Rondefontein Guest Farm

Rondefontein Guest Farm is a working Merino sheep farm, it has five chalets as well as two-bedroom family chalets. Around the chalets there's a beautiful garden and if you are lucky you'll find a bunny or two hopping around. A swimming pool next to a fully licensed bar and a cozy dinning room with dstv, aircon and a fire place in which you can have a few drinks and a home cooked meal (boerekos) with the tastiest Karroo Lamb and in the morning have a hearty English breakfast before heading out for the day.

On the farm enjoy the beautiful southern Free-state views, take a walk, run, bike ride or do some bird watching. The Free-state sun sets are something to behold as for the nights you've never seen so many stars. For a unique Free-state farm experience join us at Rondefontein Guest Farm.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "The electric blankets on a freezing night"

    14 August 2018

    "The hosts were very friendly and showed us the best place to have an evening walk and see the beautiful hibernating tortoise."

    Sheila Davidson
  • "Best stopover"

    11 August 2018

    "Louis and Nicole are great hosts. The food is fabulous and the accommodation is clean and fresh. Perfect after a long day on the road."

    Monique Venter-Enslin
  • "comfort"

    25 April 2018

    "We needed a one night stop over and this was perfect"

    William Holmes
  • "Delicious dinner!!! Peaceful surroundings"

    03 March 2018

    "Wonderful stay - exceptionally hospitable and friendly hosts - highly recommended!!"

    Sandy James
  • "Overnight stay"

    03 March 2018

    "Friendliness and helpfulness of hosts."

    Jill And Harold Champion
  • "Pleasant stay...."

    19 February 2018

    "Lovely couple running B&B, very friendly and helpful. Room adequate and clean. Dinner and breakfast enjoyable. Overall good experience."

    Richard Ford
  • "Very neat and people friendly."

    02 February 2018

    "A shower will be very nice."

    Coenrad de Jongh
  • "Springfontein Stopover!"

    12 January 2018

    "We love arriving to the Welcome board with our names in it! And the friendliness of the owners was great, not to mention the delicious lamb we had for dinner! We would definitely stay over at Rondefontein again!"

    Glenda Wade
  • "Karoo experience to remember."

    10 January 2018

    "Welcoming, friendly host and hostess, pet-friendly, lots of space to walk the dogs, clean,comfortable rooms, lovely meal. Peace and quiet night with stars galore. Thank you!"

    Charlotte Heymann
  • "Friendly hosts, great pit stop"

    17 December 2017

    "Lovely dinner. Overall, wonderful friendly hosts and perfect location."

    Jenny Steiner
  • "Wonderful, as always!"

    11 December 2017

    "Louis & Nicole were wonderful hosts and the accommodation and traditional fare was exactly what the doctor ordered after a day on the road."

    Scott Barrett
  • "Lovely accommodation"

    16 October 2017

    "Enjoyed the country style cottage and lovely host."

    Elize du Toit
  • "The wonderful warm, sincere welcome and the cosy accommodation"

    31 August 2017

    "We loved the simplicity and the attention to detail and the small but meaningful personal touches"

    andy And Sue Hillman
  • "A warm, friendly welcome"

    03 July 2017

    "From the warm welcome, the superb accommodation, excellent food & general ambiance, we couldn't have chosen better. Louis & Nicole are doing a wonderful job & we can't give any higher recommendation to anyone looking for a place to stay. Can't wait to stopover again."

    Norma Den
  • "Free State Hospitality at it's best"

    04 June 2017

    "Friendly reception and charming hosts. We were welcomed by Louis and his wife who escorted us to our room and show us around. The room was perfect and much attention is given to the small details. We enjoyed our stay and recommend it as perfect stopover when traveling from Cape Town to Gauteng."

    Gerhard Booysen
  • "Dinner was incredible!"

    02 June 2017

    "Great location for a stop over from the coast. Very firendly and welcoming hosts. Will be back."

    Stuart Wilson
  • "A good rest after 1 days driving"

    28 April 2017

    "The guest farm is perfectly situated half way from Oudtshoorn to Pretoria. We had a lovely room with a beautiful view of the garden. As we arrived in the afternoon we managed to get a good walk on the farm. The evening we were chatting with the young couple who owns the place and they had prepared a tasty supper for us. We can recommended this place to other travellers to spend 1 night or 2 in this area."

    Anette Murless
  • "Utterly charming"

    24 April 2017

    "Wonderful hosts, thought of every detail. food was great too!"

    Susan Goldstein
  • "Super warm reception, perfect accommodation, personal touches!"

    18 April 2017

    "Rondefontein is perfectly located, just off the N1. The cottage has everything you need and more (bar fridge and microwave, which I had not expected), even complimentary sherry! The room was lovely and clean, and I even got dinner served in my room, a real treat (and the food was excellent!). This is a lovely stop-over destination and the hosts are friendly, welcoming and ready to cater for your every need."

