Saxe-Coburg Lodge

Dick , Regina and Carmen Billiet welcome and cordially invite you to their historic Victorian/Karoo Guesthouse dating back to circa 1853.

We are centrally situated in the historic heart of the delightful village of Prince Albert, Western Cape, South Africa within walking distance to all the restaurants, art galleries, antique shops and places of interest.

Although we are in the centre of town a rural atmosphere persists.
On our south boundary, a vineyard of repute makes a prize winning desert wine "Soet Karoo".
The neighbour to the north has planted an olive grove of 500 trees.

Our accommodation consists of five luxury air-conditioned garden bed rooms with en-suite bathrooms and spectacular views of the Swartberg Mountains.
Guests can relax in 1 acre of park-like garden with swimming pool and stunning views of the nearby Swartberg mountains.
English, Afrikaansm French and German spoken

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Warm personal welcome"

    04 March 2018

    "Dick, Regina and Carmen are warm and hospitable hosts who offer their establishment as a home from home. All amenities are carefully planned and even fresh milk in the fridge is a welcome addition along with decently sized coffee mugs! A delicious breakfast prepared by Dick accompanied by freshly cut fruit salad and yoghurt along with delicious cheeses and jams provided us with an excellent start to the new day. Very comfortable rooms set in a green garden with a round pool is a calm setting in the centre of this lovely town of Prince Albert."

    Jennie Wessels
  • "Lovely B+B"

    24 December 2017

    "Lovely unit with everything you need and top quality furnishing. Gardens are lovely and very relaxing. Restaurants just across the street. Highly recommended"

    Silla Muller
  • "Warm & Friendly"

    04 November 2015

    "We received a warm and friendly welcome at this beautiful B&B in Prince Albert. It was a scorching day and a dip in the lovely pool was an added bonus. Our cottage was spacious and comfortable and furnished with everything we required. Our hosts made our stay a real pleasure."

    Cilla Maud, South Africa
  • "Excellent"

    20 December 2013

    "An excellent destination. Dave and Regina were really great hosts and our stay in the Victoria room was superb. Highly recommended."

    barry werner, South Africa
  • "Delightful Stay"

    18 December 2013

    "A truly peaceful and delightful stay at a well run first class B&B. Would highly recommend and stay again at first opportunity."

    Tom Bell, South Africa
  • "Wonderful stay"

    04 September 2013

    "With Prince Albert being such a beautiful town, what better choice can one make other than by staying at Saxe-Coburg right in the centre of town! A beautiful historical house with beautiful decorated rooms .... definitely recommended!"

    Leoni Kruger, South Africa
  • "Fantastic"

    22 January 2012

    "A fantastic place to stay. We were in the cottage attached to the main house and had it all to ourselves. It is very cosy and comfortable. The hosts are also most friendly and informative."

    Derek Weightman, South Africa
  • "Perfect"

    07 January 2012

    "Perfection, perfection, perfection! Our stay was very enjoyable and the hosts were friendly and accommodated every need."

    engela piek, South Africa
  • "Nice"

    18 March 2011

    "Regina and Dick were very hospitable and went the extra mile when we wanted an extra night. The accommodation was clean, very comfortable and of a high standard. When in the area we will definitely try to stay there again."

    Lorna Richards, South Africa
  • "We had a fantastic stay"

    12 January 2011

    "We stayed in luxurious garden Rooms and enjoyed a really nice breakfast. Regina and Dick were fantastic hosts and we were sorry we had not booked an extra night. Will be back as soon as we can."

    Diane Laenen, South Africa
  • "Great break-away weekend at Saxe Coburg!"

    26 July 2009

    "In a nutshell:Our garden room was luxurious and spacious - down duvet inners and quality bedding was wonderfull.Friendly hosts Dick and Regina just adds that something extra that would make us go back.Breakfast prepared by Dick was the perfect start to our day.Saxe-Coburg is in walking distance of shops and restaurants - what a bonus!The perfect break-away weekend!!We will be back."

    Heidi Muller,South Africa
  • "Fantastic"

    02 December 2008

    "It was one of the best B&B we stayed in."

    Hendrik Moorrees,Netherlands
  • "Would recommend without hesitation"

    11 February 2008

    "Excellent garden room and wonderful hosts made us feel very welcome. Garden pool was just right for cooling off from the hot sun."

    peter munday,United Kingdom
  • "Great breakfasts!"

    11 January 2008

    "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Regina and Dick who were extremely helpful with tips on where to go and what to see.Beautiful location and great breakfasts!"

    Susan Brannstrom,Belgium
  • "Query - op says wrong client"

    28 November 2007

    "Just what we expected, a working ostritch farm. However, the lesson on cooking ostritch steaks was a bonus that we put to good use later in the holiday although sadly we could not match his skill."

    Trevor Walker,Venezuela
  • "Special"

    13 May 2007

    "Saxe Coburg retains that spcial old world of leather bound books, comfortabe wingback chairs, a breakfast on a creeper draped patio with a fresh morning sun dappling through the trees into a clean stone dam fed by 'leiwater' which runsin channels down the streets and into each home's little dam from the majestic Groot Swartberg mountains which express for me the heart and spirit ofSouth Africa. Meiring's Poort nearby allows us to enter a very special place of nature and Saxe Coburn set in a delightful victiorian surround is a special oasis for man. Taste Soet Karoo wine next door to Saxe Coburn with Herman and Suisan Perold and enjoy the special taste of karoo lamb at a restaurant that Annamarie will recommend. Stay more than one night!"

    Clive Loveday,South Africa
  • "Saxe-Coburg in Prince Albert"

    11 March 2007

    "Lovely 2-night stay. Cottage was spacious and neat, garden and pool area a green oasis.Very good breakfast.Will certainly recommend it."

    Mariana Swart,South Africa
  • "Weekend getaway"

    18 April 2006

    "Regina was vey helpful and gave us a lot of information about what to do.Very friendly place"

    Anonymous
  • "Weekend getaway"

    18 April 2006

    "Regina was vey helpful and gave us a lot of information about what to do.Very friendly place"

    Anonymous,South Africa
  • "Review of stay 29 December 2005"

    08 January 2006

    "Our 2 night stay in the 'honeymoon suite' was exceptionally good. The accommodation was of a very high standard with excellent facilities. The hosts were very personable and helpful. We will certainly try to stay again when we are next in South Africa."

    Peter Eley, United Kingdom
  • "Review of stay 29 December 2005"

    08 January 2006

    "Our 2 night stay in the 'honeymoon suite' was exceptionally good.The accommodation was of a very high standard with excellent facilities.The hosts were very personable and helpful.We will certainly try to stay again when we are next in South Africa."

    Peter Eley,United Kingdom
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!