Thwane Bush Camp

Nestled in the hills of the Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site, where leopard still dare to roam, you will find Thwane Bush Camp - an exclusive safari-style tented camp offering comfortable and affordable accommodation. Situated on a game farm with a large variety of game such as wildebeest, blesbok, red hartebeest, zebra and springbok makes Thwane Bush Camp the perfect malaria-free bushveld hideaway. Activities include self game drives, mountain biking and bird-watching, while the popular Meteorite Hiking Trail starts on the farm.

Thwane Bush Camp is divided into four camps. One of the camps consists of nine en-suite tents sleeping up to 45 people, with a communal lapa, barbecue facilities and a fully equipped kitchen. The other camps offer three dormitory tents sleeping up to 30 people, communal ablution facilities, lapa with barbecue area and fitted kitchen.

Full catering services can be provided for groups of 10+ people by prior arrangement. In addition, a swimming pool is available for guests' use and day trips can also be arranged.

Thwane Bush Camp also offers the exclusive Donga wedding and conference venue and Stone Chapel, all situated on the same farm, and we can also provide team-building activities for corporate groups.

booking enquiry no obligation!


  • "Peaceful Nature"

    03 May 2018

    "Our stay in Camp Nguni was really great. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the peace and quiet contributed to an amazingly relaxing time. There are many hiking trails to explore, and the view from the highest point in the Free State of the Vredefort Dome is magnificent. Ample bird life and game in the area. The communal kitchen is well equipped with large fridge and table top gas stove (no oven), but bring your own sharp knives."

    Rainer von Schlichting
  • "What a lekker place!"

    08 April 2018

    "If you're looking for a bush get away complete with bad access road and worse cell reception, Stephan and his team have the place for you.The tents are clean as are the bathrooms. The shared lapas have everything you need to make a meal and store your food. DSTV on a flat screen for the kids and the most amazing night time skies.We were booked at Thwane for eight days and my two young children weren't bored once. There are lovely hikes on the farm and loads to do in the surrounding area.Truly a special week away. Thanks to Stephan and his amazing Thwane team. We'll definitely see you again!"

    Andrew Butcher
  • "Thwane Bush Camp"

    04 April 2018

    "Absolutely loved our stay. Would love to have stayed longer.Some suggestions:A mat in the bathroom for when you climb out of the shower.A mat at the entrance to dust off feet before entering tent.Otherwise facilities are clean, comfortable and the location is awesome."

    Sue Vorster
  • "Great and terrible location at the same time"

    05 December 2017

    "The place itself is really nice, situated next to the mountains it does have the atmosphere of desolation. At the same time: it is extremely hard to get to and, honestly, I don't recommend doing it with the compact car. It could be done - as we did it - but even driving extremely carefully we had some scratches on the car that rental company won't like. It basically is about 4km of gravel road which is not that bad and then another 4km on which basically every 200m you scratch the surface with the chassis.<br/><br/>Also: they close the gate at 8 p.m., an information that we didn't find on safarinow, through which we were booking.<br/><br/>Establishment Response: <br/><br/>"Thank you for your review that you have posted. Our isolation in the heart of the Vredefort Dome is what people love and the attraction. Thank you for your kind words in this regard. To have this isolation our guests have to travel on dirt roads that are exposed to the elements and can change very rapidly - especially with rain.<br/><br/>It is because of this that our road has taken some pounding due to heavy rainfall the past week and you also arrived in a serious downpour.<br/><br/>We do apologize that you arrived at a closed gate but due to security reasons we do not post or mention these times and measures. <br/>Kind Regards<br/>Management"<br/><br/><br/>"

    Tadeusz Michrowski
  • "Lovely!!"

    26 September 2017

    "Thank you, the accommodation was beautiful!! Couldn't have chosen a better setting for my birthday. Had the loveliest stay!! Will definitely be going back!!"

    Len (Lene) van der Merwe
  • "Nature"

    07 August 2017

    "It is a very nice place the idea what they have for the guest is very good. But there must definetily and urgently check on the gas installations. We have have experience in one tent where we stay that we smell gas when my husband check on that the pipe was broken and I have a photo to proof. The manager did repair it immediately but I think is was very dangerous. In the lapa the gas stove was also leaking at the regulator or hose. They also repair it. They was there to repair but the maintenance must be better. To gas there is no change to survive when you not smell it immediately. Me and my husband<br/>experience headaches and tiredness. Otherwise the place look good. <br/><br/>Establishment Response:<br/><br/>Thank you for your review that you have posted. Fixing a serious problem such as this is of utmost importance to us and that is why we acted with speed once you have brought it under our attention. We're glad that we could move you to another unit without any problem. <br/>I would like to stress that maintenance is of the utmost importance to us and that we have already taken measures to prevent this from happening in future.<br/>Kind Regards<br/>Management"

    Roelien Labuschagne
  • "Long weekend stay - April 17"

    02 May 2017

    "We were a large group of 10 people and everyone has a fantastic experience for our 4 night stay.The staff were friendly and efficient, the facilities were great.The only concern was that the bush could be cleared a bit on the road in the 'game drive' section, for vehicles to pass without too many scratches."

    Natalie Klaassen
  • "Exclusivity"

    18 April 2017

    "It was really amazing but they didn't warn me about the hunting when I booked there, I didn't like that at all... it was so peaceful until you hear the gunshots..."

    Brittany Jacobs
  • "A peace of heaven"

    10 October 2016

    "What a jewel<br/>We enjoyed every moment of the tranquility of the bush<br/>The tents are very neat and comfortable<br/>Communial kitchen well equiped<br/>Staff excellent<br/>Will be back soon"

    desire SCAMUZZI, South Africa
  • "Lekker naweek!"

    01 March 2016

    "Ons het n baie aangename naweek gehad!<div>Ons het lekker gaan bergklim tussen die wilde diere, daarna het ons gaan afkoel in die helderblou swembad!</div><div>Ons sal beslis weer soontoe gaan.</div><div>Ewert en Susie Kleynhans. Potchefstroom.</div>"

    Susie Kleynhans, South Africa
  • "Peace and quiet"

    09 March 2015

    "<p>We were moved to the Nguni camp (without electricity), and were worried, as we didn't come prepared for that.</p><p>At the end we were happy about the move!</p><p>It was lovely to switch off from everything, and live with gas and paraffin; we saw the stars and heard the jackals cry.</p><p>We will be back - to Nguni camp.</p>"

    Johan Weideman, South Africa
  • "Amazing stay"

    21 May 2013

    "Great weekend away. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and go far beyond what we were expecting. The venue itself is well kept and you have great privacy and comfort. Will definitely be going again."

    Adam Griffiths , South Africa
  • "Thwane Bush Camp"

    11 March 2013

    "We have an awesome relaxing time with our friends in the bush. The tented camp is nice and clean and an added bonus was that each tent had its own ensuite shower facilities. At night you could see the stars and milkyway so clear. We enjoyed it and would definitely go back."

    Antoinette Coetzee, South Africa
© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!