Ocean Gorge Seafront Getaways

Ocean Gorge Seafront Getaways is situated adjacent to a gorge where fresh water meets the ocean. We offer 2 star self-contained self-catering chalets with panoramic views of the ocean. Experience the kwaZulu-Natal fever listening to the sound of the ocean and watching the dolphins and whales that seasonally grace our waters.

All our self-catering and self-contained units have private patios and spectacular sea views. A coastal path at own risk from our tranquil indigenous gardens that boast quaint braai/lapa areas will lead you to unspoilt beaches, tidal pool, and a defunct historical coal reef, Morewood Cove.

The whole family will enjoy dining at one of the several restaurants within close proximity. Fishing, snorkeling and beach hiking are just some of the activities that can be enjoyed during your stay with us.

We are conveniently situated just 3 km from major supermarkets and shopping centres, 20 minutes from the King Shaka International Airport, half hour from Durban and approximately 2 hours from the Umfolozi Game Reserve.

A maximum of two small dogs allowed is allowed at the Granny Chalet, Honeymoon Suite, Garden Cottage and Captain's Cabin. No pets allowed at the Pebble Beach Flat and dogs to be kept on leashes at all times when in communal areas.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "The view"

    03 September 2018

    "Would have liked the unit to be serviced. <br/><br/>Establishment Response:<br/><br/>Dear Gary<br/> <br/>Thank you for the thumbs up. Unfortunately, the maid could not get into your flat to service the unit on Saturday, as your pet was left in the flat. It was a pleasure having you at Ocean Gorge and we look forward to welcoming you soon.<br/>"

  • "Beautiful Place with bare facilities"

    02 October 2017

    "The ocean views are fantastic. the rooms are big but not designed for comfort. The rooms are bare, the bedding linen is ordinary and cheap. For the amount charged one would expect at least a room designed for holiday comfort and not Spartan living. The owner is crude and uncivilized to his staff (one lead worker) in front of guests. It is a bit overhanded to dress down a worker in front of guests. <br/><br/>Establishment Response:<br/><br/> <br/>Originally Amos booked five rooms for his family from Zimbabwe. Upon arrival he only wanted 4 rooms as the family wanted to be closer together. He was refunded the money for the unit and they all squeezed into 4 flats. Sheets supplied are all 100 per cent percale/cotton and I admit cheap if you compare it against American/Canadian Dollar that he earns in Canada. We are a two star establishment. Two sons broke two outdoor plastic chairs which they replaced before departure. The boys also requested alcohol from my trainee employee in my absence. My employee also accompanied Amos to Estate agent to go view houses for sale. That is not part of her work rules and I did mention that to her before she accompanied them during working hours in front of him. However the whole family appeared very happy during their stay and was very friendly. Just want to thank them for the lovely ratings thumbs up in most categories."

  • "The area"

    23 July 2017

    "The flat was miserable.No towels provided.At 8 at night the mixer or tap in the kitchen was leaking.We. asked for assistance a temporary repair was done.Thereafter i repaired the mixer.No key in the bathroom.No mats.It seems as if the place is not maintained.Miserable holiday.A total waste of absolutely good money.Please people dont waste your time going there.<br/><br/>Establishment's response:<br/><br/>Dear Shiraz<br/>Thank you for all thumbs up! You have a lovely polite and friendly, wife and children. The tiny leak on the zinc mixer was fixed immediately at 8pm Saturday evening. Your teenage daughter and son brought it to my attention about the tiny leak and no key for bathroom! <br/>Your teenage daughter appeared very concerned that there were no key for the bathroom door by which I was a bit astounded. Want to make you aware that the flat was serviced the morning you and your wife went to work whereby your wife asked my staff to please just keep an eye on your kids while the two of you went to work at 8am on Saturday morning! My staff did not mind obliging your wifes request to keep an eye on your children even though my lady had the morning off as well. Your kids seem to enjoy themselves playing swing ball and the outdoor open space with the ocean views and dolphins playing, in your absence, On your return your Unit door was closed for the rest of the day again. Your bathroom matts were wet and folded up next to the toilet in your bathroom.. all wet. Why give us a thumbs up after you are saying/ claiming total waste of money. Please remind me not to allow you back because holiday establishments can do without a bad mouthing person like you.<br/><br/>"

  • "Ocean Gorge"

    03 June 2017

    "Quiet, peacefull, beautiful place."

