Breaking Waves

No marketing tricks; Just like you see it. The view and price, no match anywhere on Coastal South Africa. We are situated 30 kilometers from Gonubie, which is where the beautiful Wild Coast starts; The Wild Coast is from Gonubie to Natal. Relax while the dolphins swim past and enjoy the breathtaking views. Few places so close to the sea, with a sea view from every room. Your very own private apartment.Fully contained apartments, sleep two to four adults. Lounge, open kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Kitchen is complete with cutlery, stove, fridge, freezer, kettle, microwave TV and many more. Linen and bath towels supplied.You have you own braai/barbecue area.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "Breathtaking accommodation"

    08 December 2017

    "Excellent place to stay. From the views to the friendly welcome, I would recommend this place to anyone ."

  • "Home away from home"

    27 August 2017

    "What a warm welcoming, Glenda took such great care of us during our stay at Breaking Waves, breathtaking view from the lounge and bedrooms. Will definitely stay there again."

  • "Fabulous"

    26 June 2017

    "As usual the holiday was wonderful with the best views on the wild coast."

  • "value for money"

    18 April 2017

    "Lounge can be updated. Enjoyed the view"

  • "The sea"

    16 April 2017

    "Being right on the sea was wonderful. Esoecially for people living inland. The beach was awesome."

  • "Dolphins swimming past while we were sitting on the grass."

    02 March 2017

    "Its a nice quite little place with not to many people on the beach.Ideal for a break away.The rooms are nice and tidy owners are very friendly.Overall Breaking Waves is ideal for couples and family's ."

  • "You get what you book! Amazing"

    10 July 2016

    "the stay was very great. The view was amazing. We saw dolphins and the beach around the corner has Bahamas style. Crystal clear blue ocean.<div><br /></div><div>The only things that were missing was dstv wit the m net channels and a maid that would clean up the apartment at least once a week. But other then that it was very good and defiantly would go back there</div>"

  • "Straightforward and Relaxing"

    22 June 2016

    "Our stay at Breaking Waves was exactly as promised, we couldn't have been closer to the sea with beautiful views and beaches surrounding us. The kitchen had everything that was needed and the beds were comfortable! We throughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back!"

  • "Eccellent view bad maintenace"

    19 June 2016

    "Exceptional view<div>Maintenance need some work</div><div>Overall not too bad.</div>"

  • "Dolphins by the dozen!"

    29 March 2016

    "<div>Thank you Glenda for an unforgettable stay. We enjoyed it so much! Saw dolphins from our porch every day. Would love to visit again soon.</div><div>Regards,</div><div>Antoinette</div>"

  • "Lovely Weekend away"

    07 December 2015

    "We had an enjoyable stay at breaking waves. The view was breath taking and waking up to the sound of the ocean was truly relaxing. We will definitely return again.<div><br /></div>"

  • "Amazing stay and views"

    05 November 2015

    "Amazing amazing amazing , friendly welcome , great views and great morning walk - accommodation neat and tidy - definitely will be back&nbsp; <br />"

  • "Breaking Waves accommodation"

    02 November 2015

    "Awesome view on the edge of the sea! This place is value for money! I would definitely return for a longer stay! The unit was very clean and the hostess made us feel at home away from home!! I would highly recommend any person to go and enjoy this peace of heaven on earth!"

  • "Will return again"

    27 October 2015

    "<p>This is a little piece of heaven on earth. The view is amazing and the accommodation is comfortable and very affordable. </p><p>Will return each year for a recharge and rest. </p><p>Thank you Glenda..... <br></br></p><p ></br></p>"

  • "Glengariff stay"

    24 August 2015

    "We were accommodated in a well-equipped flat with a magnificent view of the sea and coast from both the living room and the bedroom. We had a most enjoyable stay and our hosts were very friendly and obliging."

  • "What a view!"

    08 July 2015

    "Lovely accomodation with and amazing view!<br />"

  • "Amazing stay at Breaking Waves!"

    23 March 2015

    "We had the pleasure of staying at Breaking Waves in March 2015, and couldn't be happier. The hosts are friendly and helpful, and stayed up quite late waiting for us on our arrival night with a flask of hot coffee. The accommodation is neat and has everything you need, whilst the sea is almost on your doorstep. This is not the first time we have stayed at Breaking Waves and will surely not be the last.<br />"

  • "great view! amazing stay!"

    03 March 2015

    "It was the most amazing view ever!very nice place,private.Here you can really rest!it is just far enough away from the city.We will stay there again when we go that side of SA!<div>Thank you for a great week!</div><div><br /></div>"

  • "Impression of Breaking Waves"

    29 September 2014

    "Ons gaan baie beslis weer daar bly. Ongelooflike mooi seeuitsig en netjiese gemaklike verblyf. Dankie Glenda vir al jou moeite ons waardeer dit.Elsa en Jan Herbst"

  • "Beautiful as always"

    25 September 2014

    "Thank you Glenda for hosting us. We had a wonderful time and the view remains breathtaking. Waking up to dolphins playing in the waves and going to sleep with the breaking waves on the rocks is priceless."

