Chetnole Cottages

Chetnole Cottages is set in the village of Wakkerstroom, surrounded by valleys offering beautiful views.

Chetnole Cottages offers guests two cottages, Claystone and Westover Cottage. Each cottage has a kitchen that is equipped for self-catering as well as a lounge area with a TV with full DStv and an open fireplace. The bedrooms are en-suite and furnished with double or twin beds.

Claystone Cottage is wheelchair friendly and also has a wheelchair friendly bathroom, for more convenience. Each cottage also has parking and an outdoor braai, so guests can enjoy the fresh air.

When staying at Chetnole Cottages, guests can enjoy the beautiful views and good birding, cycling and walking. There are a number of restaurants, pubs, shops and historical cemetery in town as well as a museum and many historical buildings to cater for the more culturally inclined.

Please note that the rates displayed are for two guests and additional guests will pay an additional R390 per person for up to four guests; hence we advise guests to request the appropriate tariffs.

Wakkerstroom offers the birder the best of South Africas grassland endemic and other grass-loving bird species. A good cross-section of water birds and a reasonable complement of forest birds are found throughout Wakkerstroom and make for some exhilarating South African bird viewing.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Heerlik stil."

    25 October 2018

    "Ons het ons twee dae baie geniet. Vriendelike eienaars en Claystone Cottage het ALLES gehad om mens lekker gerieflik te laat bly. Sal weer gaan!"

  • "WONDERFUL BEYOND WORDS"

    25 September 2018

    "Wakkerstroom is a little Hamlet, lost in time and peaceful beyond your wildest imagination. I am almost afraid to tell every one about this village in case it changes. Its a birding paradise. We employed the services of Norman a local bird guide and he was fantastic. I am not a birder and saw 76 species over the week end. I recommend Norman unreservedly especially if you are pushed for time. Rupert and Gaynor ( and their miniature ponies) were the perfect hosts and their accommodation is home from home. my only regret is that we weren't able to stay longer. There are still LOTS of restaurants and art galleries to visit. We will be back. Thank you Wakkerstroom, Rupert and Gaynor"

  • "Chetnole cottages"

    01 May 2018

    "A home away from home, all needs were met in this very welcoming establishment"

  • "What a beautiful place!!"

    04 April 2018

    "One of the best accommodation ever. Warm welcome by the owner, who was very helpful. The cottage has everything one can ask for and more. A very pleasant experience. We will be back!"

  • "discovering the gem of Wakkerstroom........"

    12 March 2018

    "Hospitable, friendly and FABULOUS.........."

  • "Fantasties"

    15 December 2017

    "Seker die heel beste selfsorgeenheid wat ons nog in die land ervaar het. Wakkerstroom en Chetnole kook!"

  • "Very pleasant stay"

    23 October 2017

    "Beautiful cottage, very well equipped"

  • "Ponies"

    01 May 2017

    "Loved everything the town/just to relax and enjoy the mountain view"

  • "Peace and tranquillity"

    15 March 2017

    "Everything needed was there. Lovely stay."

  • "Lovely!!!!"

    02 October 2016

    "What a lovely cottage!!! Very cosy and neat with everything you need and more. We especially loved the early morning coffees on our private stoep, with great views of the mountain. Thank you so much for your friendly hospitality. We will definitely see you again! :-)"

  • "Home from home stay"

    29 February 2016

    "We loved our weekend away. The cottages are tastefully done and very comfortable with every amenity , including a dishwasher. We stayed in Claystone which is wheel chair friendly and was very comfortable and easy for my elderly mother, who particularly enjoyed the open shower. We loved the veranda and spent most of our time sitting out and enjoying the view.<br />&nbsp;Rupert and Gwynn were the perfect hosts, and did everything to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We will be back.<br />"

  • "We will be back"

    30 November 2015

    "We just loved the cottage and Wakkerstroom. This is one of those reviews you don't want to write as you would like to keep a gem hidden :-)<div><br /></div><div>The cottage is perfectly located for a weekend or week of birding, walking or biking in the area. Its also very well equipped and comfortable. Electric blankets and fire for those cold evenings or lovely stoep and garden for a summers BBQ</div><div><br /></div><div>To top it all Rupert is the perfect host and made sure our visit was the best it could be. We will be back!!!</div>"

  • "Chetnole cottages"

    27 October 2015

    "We enjoyed our stay in the Claystone Cottage. Well equipped and comfortable unit in a lovely country setting overlooking Wakkerstroom. Birdlife around the cottage added to the enjoyment for us."

  • "Strauss Oct 2015"

    19 October 2015

    "Very pleasant stay. Cottages extremely well organised and equipped. Hosts so friendly, especially enjoyable for kids who were allowed to feed farm animals and search for eggs. Plumbing problem was attended to promptly and solved.<div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div>"

  • "Weekend stopover"

    07 July 2015

    "<p style="text-align: left;">We thoroughlyenjoyed our weekend stay at Chetnole cottage. Rupert made us feel very welcome on arrival &amp; the almost new cottage is in superb condition &amp; lacked for nothing.</p>"

  • "What a great place!!"

    01 June 2015

    "It's a great place with all the modern luxuries one could ask for. The views are stunning and it's very peaceful. Great value for money. Wakkerstroom is a beautiful village with friendly people.We will definitely be back."

  • "goed"

    31 January 2015

    "Ons het al by baie plekke tuisgegaan, maar Chetnole Cottages staan kop en skouers bo almal uit. Dit is skoon en voorsien in elke behoefte. Alles in die huisie getuig van baie goeie smaak en is van hoogstaande gehalte. Dit is in 'n landelike omgewing gele, maar tog binne stapafstand van die dorp. Die uitsig van die stoep is asemrowend en is die regte plek vir mense wat in die natuur wil ontlaai.<div><br /></div><div><em>We have been put to many places, but Chetnole Cottages stand head and shoulders above everybody. It's clean and provide every need. Everything in the house bear witness to good taste and is of high quality. It is in a rural setting, yet within walking distance of the town. The view from the patio is spectacular and is the right place for people who want to unload in nature.</em></div>"

  • "Great stay!"

    08 December 2014

    "Chetnol Cottages offer everything you need for a great break. All the facilities you need and much more, a beautiful view and quiet surrounding and the best hosts ever."

  • "Superb accommodation"

    29 August 2014

    "This was definitely one of the best places we have stayed in. Clean and neat with all one need for a great breakaway. Will definitely recommend this to anyone!"

  • "Cosy and perfect"

    18 June 2013

    "It was our second stay at this cottage and it was fabulous...a great log fire, toasty warm bed and everything anyone could need! The owners are warm and hospitable and we have NO hesitation in recommending it...even when the temperature was -6C."

  • "Five stars!"

    03 April 2013

    "Very comfortable, well-equipped cottage in beautiful, peaceful environment. Our family of four had a wonderful stay and would love to stay here again on our next visit to Wakkerstroom!"

  • "Lovely"

    28 January 2013

    "Lovely cottages. Highly recommended."

© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!