  • "view"

    12 May 2017

    "Photo on the ad- benches - are for private use of the owner. So why so that if not for use of patrons? Receptionist was a bit in your face and much at times - not enough privacy, though she was very friendly."

  • "The amazing view and sitting in the tv area listening to the waves crashing."

    09 May 2017

    "Had a wonderfull stay...granny chalet was a little smaller then we thought but the view made up for it."

  • "The views and the friendliness of management"

    14 March 2017

    "I only would have preferred a proper lounge."

  • "Pleasant long weekend"

    08 November 2016

    "Warm welcome on arrival. Unit was clean & meet. They were accommodating and helpful. On the whole a very pleasant experience. We will use them in the future again.<br/><br/>Establishment Response:<br/><br/>Good day Eric<br/>Thank you for the lovely review. Sorry about the utensils. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Ocean Gorge and look forward to welcoming you soon.<br/>Kind Regards<br/>Revonia Govender<br/><br/><br/>"

  • "Great stay"

    24 September 2016

    "Had a really great time . The location is beautiful . Views to die for . We stayed in a very basic cottage but it has everything you need . They are very accommodating. Had a great time"

  • "Perfect place !!!"

    09 August 2016

    "Nice place and good apartments...<br/>"

  • "not happy at all."

    06 June 2016

    "they said there would be wifi there wasn't.<div>they don't show you anything at the apartment. not very friendly at all. won't go there ever again. won't advise anyone to go there.</div><div><br /></div><div>Establishments Response:</div><div><br /></div><div><div style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; outline: 0px; font-size: 13px; vertical-align: baseline; border: 0px; line-height: 1.3; word-break: normal; word-wrap: break-word; color: #333333; background-color: #fefef0;">Hi Vanessa</div><div style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; outline: 0px; font-size: 13px; vertical-align: baseline; border: 0px; line-height: 1.3; word-break: normal; word-wrap: break-word; color: #333333; background-color: #fefef0;">Thank you for the constructive criticism. We do apologize for the wi-fi not working , it was a Telkom fault and it has been resolved. We did offer you guys to come and use the wi-fi at our office but you guys said no its fine. We did come and speak to you and your husband about the leaking hot water tap in the bathroom which was not closing properly , that has been sorted out during your stay. Unfortunately we could not get a hold of you as your phone was switched off the entire stay. You did ask if we can change your unit , unfortunately we were fully booked and some of the guests did extend their stay. When we spoke to you and your husband everything seemed to be fine. We are just abit disturbed about the untruth about not showing you to the unit as we did point the unit out to you from Ocean Gorge (main premises) as the Pebble beach flat is in the complex next door to us.</div></div>"

  • "Lightning Visit"

    24 May 2016

    "We had a great time at this holiday home.&nbsp; Unfortunately we only had planned two days and wished we had more time to spend.<br /><br />Plus points:<br />- Good view of the Sea (Especially from Captains cabin)<br />- Near to the beach<br />- Good hospitality<br />- Great braai areas<br />"

  • "A reasonable, cheap get away"

    17 May 2016

    "<p>The cottage was clean and tidy, the kitchen wasn't very useful for a long stay but good enough for a weekend stay.</p><p>We had to ask for towels - I'm not sure if this wasan oversight or whether they don'tnormally provide them.</p><p>Access to the beach is limited - there's a path down but it could be difficult for those not so agile.</p><p>We enjoyed the stay, the owners were very accommodating and helpful.</p><p></p><p><em>Establishment Response:</em></p><p><em>Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Gorge. The path way down to the beach is an informal hiking trail, there is safe access to the beach along the road side. Bath towels are available on request to travelers only. It was great having you at Ocean Gorge and we look forward to seeing you soon.</em></p>"