  • "Great escape"

    13 July 2014

    "Lovely time away. All the necessaries, stunning view, friendly hosts, clean and comfortable!"

  • "What a great place!"

    07 July 2014

    "Thank you for a wonderful stay. The best views and friendly people. I will make sure to book another holiday there! Thank you so much for a special holiday!"

  • "Breaking Waves"

    01 July 2014

    "Absolutely stunning. We enjoyed it so much."

  • "Breaking Waves"

    26 June 2014

    "Lovely view. Had a pleasant stay. Very basic but good value for money."

  • "Accommodation at Breaking Waves"

    20 March 2014

    "We were lucky because the wind died down resulting in a fantastic stay at Breaking Waves, an extremely pleasant position on the coast and very clean comfortable accommodation, with very pleasant hosts - we will in future call again."

  • "Cobus Nortier. Port Elizabeth."

    25 February 2014

    "If you read all the reviews, what more can I say, just stunning. Will definitely be back."

  • "Once again excellent"

    19 February 2014

    "Thank you very much Glenda for another excellent stay at Breaking Waves making this holiday special and amazing again will once again highly recommend a holiday at Breaking Waves! Thank you also for the bottle of champagne on my birthday.Just a small comment to maybe put a notice in the units advising to be considerate to other guests not to have the TV on loud till late at night."

  • "Great place"

    23 September 2013

    "What a great place. Very quiet small town, brilliant view and ocean right outside the door. We should keep this place a secret."

  • "Wonderful"

    17 September 2013

    "Wonderful owners, clean but simple, stunning location so close to the rocks!"

  • "Relaxing holiday"

    02 September 2013

    "Breaking waves is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday where you go to sleep and wake up with the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks and look at the splendour of the schools of dolphins and whales as you drink your morning coffee. The view is spectacular and the hosts are friendly."

  • "Our stay during May 2013"

    25 May 2013

    "We enjoyed our stay very much, we actually added another day to our stay. Thanks Glenda and Calvon. A million thanks to Calvon, who came to fetch us at the Gonubie filling station. Our copy of the google map from the internet did not show all the correct turn-offs to Breaking Waves. So Calvon escorted us to their place. Beautiful view from all the windows, the braai area was superb. Great value for money. We will visit you again."

  • "Wren Family"

    13 May 2013

    "Awesome views of the sea. The Rooms are more that adequate for our family of 4. Reasonably pricing suited our pockets, we will definitely rebook."

  • "Very nice"

    06 May 2013

    "We loved Breaking Waves. The view is breathtaking and the place is beautiful. Glenda were extremely helpful and accommodating in many areas. The accommodation is basic, equipped with all the necessaties and the beds are comfortable. Thank you."

  • "Good"

    24 January 2013

    "Excellent accomodation. Will recommend to anybody. So close to the beach."

  • "View of the ocean"

    10 December 2012

    "When you look for holliday accomodation you normally compare your stay in terms of value for money. The more you pay the more you expect in comparison in the market available. The place was clean, it catered for all our basic needs and in terms of price, ocean view and stay it was value for money. Best of all the landlord is honest. On arrival I got a cash voucher receipt for payment received indicating that they declare their taxes. This impressed me greatly. Glenda and Calvon the owners lived on top, and provided dry towels when nessasary. The Holiday flat on the groundfloor allowed us complete privacy. When the weather allowed it, we had our supper on the sleeper bench table on the porch with the sliding door of the sitting/tv room at our left side as we viewed the see."

  • "Lovely"

    08 July 2012

    "We had a lovely relaxing stay. Wonderful to be absolutely on the waves."

  • "Nice"

    18 February 2012

    "Friendly, private, very clean with spectacular views. We were made to feel very welcome, and will most certainly visit again."

  • "Great stay!"

    29 January 2012

    "Comfortable, spacious, clean with the sea on the front porch! We enjoyed staying at Breaking Waves immensely! Thanks a lot Glenda."

  • "Amazing"

    15 November 2011

    "We had the best holiday ever, such stunning views and great hosts. The perfect place to rest mind, body and soul. We will definitely visit again."

  • "Excellent accommodation"

    01 November 2011

    "Had a wonderful stay at Breaking Waves. Clean and tidy with very friendly hosts."

  • "Well done"

    19 September 2011

    "Thank you for the best place on the Wild Coast. The people in the area and the owners; you are all stars. The unit is clean, safe and well equipped. Thank you. Well done."

