Dorpsplaas Cottage

Restore your soul in this quaint and comfortable Karoo cottage set amidst the peace and quiet of a boutique olive farm, within walking distance of the centre of Prince Albert. Dorpsplaas Cottage offers privacy, tranquility and the space to relax and enjoy the surrounds.

This 3 Star accredited self-catering cottage features an en-suite bedroom with double bed, luxurious cotton bed linen and a ceiling fan. A goose down duvet, electric blanket and mohair throw add to your comfort in winter. A door leads from the bedroom to the bathroom with a spacious old-fashioned shower, underfloor heating, fluffy towels, basin and toilet. All linen, including swimming towels, are provided.

Dorpsplaas Cottage offers a fully-equipped kitchen including a fridge, two-plate hob, mini oven, and microwave oven. We also provide a healthy breakfast starter pack comprising home-baked rusks and muesli, milk, yoghurt, and seasonal fruit. The cottages spacious living and dining rooms offer all you need for a comfortable, relaxing stay including bookshelves filled with a variety of books, a cosy fireplace, and satellite TV.

Enjoy a dip in our swimming pool at the end of warm Karoo day, go bird watching at the dam, or relax at sunset with a glass of wine from one of Prince Alberts two wine estates. Barbecue on the kettle braai all year round we provide the charcoal and firelighters or indulge in a gentle a game of croquet on the lawn in front of the cottage. We are also ideally located for walking and cycling in and around Prince Albert.

Secure off-road parking is provided and a cleaning and laundry service are available upon request. We are a non-smoking establishment and home to friendly, free-range chickens, cats and dogs.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "very comfortable accommodation"

    06 August 2018

    "Thoughtfully put together, spacious, quality interior, private, good value for money, very accessible without being subjected to village noise."

    Regina Sauer
  • "Great location on the border of town"

    17 April 2017

    "Great accomodation in town, with a bonus of feeling like you are out on a farm with its peaceful and spacious setting. The hosts, the Jaquets, are lovely people and spoils one with fresh dairy products, meusli and rusks. Thank you very much for the lovely two nights we could enjoy on your property."

    Lene van der Linde
  • "Dorpspaas Cottage"

    19 February 2017

    "First class in every respect. Can highly recommend the cottage and will use it again."

    Alan Stanton, South Africa
  • "Dorpsplaas cottage Prins Albert"

    09 January 2015

    "Just fabulous, peaceful and a beautiful place to end our holiday, 2 days far too short.Thanks Linda for the fresh milk, delicious muesli and rusks (on the house). We highly recommend this gem and will definitely go back.Ester and Willem Van RensburgBergbron"

    Ester Van Rensburg, South Africa
  • "Great stay!"

    24 December 2014

    "What a lovely place to stay in Prince Albert. Clean, neat and ample space! Friendly welcome and close to main street. We had coffee outside under the Karoo stars and enjoyed the local milk and yogurt provided. Thank you Linda!"

    Estel Terblanche, South Africa
  • "Oasis in the Karoo"

    09 December 2014

    "I would highly recommend Dorpsplaas. It caters for all ones needs and is an attractive spacious and comfortable oasis in a hot Karoo.Set in a cool and tranquil garden/boutique olive farm at the edge of town, it is beautifully maintained and offers the use of a swimming pool.A short walk takes you into the town of Prince Albert with all its attractions and restaurants.We rated this the best accommodation of our 5 day trip."

    Cheryl Marais, South Africa
  • "A real gem!"

    22 June 2014

    "Ideally located at the end of town one gets the feeling of being in the country but at the same time one is only 500m from the main road and all that Prince Albert village has to offer. The cottage is secluded with access to the main garden. It is very well appointed, all comforts are taken care of, and the table under the tree with a view of the dam is an added bonus. Andre and Linda are genial hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended."

    Gayle Barichievy, South Africa
  • "A little gem"

    06 January 2014

    "A great find in Prince Albert. Accommodation and grounds are beautiful and the hosts very welcoming. Hope to be back soon."

    Carin Runciman, South Africa
  • "Beautiful"

    19 December 2013

    "Beautiful well equipped cottage with all you could want or need for a stay away from home! Lovely friendly and welcoming Owners, quiet and peaceful."

    Tracey Abbott, South Africa
  • "Dorpsplaas Cottage Review- great stay"

    12 March 2013

    "Great.Overall Impression Great Next time we will book for several days, at least. My host and hostess were charming"

    Travy Brick, South Africa
  • "Enjoyed"

    09 February 2012

    "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage. It was clean, well equipped and tastefully furnished. Breakfast could have been a little more than a jar of sweet muesli, I'm a diabetic so it wasn't good. Fruit? The village was a delight with good food and friendly people. The biggest drawback was the lack of access to the Internet. We were advised to use an Internet cafe in the village, not convenient and not open at night."

    Karen Caldwell, South Africa
  • "Lovely"

    07 December 2011

    "'n Lieflike plaas met olyfboorde en 'n fantastiese gasheer en gasvrou. Die heerlikste tuisgemaakte muesli en beskuit in die kombuis. Wonderlike atmosfeer! Sal weer gaan maar vir 'n week daar gaan bly. A lovely farm with olive groves and fantistic hosts. The best homemade muesli and rusks in the kitchen. Wonderful atmosphere! Will go again but stay for a week."

    Lynette Erlank, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!