WagonDrift Lodge

Like the many ox wagons that traversed this area in search of a piece of heaven, we found ours and settled into our lovely bushveld setting.

Our lodge is hidden away in a lush clearing amongst dense bush and comprises a central facility with seven separate thatched accommodation units in close proximity to the lodge on the west side.

Each accommodation unit has its own bathroom, catering facilities and private deck.

Located in and around the central lodge building is the lounge with fire place, a bar, library, large deck, jungle gym for kids, a beautiful swimming pool, and a game viewing hide overlooking a waterhole.

Guests are encouraged to explore the bush on foot, along our clearly marked game roads and trails. Guests who would prefer to participate in a game drive of around 2 hours, can make arrangements at Reception.

Our bird life is prolific, with over 200 different types of birds having been spotted in the vicinity. These include barn and pearl spotted owls, secretary birds, hamerkop, hoepoe, red crested korhaan, woodland king fisher, yellow billed and grey hornbills, guinea fowl and varieties of Frankolin to name a few.

Examples of wild life that call WagonDrift their home are Blesbuck, Bush babies, Caracal, Civets, Duiker, Fish (Carp and Tilapia), Genets, Hares, Honey badgers, Impala, Jackal, Kudu, Leopard tortoises, Mongooses, Porcupines, Red hartebeest, Scorpions, Snakes (including, Boomslang, Cobras, File snakes, Puff adders, Pythons), Spiders (variety depending on seasons), Steenbuck, Terrapin, Warthogs, Waterbuck, Wildebeest, Wild boar, and Zebra.

booking enquiry no obligation!

Reviews

  • "The quality of the tented campsite as well as the friendliness :-)"

    25 September 2018

    "We could just enjoy being in the bush but still in a luxury tented campsite with everything we needed without the hassle of having to set up and at a very affordable rate. Beautiful and well maintained bush veld and romantic time away for me and my hubby. Thank you :-)"

  • "Breathtaking tented camp experience!"

    06 August 2018

    "Loved Vlakvark - awesome hospitality, so well equipped, immaculate, freedom, peace and quiet, lovely outside shower, fire under bushveld stars!! A verrrrry tame ostrich shared the campsite with us, she helped herself to our meat on the braai, very helpful in the kitchen and almost got away with my phone, tekkies and braaitang... not to mention the chase around the bush.. al in good spirit!! We had such a good laugh! Thank you Muriel!"

  • "The peacefulness and gorgeousness of our rooms"

    05 July 2018

    "I loved every minute of our stay. The friendly staff, the neat and beautiful rooms we had. The environment is so relaxing, our beds and dishes were made for us so we can have more time to do all other things. It is such a safe environment, we didn't even realize our camera was missing when we heard a knock and they had brought it back for us that was the WOW moment."

  • "Absolutely wonderful!!"

    03 May 2018

    "The lodge has everything: comfort, luxury, game drives, quiet, friendly staff, even tame animals who visit the chalets. Daily cleaning and changing of towels was a bonus. Thank you to the wonderful staff for all their attention to detail."

  • "Peace and Quiet"

    18 September 2017

    "Accommodation was superb.Pool area very small. No place to lie around the pool."

  • "GEOFF'S 70TH BIRTHDAY REVIEW"

    09 May 2017

    "We loved every minute of our weekend at this wonderful Lodge. From the beautiful chalets, to the well equipped Lodge facilities, to the friendliness of all the staff members and even a gift for the birthday boy! It was just the perfect venue to celebrate a milestone birthday! Thank you to each and everyone at WagonDrift Lodge."

  • "Splendid weekend"

    03 January 2017

    "Our stay at wagon drift was totally awesome. The place is clean, with the most friendliest owners. Will definately recommend the place to anyone. Thank you Muriel and Dennis for everything."

  • "Great place to be at Wagon drift lodge"

    30 November 2016

    "I had a great time at wagon drift I wouldn't mind going back or recommend the place to any person, thank you so much for your hospitality."

  • "Recommended breakaway"

    06 September 2016

    "Thank you to all, was really an amazing stay, unit was so clean and gorgeous. We saw 5 different species of buck. Very serene and quiet, just what we needed."

  • "Enjoyed the visit"

    23 August 2016

    "Thank you for a lovely visit. The apartment is nicely furnished and enough of everything. a DSTV connected TV might be a nice add on, especially for international rugby! There were no rush to leave which made our stay even better.<br/>"

  • "A gem in the country"

    10 August 2016

    "What a delightful long weekend we had at Wagondrift lodge. The cottage simply but tastefully decorated. Everything was there for our needs and comfort. It was the perfect weekend from the original booking which was responded to by Clive with his very informative email of what to expect and excellent directions, to the welcome and later goodbye from Muriel who was at pains to make sure that we had all we needed during our stay. The bush with its aloes blooming was stunningly beautiful and we had pleasant walks in the reserve coming across several species of buck on our way. The peace and tranquility really suited us and we would highly recommend Wagondrift lodge to anyone who loves the bush and nature."

  • "29 April 2016"

    04 May 2016

    "<p>The place is very neat, updated equipment, and the staffof great service. The rooms very modern and welcoming. we have enjoyed our stay at the Lodge and will come back again.</p>"

  • "Fantastic Getaway"

    01 March 2016

    "Wagon Drift Lodge..... what can I say, your website does you no Justice. The accommodation is absolutely gorgeous, the grounds, swimming pool and Main lodge are well kept and you absolutely deserve your 4 stars!! Muriel, Des and Tyler, thank you so much for makingour weekend getaway something to be remembered. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the walk and game drive.We will definitely be back!!!"

  • "Fantastic"

    14 September 2015

    "We stayed for one night and wished it was 2. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable. Thank you Clive and Muriel for a lovely stay."

  • "Accommodation 26 June 2015 - 28 June 2015"

    30 June 2015

    "<div><br /></div>Reception excellent.<div>We requested to be accommodated from 10:00 on our day of arrival, which was done with no fuss at all.</div><div><br /></div><div>Accommodation in Unit 12 was excellent.</div><div>Our stay was very pleasant and we shall hopefully, in the near future, be able to do so again. Recommendation: <strong>***** At least 5 STARS !!!!!</strong></div>"

© Copyright Travelwick 2011
another project by Weblance incl. garlick inc!