Buffelshoek Farm Cottage

The Buffelshoek Farm Cottage is a lovely self-catering, pet-friendly cottage situated on a working certified organic olive and chilli farm close to the cute, rustic village of Van Wyksdorp. The cottage is only an hour and twenty minutes drive from Oudtshoorn and an hour and a half from Mossel Bay, making it an ideal stopover location for those on their way to the KKK festival in Oudtshoorn or those travelling to and from the Garden Route and Southern Cape.

The cottage is fully furnished and contains two bedrooms, a kitchen, and a lounge and dining room. In addition, it has a large braai area with fabulous views over the valley and the Langeberg Mountains in the distance. There is a big, beautiful dam for swimming; however it is only full after our winter rains. The cottage is situated next to a kloof and a mountain stream, which is fabulous for walking. Mountain walks are abound and can be enjoyed for 15 minutes or for a whole day. There is also an eleven-circuit labyrinth in front of the cottage for walking and contemplation.

For nature lovers we have, to date, 75 different species of birds on the farm, as well as many other species of small to medium animals. If you are lucky, you can spot the resident black eagle pair in the kloof.

The cottage is located on a certified organic farm, the Buffelshoek Farm/Blue Sky Organics, which processes a range of organic products including olive oil, table olives, tapenade, olive jam, herb salt, assorted chilli sauces, sun-dried chillies in olive oil, and herb flavourants, dressings and salt. All of these products are available for sale.

There are six stunning mountain passes within an hours drive of the cottage, namely Rooiberg, Tradouw, Garcia, Zeweweekspoort, Outeniqua and Huisrivier. Our closest village is Van Wyksdorp, with its historic water wheel, and Die Oog which is a huge stream of water coming out of the mountains that supplies the entire village with water. The Assegaaibos Game Ranch is a twenty minute drive away and the town of Calitzdorp, just over the Rooiberg Pass, is known for its port and award winning wines.

booking enquiry no obligation!    OR    book now!

Reviews

  • "a lovely suprise"

    04 December 2018

    "Loved the complete isolation and the comfort of the cottage.And to be able to buy the various olive products."

    Barry Morris
  • "the seclusion"

    05 October 2018

    "visiting Van Wyksdorp and the friendly people."

    Paul Addington
  • "Peaceful & Relaxing"

    03 April 2018

    "Amazing small cottage (No cell service) in the heart of the Karoo. Beautiful walking trails and breathtaking views.Sunscreen, hiking shoes & citronella oil candles for an improved experience."

    Lourens Riekert
  • "Solitude"

    16 February 2018

    "Quaint cottage. Microwave would be an improvement. Provide salt and pepper and why not a bottle of your olive oil - would promote sales!"

    Brian Rens
  • "The hike into the Kloof"

    01 May 2017

    "Absolutely perfect getaway for solitude lovers! Great stay and we will certainly revisit this gem of the Klein Karoo"

    Mark Fletcher
  • "Nice view"

    06 January 2017

    "We stayed in the cottage for one night. Everything required to have a lovely stay was available in the cottage. The sun set was spectacular."

    Emile Collins, South Africa
  • "Fantastic Place to Stay"

    04 June 2016

    "<p>We'd never heard of VanWyksdorp prior to this visit but what a lovely place to visit. If you are looking for a quite retreat but with interestingnearbyplaces to visit, then you will not go wrong with a stay at Buffelshoek where Liz will make you feel very at home.</p><p>The accommodation is delightfully rustic but equipped with all you will need and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and as one so often says in comments such as these, we certainly hope one day to return for an even longer stay. </p>"

    Dave Muller, South Africa
  • "Buffelshoek Farm Cottage"

    10 November 2015

    "A gem in the mountains in the karoo. The view,the sunsets and the stars are stunning. We will return.<div><br /></div><div>Alison,Knysna, South Africa</div>"

    Alison Utting, South Africa
  • "Tranquil breakaway"

    27 September 2015

    "A wonderful place to escape the hustle and bustle. Lovely walks around the farm, great birdlife, cottage is comfortable with everything you need. Wish we could have stayed longer! <br />"

    Dawn Berry, South Africa
  • "Peace and quite"

    09 September 2015

    "In the mountains with fresh air, cool clear water and the stillness of the surroundings. An enjoyable stay."

    Dirk Staal, South Africa
  • "Bohemian escape"

    06 September 2015

    "If you are looking for a peaceful, very private bohemian escape, this place is for you! It is not up to the standard of similar listings of the same price. The linen was tired, towels tatty and not too clean. There was no water in the bathroom hand basin and we were disappointed."

    Jane Turkstra, South Africa
  • "Our wonderful stay at Buffelshoek Farm Cottage"

    12 May 2015

    "We spent 3 days at this lovely cottage. It is on a hill overlooking a very quiet valley and is very private. The cottage is spacious with a pleasantly welcoming atmosphere. The facilities are great! There is a picturesque walk into a gorge where you can spend the whole day exploring with a picnic lunch. The night stars are amazing! Liz and her entourage of friendly dogs are wonderful hosts. They took us on a tour of her organic olive farm and Liz has many products for sale. What we particularly enjoyed was the welcome she gave our two very special dogs that love to travel with us. Thank you very much Liz. We will certainly be back!"

    Lorraine Thiel, South Africa
  • "Quiet and peaceful"

    03 January 2015

    "Beautiful Karoo koppies surround the farm and it is quiet and restful. The stoep is lovely, the mosaic shower too. Try showering with an open door. The kitchen was not quite as clean as it could have been."

    Erika Oosthuysen, South Africa
  • "Peace and quiet"

    17 December 2013

    "Fabulous location, beautiful cottage and all the wonders of nature. Well worth a visit, and we will be back, for sure."

    Dale Fox, South Africa
  • "Amazing, beautiful, tranquil!"

    25 November 2013

    "What an amazing place! We were only able to stay for one night, but will definitely be back soon to stay for longer. The cottage is beautiful and fully equipped with everything that you need! There is a beautiful walk to the river, its so quiet and peaceful and watching the stars at night is a must."

    Leanne Weber, South Africa
  • "Cosy comfort in peaceful surroundings"

    13 August 2013

    "Comfortably furnished with nice couches in the living area."

    Erina Basson, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!