Chandelier consists of 3500 hectares of succulent Karoo, river bushveld and Cape fynbos. The 122 km of off-road tracks make game viewing safaris an unforgettable experience, creating timeless memories. Chandelier hosts 23 antelope species and large numbers of game such as sable antelope, lechwe, waterbuck, bontebok and kudu are free-roaming. See the giraffes from the comfort of the Landrovers or come really close to the animals on either the quad bikes or on foot. If you are lucky, you may see the elusive black backed jackal or even catch a glimpse of the rare indigenous leopard.

Guests are offered first-hand experience on the world biggest bird sanctuary. Well trained, multi-languid guides take you on a tour through the working ostrich farm which dates back to 1885. Riding the ostrich is permitted for the brave, while affordable ostrich by-products manufactured on Chandelier are for sale in the curio shop. Delicious ostrich dishes are on offer at the restaurant which overlooks a waterhole where the animals come to quench their thirst.

booking enquiry no obligation!    OR    book now!

Reviews

  • "Heerlike bederf"

    13 December 2017

    "Ons het heeerlik gebly die 2 nagte. Die tent was skoon, die personeel baie vriendelik en behulpsaam, die etes onverbeterlik. Baie wild gesien op die wildsrit. Johannes, jy is absoluut 'n ster!!"

    Gerrida S
  • "Charming family run experience"

    26 July 2017

    "We loved the friendly staff always willing to assist and the beauty of the setting and tents. The giraffes were an unexpected delight."

    Melanie Clews
  • "Dream house"

    24 March 2014

    "We arrived after 18h:00. The place looked stunning and had every appliance you could wish for, but we didn't think it was 4 star worthy... It was the little things that would've made all the difference: That all the lights worked, that satellite TV was connected, candles in the candle holder, wood for the fireplace and a jacuzzi that was the right temperature (not 60 degrees C!!!)It felt like they were not prepared for us, although the bedding and towels were clean. We mentioned that we had to children under 3 and there was a powder placed in the corner to kill mice or something. Not staying there again..."

    marian van zyl, South Africa
  • "Fantastic accomodation"

    12 January 2014

    "Accomodation was outstanding. Pity this was let down by poor service on a very expensive night drive and braai, and very slow breakfast service. This could be easily sorted by a little training."

    Vaughan Moss, New Zealand
  • "Serenity, peace and bliss"

    29 December 2013

    "Really great, enjoyed the absolute peace and quiet. Would like to have stayed for a week vs only an overnight stay.We stayed @ the Jacaranda lodge, which had its own swimming pool (great for little ones) and was completely private. Loved the outdoor showers."

    fazlyn abrahams, South Africa
  • "unimpressed"

    14 January 2013

    "sadly this venue needs to loose most of its 4 star status. we stayed here for one night over dec 2102 thank goodness. we booked the honey moon suite and another 4 star tent, we had no hot water and when at 8 pm tried to get hold of someone from the hotel - no one was around, even the cell number left pinned to the door for emeergencies was off. (this the manager confronted the desk clerk and found to be correct) for a 4 star establishment i really do not think that this is adequate. after an 8 hour trip to this hotel this was all we needed. we had supper here and the rump steak was so tough we could not eat it, unfortunately the next day we all had diarrhea and tummy cramps, from off food. which as one can imagine on a road trip to P.E was very difficult. the honey moon suite which one pays more for is no different to the other suite we had also booked except for a grass heart shape ornament hanging from the roof. it is also situated near the water pump so if you what peace and quiet don't book this suite we decided to leave early the next morning and went to the manager and stated our unhappiness. he was very aggressive and eventually stated that yes the water pump was broken and the hot water was not as readily available, at which point he still demanded full payment, of which we finally settled at half and left without eating the breakfast which was meant to be included, thank goodness as our stomachs probably could not have handled another dose of off food. will never return here."

    janet homan, South Africa
  • "Recommended"

    09 January 2012

    "We had a wonderful stay, and loved the outdoor shower and bubble bath in honeymoon tent. It was very relaxing. The only disappointment was that we did not see enough animals on safari."

    Julie Fulop, South Africa
  • "Quite an original place"

    08 January 2012

    "A place to be if you wish to forget noisy and busy places. The tents are quite original and well furnished, and everything is arranged for a pleasant stay. Experiencing one of their sundowner bush dinners was quite interesting and informative!"

    Philippe Allemann, Reunion
  • "Enjoyable"

    05 May 2011

    "Really enjoyed our stay. Well looked after. Lovely people."

    Tim Barker, United Kingdom
  • "Thoroughly enjoyable"

    15 January 2008

    "We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay.A great fun place to stay with young children.What was particularly helpful was the flexibility to arrange activities when it suited us.Would highly recommend!"

    Nathan Davies,United Kingdom
  • "Thoroughly enjoyable"

    15 January 2008

    "We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. A great fun place to stay with young children. What was particularly helpful was the flexibility to arrange activities when it suited us. Would highly recommend!"

    Nathan Davies, United Kingdom
  • "Awesome"

    20 December 2007

    "Awesome setting and accommodation.Disappointing that we couldn't go on the sundowner gamedrive or make use of the restaurant as there was a conference going on.Would have been good to have been told about this before our arrival, as we then could have made alternate arrangements."

    Anonymous,South Africa
  • "Family fun"

    28 May 2007

    "Loved the tented accommodation, comfy beds, but a couple more lamps might help at night,when trying to find things in your bags. The quad-bike safari was just awesome,nobody should leave without doing it. It was sad to leave quagga and the springbok when we left. Our daughter bonded with Shakira the dog too. The breakfast was delicious. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. All in all, we had a great stay and look forward to returning one day."

    Steven London,South Africa
  • "Absolutely Brilliant!"

    13 April 2007

    "A perfect place to get away from the rush and reality of everyday life. It has the most amazing star gazing, animal life, atmosphere and then, of course, the silence. A silence where all to be heard are the night birds, crickets and the sound of the light breeze outside.I highly recommend staying in one of the chalet tents as they are perfect in everyway possible. Luxurious whilst still being within nature. As well as the sundowner dinner and game drive, and the quadbiking, are all events to remember!Thank you so much Chandelier for rejuvinating my soul! I once again have the courage to face reality with a smile."

    Kareliesa Reid,South Africa
  • "Absolutely Brilliant!"

    13 April 2007

    "A perfect place to get away from the rush and reality of everyday life. It has the most amazing star gazing, animal life, atmosphere and then, of course, the silence. A silence where all to be heard are the night birds, crickets and the sound of the light breeze outside.I highly recommend staying in one of the chalet tents as they are perfect in everyway possible. Luxurious whilst still being within nature. As well as the sundowner dinner and game drive, and the quadbiking, are all events to remember!Thank you so much Chandelier for rejuvinating my soul! I once again have the courage to face reality with a smile."

    Kareliesa Reid, South Africa
  • "A real gem in the Klein Karoo"

    13 March 2007

    "My friend and I stayed in this beautiful tent with the ultimate personal treatment we got from everyone especially from our very nice guide Gerry.I will recommend all my holiday guests to go for a overnightstay, gamedrive and ostrich tour."

    Henriette van Houtum,South Africa
  • "A real gem in the Klein Karoo"

    13 March 2007

    "My friend and I stayed in this beautiful tent with the ultimate personal treatment we got from everyone especially from our very nice guide Gerry.I will recommend all my holiday guests to go for a overnightstay, gamedrive and ostrich tour."

    Henriette van Houtum, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!