    Mareli Stolp
  • "Caring hosts"

    18 April 2017

    "Lovely chalet, excellent food. Pet friendly"

    Rika Joubert
  • "The hosts were so attentive & pleasant"

    08 April 2017

    "Everything!! The rooms were well equipped, the dinner was superb & the hosts, Louis & Nicole, were charming!!! Only found out in the morning that the fridge was unplugged!!!"

    John Cairns
  • "The friendliness of the owners."

    25 March 2017

    "Rooms are well equipped but furniture is very old and should be upgraded.Supper was great quality and value."

    Richard Peasey
  • "Friendly owners make such a difference"

    16 March 2017

    "We arrived at Rondefontein at about 7pm. Louis and Nicole both came out to meet us and Louis showed us to our unit. We had ordered a braai pack for dinner which was supplied with wood for the fire and braai salt. My brother and I were staying in a family room. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and there was a big bathroom. We opted for dinner and breakfast but there is a self catering option. At breakfast the next morning we saw the beautiful gardens and the pool and then after Louis and Nicole introduced us to a few of their farm animals. I will definitely be bringing my step daughter back to stay."

    Gina Kuhlmann
  • "Great Location"

    02 March 2017

    "The setting is stunning, hospitality and meals were great but I do think the rooms could do with some updating."

    Rose
  • "Warm, homely welcome"

    19 January 2017

    "Our overnight stop at Rondefontein was a lovely experience. The children loved the farm set up and visiting the lambs. Louis and Nicole were very welcoming and accommodating."

    Marinda Vivier, South Africa
  • "Excellent value for money."

    15 January 2017

    "We stayed at Rondfontein on a return trip from the Cape. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds and pillows and good quality linen. Tea & coffee making facilities are provided and there is a bar fridge in the room. We also booked for the evening meal and breakfast the next morning<br/> The food was delicious, well cooked and of generous portions. Our one night stay for two couples represented excellent value for money. Nicole and Louis go out of their way to welcome you and take care of your needs whilst there. We will definitely stay there again when travelling to and from the Cape. We would recommend a stay at Rondfontein to both South African and overseas visitors. To Nicole and Louis we wish you every success and look forward to seeing you again in the future."

    lindi Williams, South Africa
  • "whar a pleasant experience"

    25 December 2016

    "We found the units to be very clean, the linen fresh and the placing of a microwave and fridge in the units loveky. The hosrs made us feel very welcome. It was a peaceful haven"

    Vanessa Wolstenholme, South Africa
  • "Great night stop"

    19 December 2016

    "We stopped at Rondefontein after a 8 hour drive. The young team were friendly and prffessional. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Gardens green and relaxing. Food was great. Just what you need to unwind after a long day an the road"

    Duncan Mutch, South Africa
  • "Fantastic service"

    17 December 2016

    "What a lovely place! Louis & Nicole really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The service and food was excellent, and the accommodation very comfortable. They even fixed up and painted a cot for our baby, which was a life saver, and they made a baby bath & high chair available for us too. We'll definitely be back."

    Tracy Lotter, South Africa
  • "Comfortable Farm Accommodation"

    08 September 2016

    "We were welcomed and made to feel at home by a lovely young couple Louis and Nicole. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very clean and comfortable."

    Irma Reitz, South Africa
  • "This is the place to stay"

    09 August 2016

    "Nicole and Louis are great hosts. Feels like home. Excellent accommodation. Dinner and Breakfast were great. They will do very well."

    John Gelling, South Africa
  • "A good stay"

    24 May 2016

    "We were very happy to find Rondfontein easily and close to the highway. We were warmly welcomed by Nicole and Louis.<div>Our accommodation was excellent- tastefully decorated and very comfortable! It was good value and had everything we needed, although the en suite room is fairly small.</div><div>Although available, we chose not to have any meals. We shall return in the future.</div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div>"

    Jill Champion, South Africa
  • "Comfortable Free State Stay"

    12 January 2016

    "Comfortable room, welcoming hosts and tasty food. Unfortunately we could not stay for breakfast."

    John Blaine, South Africa
  • "Great accomodation"

    06 January 2016

    "Very pleasant and warm welcome on arrival. The rooms provided were neat and clean with a homely feel. Will definitely stay there again."

    Arshad Mather, South Africa
  • "Friendly and comfortable"

    15 March 2015

    "Springfontein is an ideal place to stop between Johannesburg and Cape Town and Rondefontein an ideal resting place. Nico and Gerda provide comfortable accommodation set in lovely garden. The room is more than adequate. What is important when you are of a certain age, the bathroom is excellent. There is a well-stocked bar. Our dinner started with crispy samoosas followed by bobotie, lamb chop and vegetables. A good homely meal - there was nothing wrong with the breakfast either. It was simple, comfortable and happy experience."

    Alan Maker, South Africa
  • "Ovenight stay"

    06 January 2015

    "We received a warm welcome from our host, Nico, and were accommodated in a comfortable room. Dinner was well presented, tasty, South African cooking. An ideal place to stay en route to the coast."