  • "Perfect"

    28 February 2011

    "Beautiful, unspoilt and peaceful. The perfect getaway!"

  • "Wonderful"

    15 February 2011

    "Absolutely wonderful place to stay, really accomodating. Views and surroundings spectacular, will definitely visit again."

  • "Absolutely beautiful"

    06 September 2010

    "The location is superb and the views absolutely beautiful. We had a self-catering flat with the owner staying above us. The parking was not very secure, as the car was parked in the driveway. The down side was that although it was self-catering, we would have appreciated a maid emptying our kitchen dustbin and supplying bin liners for the garbage bin. The TV remote did not work and there was no MNET or any other channels apart from SABC 1 2 3 and ETv."

  • "Spectacular view."

    21 June 2010

    "My second holiday at Breaking Waves was wonderful.The view is breathtaking and you can really kick back and relax.The dolphins playing in the waves every morning was the highlight of the holiday.I can really recommend Breaking Waves to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday with spectacular views.Thank you Glenda .... I will return "

  • "Amazing"

    11 May 2010

    "Breaking Waves was just what the doctor ordered for us. Its quiet peace and desperately needed isolation from the hustle and bustle of everyday madness.With a view of the ocean from every window in the flat, we could not believe our luck when first coming upon its mind blowing beauty. The beaches at Glengariff are beautiful, with walks that go on for miles.The flat was clean, quaint with everything we needed to be comfortable and enjoy our stay. A home away from home.Thank you to Glenda and Kelvin for allowing us to experience your little piece of heaven."

  • "Beautiful place"

    04 May 2010

    "The pictures do reflect the view, which is beautiful, however, the interiors are rather tired. "

  • " As beautiful as the pictures!!"

    21 April 2010

    "Great stay, thanx a million Glenda. We will be back."

  • "Breaking waves"

    15 March 2010

    "Our stay was wonderful! Very quiet and calm. It was great hearing the waves in the evening and we saw the dolphins!!!"

  • "Fantastic"

    22 February 2010

    "Definitely recommended, will not hesitate to go back, what you see on the web is real. Helene"

  • "Superb views"

    03 February 2010

    "A wonderful venue with great accommodation and superb views."

  • "This is a real treasure! "

    20 October 2009

    "We enjoyed our stay immensely! Thanks so much Glenda for making this our home for a few days. Be sure to see us soon!Ans PS - The pictures is telling the truth!"

  • "Breaking Waves"

    13 October 2009

    "The stay was very pleasant and the owners were very accommodating and helpful.Will definitely stay there again."

  • "Breaking waves - amazing"

    29 June 2009

    "The holiday at breaking waves was wonderful.The cottage is clean, neat and has everything you require.The views are spectacular and the sound of the waves calms the sole.Thank you to Glenda for a "lekker" stay.The whales passing by in the morning made it all the more special."

  • "PUIK"

    11 May 2009

    "Dis 'n lieflike plekkie by die see. Jy is basies op die strand. Daar is nie 'n toeloop van mense nie en baie rustig.Dis pragtig en sal ek almal aanraai om daar 'n draaitjie te gaan maak. Die woonstelle is lieflik en is met alles toegerus.Dis baie netjies en skoon.As ons die geleentheid het, sal ons definitief weer soontoe gaan."

  • "Breaking Waves - Recommended"

    08 May 2009

    "We were pleasantly surprised after too many hours in the car, would have loved to have spent a few days in this beautiful space. The flat was clean and well equipped, we were sorry to have to pack up and leave in the morning. Should we be passing through EL again will definitely book the same accommodation. Thank You!"

  • "Die uitsig is onbeskryflik mooi"

    07 April 2009

    "Dit was werklik n onvergeetlike vakansie. Die uitsig is onbeskryflik mooi en die woonstel is lieflik. Baie dankie vir jul gasvryheid, ons sal definitief gereeld n draai daar maak."

  • "Money Well Spent"

    19 March 2009

    "What a stay!!! Special thanks to Glenda for making it such a great outing! The view and the sound of the ocean while still in bed in the morning, excellent!!! This is money well spent!!!!!"

  • "Nice and relaxing"

    02 March 2009

    "We stayed at unit no.2 for a week and really enjoyed the quiet.The pictures do not do this place justice as you are literally ON the sea. A nice swimming beach is just a short walk away."

  • "What more can you ask for?"

    08 December 2008

    "Friendly people, Stunning weather and an idealic venue! What more can you ask for?"