  • "Proudly South African family, Mzalisi family"

    02 November 2015

    "<p>Thumb's up: The apartment has exquisite sea view. Excellent place if you want peace of mind, just listening to the sound of waves. We enjoyed our stay and the owners were very kind.</p><p>For improvements: Change the toilet seat, it has permanent stains and improve of on cleaning, especial the bathroom.<br></br><br></br></p>"

  • "Enjoyable stay 3 km from Ballito at the Sea"

    25 September 2015

    "<div>strong points: great sea view, comfortable balcony, spacious honeymoon flat in the first floor, spacious bathroom, well equipped kitchen, close to Ballito</div><div>weak point: no bath/shower curtain, no curtain at the glass between bathroom and bedsitter, too few hangers in bath.</div><div>Alltogether: well priced, value for money</div><div>I would stay there again.</div>"

  • "Beautiful noise"

    10 May 2015

    "Loved falling asleep with the sounds of waves crashing right next to the window. We stayed at pebble beach. The unit was private, but I felt that it lacked that personal touch. Firstly, we stayed for a week and there was only one toilet roll, luckily we realized it quickly and went out to buy some, this is the first time I have ever stayed somewhere, where I had to buy my own toilet paper, I feel it should be included in the price. Secondly, the apartment smelled, which was of putting! Other than that we had a great time but unfortunately won't be going back to ocean gorge.<div><br /></div><div><strong><em>Establishment Response:</em></strong></div><div><strong><em><br /></em></strong></div><div><span style="font-family: 'times new roman', serif; color: #000000;"><em><span style="font-size: 12pt;">Thank you for theconstructive criticism. It is clearly stated that Ocean Gorge Seafront Getawaysis a Self-Catering accommodation. We do provide a roll of toilet paper forguests that have just arrived. It is their duty thereafter to purchasetoiletries etc. It is a pity that the guests have not come and spoken to usabout these matters. The smell that the guest is talking about is a musty smellhere on the Dolphin Coast. It is important that the guests air the apartment.Humidity and close</span><span style="font-size: 16px; line-height: 26.6666679382324px;">proximity</span><span style="font-size: 12pt;">to the ocean creates a different smell to inland.As a 2 Star rating we only provide essentials to the accommodation.</span></em></span></div><div><strong><em><br /></em></strong></div><div><br /></div><div><br /></div>"

  • "a little piece of paradise"

    11 April 2015

    "We were pleasantly surprised to stay in number 2 with a spectacular view from the balcony.<br />We enjoyed exploring the untouched rock pools and private beach on the low tide. The staff were very friendly and our unit was clean and cosy. Thank you, Leon for your kind hospitality. <br />"

  • "Unhappy"

    24 November 2014

    "The apartment has an amazing sea-view, but was not clean."

  • "Great views"

    12 February 2014

    "Great views"

  • "Great place"

    03 September 2012

    "We have really enjoyed our stay at Ocean Gorge. Stunning view, beautiful garden, close to beach and tidal pools."

  • "Thank you"

    31 January 2012

    "Thank you, Leon and Rebecca, for your hospitality. Minutes after arrival our overeager daughter had a nasty fall on wet steps that lead to the tidal pool and needed some stitches. Leon immediately got in his car and lead us to the nearest doctor! Thank you again. We enjoyed our stay very much!"

  • "The Captains Cabin"

    15 December 2011

    "The young people had a simply wonderful time at the Captains Cabin from 1st to 10th December and wish to thank Leon and team and the people at Safari.com for making a matric-vacation dream come true! Best wishes for a merry Christmas and a happy and prosperous 2012."

  • "Lovely room, amazing views"

    13 August 2011

    "The room we had was the granny flat with fantastic views of the ocean and it was a lovely size room for the four of us. We were made to feel at home straight away. We had a lovely stay at the accommodation and it is about 5 minutes in the car to Ballito shops and seafront."

  • "Stunning sea views"

    26 July 2010

    "The owners were very kind to wait for us as we arrived after their closing time. The venue was very comfortable with stunning sea views."

© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!