    Jeanette McKenzie, South Africa
  • "Pleasant StopOver"

    05 January 2015

    "We enjoyed our overnight stay on the farm. Fun to watch the lamb being fed. Lovely big, clean rooms. One word of caution - book the meal, or else eat toasted sandwiches at the Engen station!"

    Trish Bekker, South Africa
  • "One night's stay"

    20 October 2014

    "Our stay here was a pleasurable experience. We were met by the owners, Nico and Gerda, and shown to our very clean and comfortable accommodation. We had a good rest. The breakfast the next morning, prepared by Gerda, was absolutely delicious. I would stay here at any time again."

    Ralf Dietrich, South Africa
  • "Welcoming stay"

    28 July 2014

    "Rondefontein caters for overnight visitors and as such only the family unit offers true self catering. The family unit is a bit basic. Our hosts offered us two double units in stead and that made a world of difference. The two doubles were both neatly furnished and well equipped (after transporting the microwave from the family unit). We had a great view of the veld towards the N1 and although we were concerned about the noise from the trucks, they really did not bother us. Well recommended as a stopover, but not much more than 1 night."

    Gert Kruger, South Africa
  • "Rondefontein"

    27 May 2014

    "Comfortable, quiet, and convenient with good food and good company."

    Derek Conroy, South Africa
  • "Our stay at Rondefontein March 2014"

    03 March 2014

    "We had a wonderful stay at Rondefontein."

    Hendrik Brummer, South Africa
  • "A tranquil oasis after a long drive"

    22 February 2014

    "On a drive from Johannesburg to the Cape, we spent the night at Rondefontein. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Nico who got us settled and we enjoyed cold beers on the lawn with him and unwound from the trip. Dinner was delicious - lamb beautifully cooked by Gerda. The rooms were well equipped, quiet and very comfortable. I would recommend this as a stopover or even a longer stay."

    Vanessa , South Africa
  • "Rondefontein Guest Farm"

    14 January 2014

    "A beautiful and peaceful place to stay. It was a one night stay over, but great value for money. We arrived late, but was welcomed very friendly and enjoyed the breakfast."

    Christa Janse van Rensburg, South Africa
  • "Brian and Linda Read"

    06 January 2014

    "Excellent value for money.Friendly, clean, neat, tidy,excellent food and service.Everything we expected and more."

    Linda Read, South Africa
  • "Comfortable"

    05 January 2014

    "Friendly, accommodating and very comfortable. A great place for a stopover. Lovely garden. Enjoyed the peace and birds."

    Graham Dudley, South Africa
  • "Perfect Stopover"

    13 December 2013

    "Ideally situated just off the N1, around the area you are looking to stop overnight, easy to find. The accommodation is very comfortable, the farm very peaceful & the hots most welcoming. Excellent dinner & breakfast. Excellent value for money!"

    Derek Weightman, South Africa
  • "Mrs C E Fuller"

    23 October 2013

    "Wonderful find, absolutely amazing B & B - good place to break your journey. Lovely clean rooms, towels and bedding, food was absolutely delicious."

    Cynthia Fuller, South Africa
  • "Lekker"

    26 April 2013

    "'n Besondere en gerieflike plek waar ons met boere gasvryheid ontvang is. Ons sal volgende keer beslis vir aandete bespreek. Ons kan die gasteplaas beslis aanbeveel."

    Hendrik Brummer, South Africa
  • "Overnight stay at Rondefontein Guest Farm"

    02 April 2013

    "We had a very pleasant stay. Next time we will leave Cape Town earlier in order to get there in time for dinner! We stayed for breakfast which was very good."

    Diane Greyling, South Africa
  • "Very nice"

    14 January 2013

    "Nice comfy room,had a good rest and excellent food,very friendly hosts"

    Fred Elsenbroek
  • "Very pleasant stay"

    06 January 2013

    "Very pleasant stay. No hesitation in recommending Rondefontein."

    Brian Hovelmeier, South Africa
  • "The best"

    30 December 2012

    "Thanks Nico and Gerda, what an experience. We enjoyed the stay and your hospitality. Marius and friends."

    Marius van der Ryst, South Africa
  • "Excellent experience"

    27 December 2012

    "Ek en my vrou het ons verblyf oppad Kaap toe ongelooflike baie geniet. Die eienaars is vriendelik, gasvry en jy kan sommer lekker ontspan na n lang tyd op die pad. Ons sal verseker weer hiervan gebruik maak!"

    Coenrad de Jongh, South Africa
  • "Verblyf"

    10 December 2012

    "Baie lekker gebly, kamer en badkamer gerieflik. Tuine baie mooi met al die oudhede. Al wat kort is 'n TV of Radio in die kamer."

    Johan Hattingh, South Africa
  • "Good value"

    16 January 2012

    "The guest farm has friendly staff. It is clean, well serviced and good value. You travel a very short dirt road to reach the accommodation."

    Mari Nel, South Africa
  • "Nice"

    02 January 2012

    "Very friendly hosts, good location. A bit old fashioned, but clean."

    Marilise Van Biljon, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!