  • "Wow"

    03 December 2008

    "Glenda and her husband were so friendly to fetch us from the highway as we got lost. Clean and beautiful flat with a spectacular sea view and ideal for the fishermen. Thanks for a wonderful stay! We will us again"

  • "Best stay"

    09 October 2008

    "Good views, Good value for money. "

  • "Very good"

    06 October 2008

    "Alles was baie goed, was net teleurgesteld aangesien ek spesifiek navrae gedoen het hoe ver die strand is, daar is baie rotse en die naaste strand waar my 3 jarige kon op speel was baie verder as wat gemeld is, dit was te ver om met hom te loop strand toe en moes ons noodgedwonge ry tot by die strand.***Response from establishment ***The beach is 300 walking steps, obviously too far for a 3 year old, or due to the fact the path was washed away because of bad weather and high seas."

  • "Beautiful view. "

    22 September 2008

    "Lovely little flat. Tidy and clean. Dolphins really do swim past. We saw two lots of dolphins! Glenda was lovely and very helpful. I would definitely return."

  • "Recommended"

    25 August 2008

    "Perfect"

  • "Wonderful"

    13 July 2008

    "It was great, and what an experience for all.The Glenda and Calvin where wonderful and it really felt like we were at home and on leave.What wonderful people Glenda and Calvin are.The flat was beautiful, clean, tidy and we called it "HEAVEN".How wonderful it was after a tiring day and then go home with the beautiful sea not even 50 m from us."

  • "Stunning!"

    04 May 2008

    "What an awesome place to relax and forget about the chaos of city life!Very clean, very comfortable and close enough to the sea to taste the sea air.Breathtaking views and walks.Absolute peace and tranquillity!Every need was catered for and Glenda gave us all the information necessary to enjoy the pleasures that the area has to offer.We'll definitely be back soon!"

  • "Relaxing and private"

    14 April 2008

    "Very relaxing and totally private.All our needs were met."

  • "Fantastic"

    27 March 2008

    "Our stay was so good that we decided to stay an extra two days.At one stage we had load shedding and thought here we go just like being at home, however approximately 15 minutes later a generator kicked in and we had electricity.Great, could not believe that they were so organised.Will definitely be going back there.What you see on the website is exactly what you get."

  • "Excellent!"

    10 February 2008

    " The view is fantastic and our every basic need was catered for. I recommend Breaking Waves for a relaxing holiday. (I think it's especially suited for honeymooners)!"

  • "Great views."

    07 February 2008

    "Had a wonderful stay.Everything you need and great service."

  • "Dankie uit Bloemfontein."

    02 May 2007

    "Dit was heerlik - kan nie nader aan die see nie.Die uitsig is ongelooflik.Alles was perfek.Dankie Calvin & Glenda.Jurgens & Carin Senekal"

  • "What a treat"

    19 March 2007

    "It is really a treat to stay at Breaking waves.The apartment large and comfortable, the views breathtaking, everything one needs for an enjoyable stay.The owners extremely helpful and gave us a lot of information on how to make the most of our stay which was too short, we shall return."

  • "Beautiful View"

    26 June 2006

    "Thank You, had a great time, loved the view, had great weather and Glenda was great.Will be back if possible.ThanksGianine"

  • "PLEKKIE OM TE RUS"

    19 April 2006

    "Ek het nog nooit so lekker by die see gerus nie.Die verblyf was fantasies - die see was skaars 30m vanaf jou stoep waar 'n mens elke aand kon braai.Die strande is ook nie so gepak van mense nie."

  • "Wonderful place to be"

    23 January 2006

    "We really had a lovely relaxing time while staying at Breaking Waves.Thanks for the hospitality of people that accomodate us.Kind regards, Rita&Peter Waisberg"

  • "Comments - self catering Breaking Waves"

    18 January 2006

    "Beautiful accommodation, sea facing, clean, fully contained however it has a microwave and over that does not work - need to fix. The shower does not work.There are no signs leading to Breaking Waves, the map given on the site is incorrect, so everyone will always get lost.Need to update urgently.Overall rating for accommodation - GOOD "

  • "Breaking waves"

    21 December 2005

    "Was a wonderful stay - really on the seafront and great sea view and fresh sea winds and experience. Cottage a bit small for a long stay for family of 4 but perfect for couple of 2.Suggest Glenda look at putting a tap outside somewhere for washing off feet before entering the cottage after a day on the beach. Even saw a whale for the first time and a few shoals of dolphins. Great area, quite quiet and personal. Enjoyed it tremedously and would go again.
    Op Response: Thank you for your review,we will install a tap for washing off sand from the beach. Regards, Glenda"

  • "Enjoyable stay"

    29 August 2005

    "The stay at Breaking Waves was most enjoyable.Everything was in place and nothing lacked.Owners also very friendly and helpful.I will definately visit again as the area is beautiful and unspoilt."

  • "Neat"

    15 August 2005

    "It was neat, clean and well positioned."

© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!